We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porthmawr Country House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Crickhowell
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Manor Hotel(Crickhowell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Angel(Abergavenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Llansantffraed Court(Llanvihangel Gobion)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tower Hotel(Talgarth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
40
8
2
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
8
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houselarge kitchencountry housedaughter's weddingevery guestfantastic wedding venuefunction roomlovely weekendfood was fantasticthe rivergeoffmainhouseaccommodationcottageloungemarqueecalmly
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 55 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We've just returned from a mini honeymoon staying in the self catering 'cottage' - we had originally booked a room in the main house but were later informed that the main house had been fully booked so were offered the cottage at a discounted rate.

The owners are extremely welcoming and greeted us with a bottle of fizzy and strawberries which was lovely.

The location is superb and within a few minutes walk of the town centre (and the wonderful Bear Inn).

The Cottage itself is very 'quirky', however I wouldn't rate it as 4/5 star accomodation but more a comfortable 3.

All in all an excellent stay but if you want 4/5 star accomodation I would recommend that you stay in the main house.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at porthmawr for 2nights at the end of November 2011 and absolutely loved it. Geoff and Linda were superb hosts and certainly made us feel at home. Our room was immaculate and tastefully decorated with beautiful furnishings. The breakfast was fantastic with local produce and plenty of it. We were in the area for a wedding at the manor, and enjoyed the picture postcard scenery of the local area. If your visiting this area please book porthmawr words can't describe how beautiful it is

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jondonmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed in their 2 bedroom annex which was nicely furnished and spacious. Very convenient locatoin as you can walk out through the back wall into the High Street and so leave your car in their drive. It is possible to take your breakfast in the main house if you wish at extra cost which we did once, but did not feel it was worth the extra cost, however nice! We were able to take our dog which was why we stayed in the annex (dogs not allowed in the house). We were also able to have the annex for less than a week when we went in early July (4 nights in our case). We actually stayed there in July 2010

Room Tip: If you want to take your pet you can but need to stay in their annex.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank annej18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

2 night stay as self catering travelling with colleagues for a business trip.

The grounds are really nicely maintained and clean. They even have a couple of pot bellied pigs and chickens etc which really make it a true rural experience!

The venue itself is very nice, it was freshly painted (smell was strong) and all communal areas were nicely kept.

We hired the whole place out so had the run of the place which made it even more enjoyable for the 2 nights we were there.

A few areas that let the place down were the quality of some of the rooms, they could have done with some modernisation especially in the bathrooms.

Water pressure is low so be warned when taking a shower!

The rooms are not turned over each day as in the beds are not made and only one little towel is provided so best to take your own. This towel was also not changed over the stay which really was a let down for me!

Perhaps its a self catering thing but I thought the above would be common practise?!

Now onto the good stuff: All kitchen utensils etc in working order and everything is provided to be able to cook, serve and eat food! (Even a BBQ)

Beds are comfy and exactly what you need after a days long trek up Sugar loaf hill.

Apart from that it was a pleasent stay. (I would recommend the place but probably on a B&B basis).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unicornbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a faultless three day experience at Porthmawr in September 2011 having booked in May 2011. Every aspect of this venue is top class, the staff know when to be discrete and when to be visible. The rooms are immaculately clean and the grounds are beautiful. Attention to detail made our daughter's wedding day absolutely fantastic. Every guest commented on the quality of the venue and staff.
Porthmawr house needs to be known throughout the nation as a top top venue for wedding weekends, we hired the whole place, did our own meals in the kitchen, did our own bar at the wedding and brought in our own caterers who worked seamlessly with the Porthmawr staff. Lots of info about where to go,walks etc. Nothing too much bother for the staff. Prices are very reasonable, we used the new function room for the wedding breakfast for 55 guests and it was just perfect. Geoff and Linda were excellent hosts from start to finish.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews