We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic Licence”

Porthmawr Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porthmawr Country House
Ranked #9 of 15 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here over New Year. As there were 28 of us we rented the entire premises including the apartment and gatehouse. While the house itself was large and very pretty on closer inspection you realise that it is all a bit tired. As a self catered house there was a distinct lack of standard equipment within the house i.e. a vacuum cleaner, a dustpan to go with the broom. There were areas of the house that had not been cleaned in quite sometime. The open fire in the living room was a joy but again we had been left no means of cleaning it out. The owners had been kind enough to allow neighbours to store frozen food in the freezer (theirs had broken down) which was not a great concern until the neighbours to chose to walk in uninvited one morning. The pictures on the website use a great deal of artistic licence and the website is confusing and in some place down right lies. The boiler appears to serve the whole house which as you can imagine means that only a few people can have a bath or shower before you have to wait over three hours for the water to heat back up. Not much fun when you are there during party and rain season! The landscaped grounds is a large grass field! There were obvious signs of damp and in some places black mould growing on the walls. Having said all of that we had a wonderful time because we were there over new year but the house is certainly not worth the money as we paid nearly £5000 for a week. Being such a large family we have stayed in several large houses over the years and this one was by far the most expensive and the most disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 52 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a much over due review (as our wedding was in September) but we had the weekend of our lives at Porthmawr Country House! From the moment we booked (Jan 2013) right through to the wedding (28th Sept) Geoff and Linda were always on hand to go through bits and bobs and accommodate our many visits to see the house!
The house is beautiful and we could not imagine having our wedding anywhere else - it was perfect in every way! All of our family stayed with us and are still talking about how wonderful it was!
Geoff also did the catering for us on the wedding day and the food was delicious. We had a hog roast and all the trimmings with a selection of deserts and it really was excellent and very well organised! Our only quarm was that the food was taken away a little too early but understand that logistics required it to be that way! Everybody at the wedding kept commenting on how yummy the food was!
If I could go through it all again I wouldnt think twice about hiring Porthmawr again - we loved it and will cherish that weekend in our hearts forever. THANK YOU!
Emily & Dave

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyDave91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having read the poor review posted prior to mine I must admit to feeling a little nervous about our booking which was for the whole house and cottage for a family reunion in December 2013. I was wrong to worry as I cannot state how impressed we have all been with Porth Mawr and can only assume that the writer of that review must have oddly posted it several months after his stay (prior to the newest renovations)?! Please disregard his review because it almost put us off and yet it couldn't be more wrong. We stayed in the cottage adjoining the gate house ourselves and found it to have a newly fitted kitchen (owner says it was newly fitted prior to the summer of 2013) which had a huge stainless steel American fridge freezer, oven and hob microwave and coffee machine. We had several wonderful nights of sleep in the very comfortable brass bed which immaculate white bed linen and enjoyed our snuggly evenings on the sofas toasting our toes in front of the real crackling log fire (which was stocked up with plenty of logs ready for us to use!) the sparkling Christmas tree just made it perfect. The bathroom was more than adequate, modern warm and clean and the shower was hot, it all looked fairly newly fitted as well. We had everything we could have wanted. The owner we found to be a warm and welcoming gentleman with a lot of interesting historical stories to share with us about the house and he was available for anything we might have needed as he lived next door in a barn conversion,( which was reassuring considering the awful weather we were having). In the main house itself ..wow well its stunning rooms are furnished with fascinating antiques, high ceilings, chandeliers and paintings it was just lovely. It was tastefully decorated for Christmas with a huge tree, sparkling lights garlands and real holly and mistletoe adorning the grand fireplaces which really added to the ambience, all members of our party were very impressed. The large kitchen has a real Aga stove and range cooker, and we found it to be well equipped and spacious so a pleasure to do our own catering in, plus there are two huge antique dining tables with candelabras to dine on in the dining room. We all had a wonderful stay and as a venue for families it was faultless, there is even a play-station for the kids, however it has to be the best house ever for a game of "hide n seek"!

We enquired about the 'pigs' and apparently were some ornamental pet pigs but the owner had sadly rehomed them that summer. There were plenty of opportunities to walk into Crickhowell and found some very good places to eat locally, all with the advantage of being within a 2 minute walk back to our beds! Had the weather been kinder to us we would have enjoyed sitting outside on the veranda enjoying the absolutely spectacular views. If you are thinking of booking Porth Mawr country house then I'd say you made a great choice - we are already planning returning again for our next family get together!

Room Tip: The cottage (gate house) is quiet and very cosy with a real fire. Michael Angelo suite in the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We tend to visit this area once or twice per year to visit family and go climbing in the mountains. Anyhow, we decided to give Porthmawr a try. Anyhow, we stayed the ground floor flat, next to the old lodge and large gates. We were shown into the lodge by the owner who appeared to be quite a nice guy. He showed us around and bid us a nice stay. A little later, when the boiler came on, it made a tremendous sound, so I called the main house and the owner dropped by. He then proceeded to stick a screw driver in the lower door of the boiler to stop the sound. Then the toaster blew up with a loud bang, this was then replaced. The flat itself felt dirty and just needed a little money spent on it. The rug in the lounge had certainly seen better days. The shower/toilet was very small and again just needed updating. The kitchen again just needed money spending on it. In the morning, we noticed that there was a pig sty directly outside and as the day got hotter, the smell became apparent, combined with the flies the sty attracted. There was a table and chairs for sitting outside, but you just wouldn't. The castle keep and main gate looked really shabby with old broken chairs and tables outside. the guttering and general masonry needed fixing and looked terrible. You know the sad thing is, this placed could really be nice if the owner only spent some money on it! I'm sorry, but we really wouldn't rush back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thrubeingcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for my brothers 50th Birthday. He hired all of it including the appartments etc. We had a lot of people staying. It is a stunning house with beautiful views of the hills around. The dining room could sit us all (32 people) the kitchen was good enough to cook when we wanted to (except one small kettle is not big enough)! The bedrooms were all nice and we had a room on the ground floor whith a door to the patio area, whislt small it was clean and comfy. SOme of the other rooms were huge and our kids enjoyed sharing the 4 bed room in the attic. Communal spaces were all great and the bar area was fantastic for our Saturday night birthday celebrations., Its close to the town and only a 1 min walk to the great pubs and shops in the village. We made great use of the grounds and sitting out the front in the sunshine having a BBQ was just amazing. There is a hall to the side which we didn't use but it looked great with all the bi-fold doors onto the patio area

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We hired the whole of the house on a self catering basis so I was able to look around all bedrooms, they are all tastefully decorated some rooms being a lot bigger than others but as we we had use of all the house bedroom size was irrelevant, we tended migrated to the large lounge with the big open fire and fab views and the large kitchen. House well situated for Crickhowell town and country walks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mother_DaughterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We hosted our Wedding weekend at Porthmawr & couldn't have made a better decision. The location is amazing & Geoff & Linda allowed us the freedom to make sure that the day was individual, but were incredibly supportive & helpful too. They made sure the day ran smoothly so that we could relax & enjoy. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
612 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
Gliffaes Country House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Crickhowell
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
969 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 3 in Abergavenny
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
Dragon Inn Crickhowell
#3 of 15 in Crickhowell
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porthmawr Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porthmawr Country House

Address: Porthmawr House Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1DE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porthmawr is a splendid Regency mansion. Tucked away behind 15th century castellated walls the house and grounds are utterly private and peaceful with stunning mountain views, and ample parking. Plush furnishings, antiques and quirky modern artwork sit side by side in its tall-ceilinged rooms. Relax and enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace on a summers eve or infront of the open fire on a cold winter's night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porthmawr Country House Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing