We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a gathering of friends and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abernant House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
The large oak table is perfect for relaxed meals
French windows lead from the kitchen to the garden
The large kitchen has a 4 oven electric Aga
The beautiful drawing room
The grand piano can be used by guests
The cosy TV room/snug
Wood panelled TV room/snug
Our very well stocked library
The large king sized ensuite bedroom with a large balcony overlooking the garden.
Lie in bed and look out at the amazing scenery
The master room has its own Juliet balcony overlooking the garden
This single room leads out to a large balcony overlooking the garden
The beautiful gardens looking out towards the Black Mountains.
Outdoor tables and chairs for alfresco dining
Relax in the garden
Our private stretch of the River Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eleri D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place for a gathering of friends and family.”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just spent the weekend with friends and family in this beautiful, spacious house near Builth.
It was relaxing, warm with real fires, very homely, and the beds were super comfy. I was celebrating a special birthday, and the owner recommended a chef to cook for us on the Saturday night. It was a real treat.
We weren't really looking for local attractions, just wanted a place to get together - eat, drink, and talk till the early hours. Perfect!
Diolch yn fawr!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2016
I am so glad that you had such a lovely weekend. Abernant is such a special place that having a lovely time is pretty much guaranteed. Please keep in touch and I hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean_west...
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chill out weekend in Wales”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

What a great place for 12 friends to chill out for the weekend. It rained all the time and that stopped any trips out of the house other than to re stock the depleting wine store.
Shaun the chef had prepared a large chilli for us on the Friday evening, we cooked our own jacket potatoes and we all stayed around the fire, a great night in.
The next day we lit both fires, the weather was terrible so we just spent the day chilling, eating and drinking.
Shaun the chef came in again and prepared a three course meal for the evening and that was a huge sucsess his wife served us and they cleared up after us and them.
We left on Sunday afternoon after a late brunch all in all a great weekend enjoyed by all.
The house is fantastic, large enough for twelve without getting under each others feet but intimate as well.
Jo is very good at what she does.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house
Liked least: The rain
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2016
Thank you! Chilling, eating, drinking, relaxing, catching up with friends is what Abernant does very well. I do hope that you will be able to come back when the weather is better and you can chill out in the fabulous garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonTra...
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Christmas”
Reviewed January 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Abernant House and it was a great choice. Plenty of space for a large family, loads of bedrooms and bathrooms and a very well-stocked kitchen. Lovely garden.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2016
Thank you. I am glad that you had such a lovely Christmas and I do hope that you can come back to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlastairG...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Venue for Family Gathering!”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Just returned from a wonderful w/e at Abernant House, 13 family - 3 generations, our first stay and we hope to return. Very comfortable and relaxing house, beautifully decorated with a library of books to browse, plenty of space and excellent bedroom/bathroom ratio. Brilliantly appointed kitchen which formed the hub for all our huge family meals. Jo, the manager, was very helpful throughout the booking and gave us a warm welcome on arrival, her lemon curd cake was especially appreciated!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful interior decor and garden
Liked least: Near a busy road
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delyth B
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful in a stunning location”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We recently stayed at Abernant House. It is a fantastic property with loads of space and character. Ideal for sociable groups, particularly families. It is set in a stunning location in the heart of Wales, and is a fantastic place to go if you need to get away from it all - an enjoyable time had by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Abernant House. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fg7948
Central Province, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
“Wonderfully historic and homely stay”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had 13 people staying at Abernant, for a joint birthday weekend away. Despite being at capacity there was still plenty of room for everyone to spread out and relax. The kitchen was excellent and the main living room was perfect for the evenings. All the beds were super soft and cosy, and the bathrooms well appointed and kept. We all really enjoyed the fact that Abernant had clearly been lived in before, and was not just another holiday let. There was so much history, and fantastic pieces of furniture and art.

Agree with below about the internet being very patchy, but clearly no ones fault, and actually it was really nice just to disconnect and switch off for a weekend.

Jo was excellent in arranging everything for our stay, and Jenny very hospitable when we arrirved and left. Thanks again for a wonderful stay, and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We may be biased but agree that Abernant is not just another holiday let. It definitely has something very special and welcomes everyone who comes to stay here. In Welsh it always gives you a 'cwtch' (cuddle) and makes you feel relaxed and comfortable.
We really hope that you will be able to come back to stay with us in the future...maybe in the spring or summer when you can enjoy a garden party!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parv66
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super House and location”
Reviewed November 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed for a long weekend in November 15, we were 4 couples mid early to mid 50's who found the walks around the location exhilarating as it rained most of the weekend we were there, but it did not dampen our tine here.
The rooms were lovely, nothing modern, but quaint. despite the cold the house was warm especially with the 2 lovely log fires burning. Bathrooms were functional, but not all had showers.
The kitchen was superb. Catered for the whole group, well equipped. We had a chef come in & cook us a 4 course meal which went down wonderfully, Sean was flexible with facilitating a Coeliac in the group & it all based relish - well worth the money.
The only negatives were the internet which kept going down constantly and the fact that the water for running a bath was not hot, more tepid - so no long hot soaks.

Otherwise thank you to Jo, &the team for making our stay a wonderful experience, we would definately consider coming back.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do value comments from our guests which help us to improve the experience.
Abernant is an old house and has had a programme of work to improve things over the last few years. This year we have completely rewired the whole house which will improve lighting and access to electrical points.
We have had a borehole drilled to provide a more reliable water supply as we have been on a stream fed supply which has meant we have had very poor pressure. The poor water pressure has meant that we have not been able to have any more showers installed ( we have 5 bathrooms with 2 large showers and 4 baths). The borehole means improved water pressure and that we will be able to install extra showers.
I am sorry to hear that the bath was not warm. We have several large hot water tanks which are constantly heated. It is a shame we did not know that there was a problem as we would have been able to check and rectify it for you.
Unfortunately we do not have control over the broadband speed and we do struggle to get a decent signal. Superfast Broadband Cymru has been installing new cabling and we are in one of the first areas to be connected so we have everything crossed that we will be super whizzy very soon. (They promise that it will be connected within weeks......!)

Shaun Bailey is our personal chef and he frequently comes to Abernant and prepares personally tailored celebration dinners for guests. He cooks fabulous food, is totally laid back and a super guy. I am so pleased you had a lovely meal.

I do hope that you can come back to stay with us again in the future so do please get in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing