We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - ignore the old reviews”

Porthmawr Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crickhowell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porthmawr Country House
Ranked #10 of 16 Crickhowell B&B and Inns
Newport
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great - ignore the old reviews”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I stayed here first and read the reviews afterwards. The more recent reviews are spot on and the earlier must relate to previous owners or managers.
We ended up here by accident when a hotel we had booked into 3 months earlier (The Manor nearby) told us they had no room for us.
We landed on our feet when they booked us in here instead.
This place is great.
Very spacious and clean, with extremely pleasant hosts.
The only thing which kept us awake was another couple who didn't seem to be able to control their enthusiasm for each other, such is the warmth this place gives off!...
Breakfast was super too.
The house is very well restored and worth a look around.
I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasoned_traveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Just got back from staying at the Porthmawr B&B, and having checked it out on this site, I was a little worried due to some not great reviews and nothing left for a while, and resolved to leave a review good, bad or indifferent.
all I can say is that me and the GF were more than satisfied with our stay, and overall we had a lovely weekend. It was clean and tidy, Geoff was very friendly and helpful, the room was amazing, the breakfast hit the spot, and the views were pretty good, had the weather been a little warmer, we could've made better use of the grounds. There is a lovely sitting room which they seem to reset the fire place every day so you can have a nice read by the fire.
Location wise, I imagine you're only looking at crickhowel for the walks/bike trails, and there are plenty of those on its doorstep, we did the walk up to the top of table mountain which was pretty cool, and we went on a number of bike rides, and if you want to get away without the car please read on:

We got the train to Abergaveny with our bikes, and cycled from the train station to crickhowel, and it was really pleasant and easy, and if you think you can handle 8-10Km mostly along a canal then:
out of the train station, turn right and follow the cycle path through the garage car park, down the hill into AberG town, the tourist information centre is on the right near the park/CP, and we stopped in for a few maps etc.
turn left at the swan Inn, and at the end of the road join a cycle path going round the castle, and following signs for llanfoist along the river Usk.
eventually you'll meet the bridge, and you'll have to join the main road for a while, cross over the bridge, and at the RB go SO slightly left of waitrose, under the heads of the valley road, and SO the RB into Llanfoist, it's a long slow incline through the village, and eventually you'll see a sign for the village hall and there's a cycle path on the right, follow this up for a Km or so, and eventually it'll meet the canal on the left, and you've gotta go back on yourself a little to join the canal path on the other side

then follow the path until you hit bridge 115 (i think, it could've been 125?) about 8Km down the path, just outside Llangattock, you'll know because there's a few canal boats on the other side, and newish houses on your right, and the first time you've seen civilisation for a while!

get off the path, go down the steep hill on your right, go to the end and turn left, go to the end, and you'll see the bridge over the Usk, and crickhowel is on the other side! well done, you've just got to somewhere very nice, and you've got you bike with you and not used your car!

overall the cycle took about 1.5 to 2 hours, but we were going anywhere near fast at all, and kept checking maps on my phone.

there's also places to stop on the way if you like, the bridge Inn in Gilwern looked nice, though we didn't stop.

in CKWL we ate at the China Gourmet (OK) and the Dragon Inn (pretty decent)

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazzyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I booked 4 rooms for 3 nights,13 months in advance, but 3 months later, after an email confirmation, I was informed that the rooms were cancelled, due to a wedding party taking over the whole house, which the owners had forgotten about, while they were taking my booking, both via telephone, and then email confirmation.
So nice, though the place looks, I not know as my party didn't get to stay.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank worker033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

When we arrived in Crickhowell we were not familiar with the town and soon found we had gone past it without finding a place to stop the car. We turned back and spotted the sign for Porthmawr Country House, luxury B&B accommodation, which was just opposite the petrol station. Turning up the driveway, we were instantly in a different world with a the magnificent country house, huge spacious lawn, peace and calm and with lovely views of the hills. We had a wonderfully relaxing stay for two nights. Linda and Geoff were very friendly and made us most welcome and comfortable. Our room had a fantastic view and was very spacious and luxurious.
The house had an interesting history and has been refurbished and decorated with many art works reflecting the tastes and interests of the owners. There is a lot to see in the house. The spcacious lounge and dining room are very tastefully and elegantly decorated. There was a very generous selection for breakfast and freshly cut flowers decorating each table. This is an exceptionally fine, friendly and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at Porth Mawr for two nights in October. The owners were welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. The house is spacious, beautifully furnished and comfortable with interesting art works everywhere. The house has a nice feel, like it could tell many stories. The breakfast was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was recommended to us and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thea042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Just arrived back from a 3 night stay. This is one of the loveliest places I've stayed in. Friendly, stylish, comfortable, clean, delicious, beautiful, interesting etc. The owners and staff couldn't have been more accommodating. I'm not related!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2009

After cutting short our stay in west wales in a dismal holiday cottage, we stopped in Crickhowell for petrol and spotted a small sign saying porthmawr country house B&B.
It was hidden behind a high stone wall in it own grounds.
Our first contact was Geoff the owner who showed us the rooms made us tea and coffee and soft drinks for the kids told us some of the history of the house and the town of Crickhowell, we walked into the Town a two minute walk, the information centre is brilliant there are lots of places to eat from takeaways to restaurants.
We only intended to stay one night but stayed two the most our schedule would allow the rooms were comfortable, the breakfast was exellent, the views from this old house are amazing even in the rain.
We will be returning to Crickhowell again and staying with Geoff and Linda at Porthmawr house.
Geoff told us about the problems there had been when Porthmawr was run by family members, Had I read the early reviews on Porthmawr we would probably not have gone there I can only imagine what it must have been like to stay in such a lovely place and feel unwelcome all I can say is try it now you will not be disapointed.
.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crickhowell
0.6 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
14.6 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
9.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Angel
The Angel
#1 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porthmawr Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porthmawr Country House

Property: Porthmawr Country House
Address: Porthmawr House Brecon Road, Brecon Beacons National Park, Crickhowell NP8 1DE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Crickhowell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Crickhowell
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porthmawr is a splendid Regency mansion. Tucked away behind 15th century castellated walls the house and grounds are utterly private and peaceful with stunning mountain views, and ample parking. Plush furnishings, antiques and quirky modern artwork sit side by side in its tall-ceilinged rooms. Relax and enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace on a summers eve or infront of the open fire on a cold winter's night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porthmawr Country House Crickhowell, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing