We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a voucher deal. The welcome was faultless. The room was lovely, food was amazing; we had the seven course taster menu on night one and enjoyed it so much we ate at the hotel again on the second night. Water was placed on the table each night. The choice at breakfast was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It is well worth taking a walk through the grounds. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewandDenise_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi

Thank you so much for your recent review and so pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much. As you mention, in addition to the Tasting Menu you had on your first night, we have a range of other menus which are always available as well including a new excellent value Brasserie Menu that chef has introduced. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 836 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights. On arrival told heating didn't come on until 3pm was very cold. Room very small and dated. Carpet old bathroom tatty and toilet cistern took 20 mins to fill loadly. 7 course taster Menu poor made from cheap ingredients . Desert dried chocolate tasters as if taken from freezer. Had steak second night was good . All on all a run down hotel

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jaffajohn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your first ever review. I would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss your comments with you at the time of your stay but nothing was mentioned to us.

All of our food is freshly prepared using, wherever possible, local ingredients. Desserts are made daily, along with our bread and complimentary biscuits. The vast majority of our guests enjoy our cuisine as you can see from other reviewers comments, so I am sorry that it was not to your taste

Regards

Peter Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Booked as a groupon deal, this hotel in Powys looks from the front like an olde worlde monorail house. From down by the river looking up it looks like a well kept "Bates Motel" all atmospheric and spooky. On entering the foyer the welcome is warm and friendly every couple is given a personal tour of the facilities and the room. We upgraded and had a beautiful 4 poster bed. On the first night we had the 7 course taster menu. Fabulous food. All the meals we had in the restaurant were excellent quality served by the most efficient and friendly staff.
On the downside and nothing to do with the hotel, we were disappointed when every place we wanted to visit was still closed for the winter until next month.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade it's £10 per person per night but worth it for the experience. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elayne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi

Very many thanks for your recent review and am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you say, a lot of the businesses are very seasonal. The smaller ones work 7 days a week usually from Easter and than enjoy a break during the winter. We ourselves closed for a few days in January, the first time ever in more than 27 years, but that was due to a new water system being installed.As a small hotel we can, as you mention, offer a much more personal service than some larger hotels.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Booked last minute through a deal on Travelzoo and there's no way you can fault the value for money, £99 per night for a 7 course taster menu dinner, bed and breakfast.

Admittedly I hadn't done any research on this hotel prior to booking but on reading the reviews I had a fair idea of what to expect. I think that the comments about the hotel looking tired and dated are fair but I went with this in mind so I will not rate the hotel badly on this. I do strongly believe that you could easily justify a higher room rate by offering a refurbished bedroom product.

Check in was easy and the 'tour' of the ground floor was a nice touch.

Dinner was overall good, but let down by a couple of things. If you're going to offer a fancy taster menu, then you need to have the service to accompany it. No water or wine was poured at any point during the meal, and there were a few other basic service elements missing. Bearing in mind dinner was included in the package, you would think that they would take every opportunity to sell extras, but I had to ask for the wine last after we had already had our first course delivered to the table. I would have been quite happy to order more drinks, especially towards the end of the meal, to accompany the dessert courses.
The menu was good however, the ginger did not compliment the duck terrine and there was far too much beets and fennel on the plate with the Salmon which lacked flavour. The risotto was also too wet. Please take these comments as feedback rather than criticism for a dinner which was pleasant.
After dinner, we relaxed in the lounge and enjoyed a drink. I could easily have stayed there all night and continued to drink but there was no-one there to serve us which was a shame, and a missed sales opportunity.

The room served its purpose well and the shower in the room was nice and powerful for an awakening, cleansing shower in the morning.

Breakfast was good, coffee hot and food was cooked to order which is always nice.

I would recommend this deal for the value for money and feel that this could easily be a great hotel and worthy of a higher rating with a bit of TLC and renewed focus on sales culture and service. If this were accomplished, the additional revenue could easily be used to conduct a scheme of refurbishment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshFoodie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave the review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate all guests comments to help us improve our hotel. This winter our project has been to have increases capability and pressure for our water system. It is one of those jobs which is very costly and you spend all the time hiding all the new pipework. But, as you say, you should get a good shower in the morning. Last year we refurbished 11 of our 23 bedrooms. It's an on going task which is on a rolling programme. Unlike the Forth Bridge, we never get to finish the job.

Kind regards

Peter Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed one night as a birthday treat. Pouring with rain when we arrived, but when we entered the reception area it was very welcoming and we had a nice welcome from the owner and his staff. Our room was pleasant and in fact we had to turn the heating down! Had the 7 course Tasting Menu which we thoroughly enjoyed, food nicely presented by extremely pleasant staff and obviously well thought out by the chef. Loved especially the duck terrine.

Breakfast was also excellent with good choices and nothing like a truck stop!!! It made a nice change not to suffer a luke warm buffet style fry up, my husband particularly his Eggs Royale.

We enjoyed a walk around the extensive grounds in sunshine, a cousin joined us for coffee and we stayed on for lunch which was also excellent.

Altogether a very pleasant stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for your review about your recent stay and am very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday treat so much. Pity you had bad weather for your stay but our log fires help you to forget about it. The chefs take as much care about breakfasts as they do the rest of the meals which is why they have more interesting choices on the menu than most.

Hope to welcome you back again.

Best regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just wanted to let you know that we paid a visit to Caer Beris Manor Hotel recently, and the experience was FANTASTIC. The rooms and the views from them are wonderful and the food is absolutely fabulous. We noted great attention to detail and to achieving dishes with great taste and a great blend of flavours. Presentation was excellent, very carefully thought out and very tastefully done. We found ourselves wanting to have so many of the meals again. The service too was spot on. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and courteous. Nothing is too much trouble for them. For the whole of our stay we were made to feel most welcome and we shall definitely return. I recommend Caer Beris to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MicknPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We pride ourselves on having a really professional staff who are dedicated to looking after our customers in as friendliest way possible. I will pass on your comments to them as it is always good to know they are appreciated.

Kind regards

Peter Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just read Matt's review, we definitely went to the same place but I just don't recognise it from our own experience

Location is superb, the hotel has magnificent grounds and the walks are super, we particularly enjoyed the river walk over the 'Millennium footbridge' with the fast flowing river below.

We found the hotel charming in all aspects, its an old building so there are bound to be 'quirky' aspects, we like that sort of thing, the decoration is entirely adequate and bare in mind its a walkers hotel , We took the Wye Suite, the size of a small aircraft hanger, amazing room , superb views, luxurious, too warm so we turned down the radiator .

We too are 'foodies' , whatever that means! ;-). We found the 7 course taster menu , a very interesting and well compiled menu with one course blending very well with the next, incredibly well balanced, delicious in every course , with subtle tastes, lovely subtle nuance's, we had the same constituents as described but had a completely different experience, there's the rub for caterers and hoteliers, you can't please all the people all the time

Breakfast was super too, the Eggs Florentine was superbly executed with lovely runny eggs , well cooked spinach and a delicious Hollandaise sauce, my full Welsh was lovely and far from a greasy spoon. There are 2 eating area's the main restaurant where we ate is charming.

The wine list is descent with something for everyone at descent prices, we didn't have a house wine but the prices there were affordable.

The public area's are lovely and comfy, we found the staff welcoming and lovely without being OTT . We had no wi-fi in our room , which is a point that needs addressing , good wi-fi in bar, restaurant and public spaces

We had a lovely stay and will be coming back

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sweenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for your review and am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do try to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere with good food and wine. We are constantly upgrading the wifi so hopefully all will be finished before too long. Hope to be able to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
935 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,382 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,006 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
63 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range: $192 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing