We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have just spent a two night break at this hotel which exceeded our expectations for a 3* hotel. We anticipated perhaps some signs of wear in a property of this age but the interior has been immaculately and imaginatively maintained and decorated. The evening meals were first class, particularly the 7 course taster menu. We suspect a different chef dealt with breakfast and it was necessary to be specific about how some items should be cooked.
We felt that meal and bar prices represented good value
The owners could not have been more friendly and helpful, eg in helping to plan local walks.
The hotel location is quite stunning and the grounds attractive.
Our room, although not the best located (but convenient for exercising our dog), was comfortable and did not lack any amenity.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms overlooking the courtyard/front door should be avoided as curtains have to be kep...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi
Very many thanks for your great review. One big advantage of being a small family owned hotel is that we can give guests more personal attention than some large hotels. We have to thank mother nature for our setting which we are so pleased ou enjoyed.
Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
There are newer reviews for Caer Beris Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 816 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed in February on Groupon deal with 7 course taster menu. It is an old country manor hotel so yes it is dated in parts but this is the charm, it is not a generic hotel. Yes the bedroom was a little dated but we loved it, big high bed with eiderdown reminded me of staying with my great grandparents as a child. The paneled dining room, conservatory, bar area are all lovely and comfortable and they even have there own beer - Irfon Ale. The grounds and settings of the hotel are wonderful for a walk. During our stay we where without power for a few hours but the warm and pleasant staff put out candles and brought us a glass of wine - what more could you want. Food was superb my only complaint was that I didnt enjoy the coffee at breakfast. Would definitely return in later in year to to enjoy the area more

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for your excellent review. and so gad you enjoyed your stay. so much. We were lucky with it being a short power cut. Some people were off for a lot longer. Good excuse for a candlelit dinner though.

Best regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just came back from a 2 night Groupon stay, having read the reviews about the hotel, we were expecting the rooms to be a bit tired so weren't surprised when we arrived. We were staying the the Wye Suite with excellent views over the beautiful grounds. The room was huge, yes a bit dated but comfortable, very quiet. The room also has a large sofa to relax. Evening one we ate the 7 course taster menu, it was very nice highlights for me were salmon and beetroot and the duck terrine, even though I know other people on this review site disagree, personally they were my favourite two courses. Washed down with some lovely wine, yum. Great nights sleep and the following day had breakfast in the conservatory which again was nice. I'd also read that the meals from the normal menu were lovely so we decided on day 2 to book into the restaurant and boy were we in for a treat. I had the twice baked cheese soufflé, presentation was excellent, lovely art work with berries and nuts, the soufflé was the best id ever had. My husband had the salmon with cous cous, again he said his was awesome. For mains I had lamb baked 3 different ways with sweet potato, omg so tasty and my husband had the chicken, best chicken he'd had in a while. Desserts were lovely and cheeseboard. Stuffed and another great nights sleep. My only criticism was the shower facilities, the shower was a dated electric shower which had a mind of its own when it wanted to set the temperature, either boiling or freezing. This is why I've only given a rating of 4 out of 5. Get that sorted and 5 would be easily given. Thanks again we can't wait to sample the amazing food again soon.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank chamberlainspragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for such a positive review. As you say, different people have different opinions of the same dish, but that's just personal taste. We are all different, thank goodness. Although the 7 course menu is a selection taken from our normal fine dining menu which has 21 items to choose from, it means there are lots more interesting things to enjoy. With the shower in your room, it is being addressed at present. The new water system has considerably more pressure which will allow us to dispense with the electric one and replace with a thermostatic one.

Best regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

A very good hotel in an near perfect setting, on the banks of the river Irfon (if you are an angler take a rod as the fishing is free) food of the highest quality especially the 7 course taster menu, breakfast was a good choice I would recommend the full Welsh. Rooms large and well equipped but perhaps could have queen or king size beds as ours was a bit small for larger people. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: Try for an upstairs as they are a little more private.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for your recent review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. There have been some really good fish caught recently, and as it is 'catch and release' they are still there to be enjoyed. The taster menu has been very well received by the vast majority of our guests who have tried it. A regular comment is that there are things on it that they would not have normally ordered, but are glad they tried them. The majority of beds in the hotel are either 5' or 6' wide so unfortunately you were unlucky during your stay.

Best regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed on a mid-week DBB break which included a 7-course taster dinner, as a party of three couples. The meal was most enjoyable and the bedrooms warm, comfortable, and nicely furnished. The hotel has character, and is beautifully located on a hill surrounded by the Afon Irfon -not far from where the last Prince of Wales was killed in 1282. But in this peaceful spot, old battles and assassinations are very far from one's thoughts! The lounge areas are comfortable, with views out over the valley. Guests are given a warm personal welcome by the owner-managers, and the staff all seem pleasant and efficient. An excellent value break

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are fine, but there isn't a lift (as far as I know); there are nice ground-floor...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyweljones642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for your excellent review and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you mention, our site has many historical links going back we have been told to 406 ad. The motte in our grounds is almost recent, going back to 'only' the 11th century. Certainly we like to think our hospitalty is better now than what it was then.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Charming Country hotel, stayed in the Swansea Suite for one night mid week very impressive room, incredibly comfortable four poster bed!, lashings of hot water filled roll top bath quickly, we stayed on a groupon which had been a Christmas gift and included a seven course tasting menu which was excellent with a well cooked varied selection of dishes more than ample to satisfy any appetite. Breakfast was also excellent we had the full Welsh. Staff we're very helpful. We didn't get the chance to walk in the grounds so we really must return bringing the dog! Would highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi

So glad you enjoyed your break with us so much. The comment you make about about the fast filling bath is close to our hearts having just put in a new water system to make this happen! We do hope you come back soon. And yes, bring the dog!

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a voucher deal. The welcome was faultless. The room was lovely, food was amazing; we had the seven course taster menu on night one and enjoyed it so much we ate at the hotel again on the second night. Water was placed on the table each night. The choice at breakfast was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It is well worth taking a walk through the grounds. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewandDenise_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi

Thank you so much for your recent review and so pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much. As you mention, in addition to the Tasting Menu you had on your first night, we have a range of other menus which are always available as well including a new excellent value Brasserie Menu that chef has introduced. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
913 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
62 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
266 reviews
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range: $107 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing