We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts in a beautiful location - a great place from which to discover the Brecon Beacons”
Review of Gwyn Deri

Gwyn Deri
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gwyn Deri
Ranked #8 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts in a beautiful location - a great place from which to discover the Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a very lovely 2 nights enjoying this excellent B & B. our hosts went out of their way to help us plan our trips into the Beacons which really helped to make our break special. The food was home cooked, local and very tasty. We'd definitely go back. Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simply_Traval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
55
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

A lovely couple run this charming bed and breakfast, very friendly and helpful too, I needed a place for the bicycle overnight as I arrived by train & it was no bother for me to pop it into thier garage.
Great location and breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msktmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

When you go for a trip into the countryside and pick a small b&b to stay at, Gwyn Deri is exactly the kind of place you're hoping that b&b will be when you pull up at the door.

I've just read through the other reviews which (almost!) unanimously tell you exactly the same things I am going to tell you. I had a little chuckle at the single negative review from the three years you can read here, where the only complaint seemed to be that the reviewer was 'kept talking' for an hour on arrival. Whereas I and the other 67 positive reviews agree that the exceptional welcome is part of the marvelous service. Kathy and Brian are the kind of people who clearly put love, passion and a whole lot of work into making their guest's stay in their home a memorable and unique one. On arrival we were indeed 'kept talking' (after being shown our room) for over an hour, however this was no imposition, but a warm and pleasant chat with the owners and other guests whilst sitting in the pretty garden and being provided with tea and delicious home baked welsh cakes and brownies. An absolute pleasure.

The room was beautifully clean, the bed comfortable, fresh fruit and homemade biscuits provided in room. Breakfast is a feast, with plenty of local produce. Just what you need to set you up for exploring the area, where there are plentiful opportunities for walking. Crickhowell is a pretty small town with some good pubs to drink and eat in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0rnc0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Off the road just half a block from a main road, in a residential zone of a charming village, Gwyn Deri is a gem. If you enjoy a quiet holiday full of lovely walks and local color, this is a perfect spot. The proprietors keep the place shipshape and cheery, providing warm hospitality and yummy breakfasts. The rooms are clean, modern, and airy. The garden is a nice spot for a spot of tea. There are many nice walks from the front door, and a 10-minute drive opens up many more options.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TimberFalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at Gwyn Deri for 5 nights as a base for walking in the Brecons and Usk Valley. Warm welcome on arrival with tea and cakes and a chat with Kathy and Brian, who are very knowledgeable about the area and things to do and see, and served great breakfasts (try the locally smoked salmon!) Ideal central location, spotless room, and fantastic value. No hesitation in recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Gwyn Deri B&B is the perfect place to stay while visiting the lovely town of Crickhowell. Kathy and Brian were so gracious, immediately welcoming us to their home. They have a gorgeous backyard and fed us delicious breakfasts and snacks. Their dog is especially nice. And, they were unbelievably sweet with our baby, playing with him while we ate breakfast.

The house is clean, homey, and comfortable. The rooms have lovely views of the hillsides and garden.

We were sad to leave this charming place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneetscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a weekend here and it was amazing. The owners were very welcoming, they were interesting and the rooms and service were second to none. The food was brilliant and it was conveniently situated in the middle of town. Stunning views and a beautiful garden made for a five star stay. If you want a peaceful holiday where you are treated like royalty then this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TParker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
Ty Croeso Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Llangattock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#2 of 16 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
#4 of 16 in Crickhowell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwyn Deri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwyn Deri

Property: Gwyn Deri
Address: Mill Street, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1BA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gwyn Deri 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gwyn Deri Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing