We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Abernant House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The well equipped kitchen with 4 oven Aga
The large oak table is perfect for relaxed meals
French windows lead from the kitchen to the garden
The large kitchen has a 4 oven electric Aga
The beautiful drawing room
The grand piano can be used by guests
The cosy TV room/snug
Wood panelled TV room/snug
Our very well stocked library
The large king sized ensuite bedroom with a large balcony overlooking the garden.
Lie in bed and look out at the amazing scenery
The master room has its own Juliet balcony overlooking the garden
This single room leads out to a large balcony overlooking the garden
The beautiful gardens looking out towards the Black Mountains.
Outdoor tables and chairs for alfresco dining
Relax in the garden
Our private stretch of the River Wye
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tillywood...
Willaston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Finding a house large enough to accommodate the 12 of us - three generations of a family - with all the various room requirements, let alone the actual space, both inside and out and in the area desired is not always easy. What can one say? Abernant met all the above, with bells on. It is a stunning house, with immense character, beautifully appointed, blissfully comfortable inside, and with a glorious garden with both the Nant and the Wye to appeal to every inner child! The bedrooms are very pretty, light, airy, spacious, with beautiful linens. Ample bathrooms with a mix of baths and excellent showers to accommodate all. The spacious and well-appointed kitchen is ideal for a large number and has all you need - Aga included - with a fabulous table allowing plenty of space for long, lazy, and noisy gatherings! With a further four rooms downstairs, there is more than enough space for a quiet place to retreat to with the paper, book or a chat, and for those wishing technology and the television and noise. Okay, the WiFi isn't as good as perhaps one is used to and mobile reception can be a bit dodgy, but to be honest, it was rather good to get away from all that! More than enough room in the garden for cricket or football without disturbing those sitting with a glass of something suitable. The beautiful location, with views across the Wye to Aberedw Rocks - especially glorious in the evening light - is the icing on the cake. Jo was so welcoming, helpful and friendly, right from the first contact, and looked after us all so well, absolutely brilliant. A basket of pretty and fresh eggs and a seriously delicious cake awaited our arrival - a lovely touch, thank you Jo. All in all, we had a very happy, relaxing, fun and precious family time, that went all too quickly, can't wait for a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the garden, the relaxation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous, luxurious but great value for money”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

beautiful, comfortable house. loads of room to spread out and relax. Excellent facilities such as enough bathrooms for a party of 12 for there to be no queuing. Huge garden perfect for cricket matches and archery with a great BBQ under the majestic copper beech. We all paddled in the stream and river and explored the grounds. Our party ranged from people in their eighties to small children and everyone loved the place. Fab kitchen with great appliances, comfy sofa's, logs for the fire, enormous beds with delicious bed-linen, it's a charming place. My only complaint is we did not stay long enough! Jo was brilliant at giving us information, making sure we were happy and checking everything was OK and she also makes a mean Victoria sponge. We will be coming back as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the deluxe quality of everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A very spacious and beautiful house, easily able to accomodate the twelve of us, and a lovely garden (especially as azaleas were in flower). We were fortunate to have a week of sunshine, so it was not much of a pity we had no pianist to play the grand piano! The woods across the road from the house were also full of bluebells. The kitchen had plenty of utensils,crockery etc. and an enormous Aga and fridge.
Although there is Wifi, don't expect too much, it was very easily overloaded, and unless you are on O2, forget mobile phone reception. Jo was very friendly and efficient, and is planning various improvements: emeregency lighting is being installed this summer (during the gaps between lets) and I hope some better light outside the front door.
Although there are about five bathrooms, they mostly don't have showers (two I think) which is a small drawback.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2015
The weather was indeed very kind to you but even in rainy weather Abernant is wonderful as you can snuggle next to the fire. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us.
Thank you for your kind comments.

Yes, we are undergoing a total rewire of the house which will improve lighting not only inside but also outside. The work, which has been carried out between our bookings, has meant that we have had to remove our beautiful antique outside lights for renovation as well as some of the internal lights. These will be re-installed very soon together with extra super duper lighting in the garden.

We are also having a borehole installed (by July) to improve our current water supply. This will mean improved water pressure and we have plans to install a large shower in the master room end of the house.
We have been told that the water from this borehole will be of the highest quality as it has filtered through the Welsh bedrock. Sweet Welsh water to drink and bathe in!

The Wi-Fi is very slow at the moment but we will, this year, be linked up to the SuperFast Cymru Broadband which should improve things tremendously.

We are aware that Abernant is not perfect and will probably never be, but that is what actually makes it such a special place in which you can feel welcome, relaxed and comfortable. Which I suppose could be considered to be the perfect place to have a break or holiday!
I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleL...
1 review
“Where to stay if going to Hay”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a blissful time in this period gem of a house. Lovely rooms and grounds. But best of all was the wonderfully personal welcome from Jo, who'd brought us free range eggs and baked us a cake. Already booked again for next two years (at least) Michelle

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2015
I am so glad that you enjoyed staying with us....so much so that you have booked to stay again well in advance! It was a pleasure to meet you. I hope that next time I will be able to meet up with everyone else, too. Please do keep in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for a relaxing time with family and friends”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a lovely big house for all types of groups - I had both family with young children and friends stay during the week. The location is beautiful and it is easy to get to the Brecon Beacons. The river at the bottom of the garden is very special and we spent many hours skimming stones down there. The garden is lovely and big for kids and dogs and the house is comfortable and clean. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a place to chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locations
Liked least: The lack of microwave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing weekend with friends and family!”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Abernant House was exactly what we were looking for - a wonderful house in a lovely relaxing rural setting. We had 5 young children with us and they loved the big house and running around the great gardens. The adults all enjoyed the comfortable accommodation and the fantastic fires that kept us warm in spite of the cold weather! Jo was a wonderful host and we'd highly recommend this for a weekend away or longer break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad that you all had such a lovely weekend. As you found out, Abernant is a great place for getting together with family and friends.
We have a plan of improvements for the house over the next 12 months and I do hope that you will come back to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M
1 review
“PERFECT PLACE TO RELAX!”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This House is truly amazing, beautifully decorated, cozy and warm. No one wanted to leave and we already are trying to organize a return visit.
Jo is super friendly and relaxed and was knowledgeable on the area and various hikes!!
I very rarely write reviews, but this house is worth it!!.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review! It makes all our hard work worthwhile. Abernant is such a truly special place to stay at anytime of the year whether it is for a short break or a longer stay. There are has so many places to discover and we will do our best to make you stay comfortable and memorable. I really look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing