We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and restful B & B”
Review of Porth-y-Berllan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porth-y-Berllan
Ranked #5 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B & B one Sunday night recently at short notice as we hadnt booked anywhere in advance of our visit. We couldnt believe our luck! Jean offered us a choice of two rooms, both of which were lovely but we opted for the larger of the two. The views were amazing and the house was beautiful. Jean made us feel very welcome from the second we arrived. The accomodation was incredibly clean and the breakfast was wonderful. The B & B is within a peaceful area and the walk into the town centre was only a couple of minutes across the hockey pitch (directions provided by Jean). We enjoyed a lovely meal in the Bear Hotel. We agree with the comments written in other reviews and would highly recommed this B & B.

Room Tip: Larger room has beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 82 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went & stayed about two weeks at Jean Whitney's B & B in august 2012 (we haven't unfortunately been able to write this before). Jean immediately made us feel at home : we were given a very warm welcome and she (& her husband) were extremely kind and helpful offering many valuable suggestions as to what to do, where and when.
Their house is modern and very well situated, our room was large, nicely decorated with a splendid view on the Usk valley and the Escarpment that made us feel like climbing up there - and we did - the bathroom spick and span. On the other side of the house the Table Mountain side, we also went up there. The house is very quiet, our room overlooked the deserted High School sportsground (200 yards away) and we only had to go to the bottom of the garden climb over a small stile cross the sportsgrounds & we were in a public park with sweeping views of the town & valley only 300 yards from the town centre.
Breakfast was savoury varied and plentiful, Jean always asked about our needs and met them (with a special diet for me).
There's ample parking space. Jean kindly helped us find further accommodation in Crickhowel, where we finally spent most of our holiday as we came to really love the place. Jean even allowed us to leave our car parked in her garden as it was difficult to park in the other B&B.
All in all, an ideal accommodation (reasonably priced) for those who like us are looking for restful hill walking and town roaming holidays in magnificent countryside. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Preferably the room looking south as it is larger with splendid views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at this B&B in Crickhowell for the Walking Festival for the long weekend. I was on my own but I didn't feel it, this place has modern rooms spoteless clean and year full of character. Jean who runs this B&B is like family, she will really look after you. And besides there is nothing like coming back from the day activities I'm the centre of town, 2 min walk, and smell the wood burning in the fire :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paollag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at this lovely B&B whilst attending a friends wedding in Crickhowell, the room was lovely and had fantastic views of the surrounding countryside. Jean the owner was fab, nothing was too much trouble and even offered us a lift to the wedding reception as it was a rather cold day. Breakfast was fantastic as well!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just spent 2 nights with Jean at her B&B in Crickhowell.
Staying in the large double room with en suite whilst walking in the Brecons.
A 2 minute walk from the town centre & all the shops/pubs Jean even offered us a lift the first night as it was pouring with rain! Nothing was too much bother and a lovely cooked breakfast kept us going all day...
Half an hour to Pen-y-fan start point and easy access to most Brecons walks it was a great start point for all walks, good value and very personal.
Would visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erika b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were in Crickhowell for a friends wedding. This B&B was the perfect place to stay. The owners are incredibly welcoming (including the jack russell) very accomodating regarding access to the room espicially on the moning of the wedding very happy for us to come and go. The breakfast was very filling and the room modern, clean and spacious.
Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My parents, husband and myself stopped for one night whilst travelling into Wales.
We had a lovely welcoming from Jean and straight away made us feel relaxed and like we were a home away from home!
The rooms are great have everything you need for a stay, cosy bed, lovely bathroom, tea making services, tv and free wifi :))

I actually wished l was stopping longer as it was so lovely there.

The breakfast was amazing we all had cereal fruit toast and a cooked breakfast.. If you ever needed anything Jean was there to help.

Great value for money and a lovely B&B

I recommend Porth-y- Beellan to anyone staying or passing the Brecon Beacons, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crickhowell hotels
0.7 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Llangattock
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
#3 of 16 in Crickhowell
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
622 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porth-y-Berllan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth-y-Berllan

Address: Porth y Berllan Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1DG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range: $80 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Porth-y-Berllan, a small family run bed & breakfast situated just eight minutes walk from the center of Crickhowell.Crickhowell which is nestled in the heart of the Brecon Beacons is a walkers paradise. There is also plenty to see/do like Visit Hay-on-Wye, Big Pit, Llanthony Priory and Cwmyoy church. Go fishing on the Usk, canoeing on the Wye, horse riding and rope climbing/caving (We are central to all of these).For those wanting to relax, read the papers or a good book while enjoying a cuppa you are welcome to sit in our garden and take in the views. If its a days shopping your after why not catch the train to Cardiff, the capital of wales (station seven miles away and trains run every hour). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porth-y-Berllan Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing