We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 27/28th October with our 2 labradors who were as welcomed as we were by friendly, courteous and efficient staff. The room was very comfortable and food excellent, We had the Sunday roast on the first night and 7 course taster menu on the second night, the latter being part of the inclusive price that we paid, which was excellent value for money. One of the highlights was an extremely good wine list with reasonable prices. We were also impressed with the "hands-on" owners who are very accomodating and the beautiful grounds. We had some friends who live nearby who we invited to join us for dinner on the Sunday evening and they described the hotel as "one of the hidden jewels of Welsh Wales". Quite right, and we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Many thanks for your review and am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much. Our Sunday night menu is quite traditional so hopefully the contrast with the next nights Tasting Menu made it even more interesting. We do have a policy here of not marking up wine prices too much. Personally, I never mind paying for the skill of a chef but not for the skill of opening a bottle of wine. Even more so now with screw tops! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 836 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a super couple of nights at the Caer Beris on 20th & 21st October. it rained every day but this didn't stop us enjoying our stay, the meals where excellent and the drinks where very reasonable with a very good wine cellarn
The owner Katharine was very helpful when explaining how to get to the local doctors, nothing seemed to be to much trouble for her.
This hotel is idealy situated to tour the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons. Will we stay again at the Caer Beris, yes we will.

Room Tip: All room are of a very good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brummie5071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves, in spite of having to visit the docs. As you mention, we are ideally situated for exploring the beautiful local countryside which is on our doorstep. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We looked for a dog friendly hotel for our 13+ Border Terrier (and us!) and we were so pleased with the welcome, dog friendly facilities - including having our evening meal in the bar with our dog, :) It is a superb location and cannot thank the staff enough. Would recommend whole heartedly, especially if you are looking for dog friendly accommodation. 5* breakfast by the way - smoked salmon, eggs and hollandaise sauce to die for!!!! Stunning location and only wish we had booked 2 nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

I sometimes think that our canine customers enjoy the hotel more than the owners, it must be the 27 acre back garden! Although they are not allowed in the restaurant or conservatory, they seem to forgive us. Seriously though I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Do come back soon.

Regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Lovely small friendly hotel in beautiful surroundings. Very friendly attentive staff. We have stayed twice on a deal and are looking forward to our third visit. The first night we were treated to a 7 course taster menu, each course was mouth watering and presented beautifully. The second night gave us problems, what to choose for our 3 courses, what a dilemma, what choice. We were treated to little chef tasters between the courses too. Breakfast was delicious and so hot and fresh. The bedrooms at first seemed a little tired but were in keeping with the age of the building. Only one complaint, my husband wasn't too impressed with the coffee, but, didn't complain because everything else was spot on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janhulldavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

So sorry to have given you a problem with what to choose - but a nice problem I hope! Our menus do change on a pretty regular basis so this could cause even more problems. Seriously though, so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back soon. You should be receiving regular newsletters with exclusive offers so watch out for them.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked a 2 day break in this lovely small hotel, the staff and owner were so hospitable. We upgraded to a suite and were more than pleased with the size of the accommodation.
Due to the age of the property there are obviously areas that need a little TLC but we felt that this added to the experience rather than spoilt it. We found Caer Beris Manor Hotel exceptional value for money.
The food in the restaurant was exceptionally good, good choices and beautifully presented, well worth the price paid, my partner was allowed to change elements of the menu to suit her own tastes. Breakfast was also exceptionally good with lots of choice. Nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive and when the receptionist/bar staff were busy the owner himself stepped in to serve us drinks from the bar.

Beautiful grounds for walking around with the River running through them and within easy walking distance of the town.

Excellent base for visiting the area. A trip to the Elan Valley is a must and only a half hour drive away!

Would we stay here again.....we certainly would!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Swansea suite which was very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayneandwackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Hi,
So glad you enjoyed your break so much. As an area, we are unknown to most people, but as you mention, the Elan Valley is unmissable. Our restaurant has just been awarded a rosette for the quality of its food by the AA which reflects your comments regarding your experience. S pleased that you enjoyed it so much.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our arrival was worrying as there was no disabled car parking and steps into the hotel. My wife went to ask about acess and welcoming staff promptly came with ramps to allow easy acess. These remained in place for the whole of our visit. This introduced us to very helpful and considerate staff who did all they could to make our stay one to remember. The disabled room was tricky to get to with some narrow corridors and tight bends but it was possible with care and the room was OK, there was plenty of space but unfortunately much of it was taken up with an additional single bed which was not needed and really just got in the way. The rest of the ground floor was accessible and the food was of a very high standard. Getting down to most of the gardens was just possible in my buggy but involved some serious navigation of rough tracks. However the effort was worth it as the garden area was beautiful. The owners had done what they could reasonable be expected to cater for disabled but there is plenty of room for improvement. The staff were very friendly, helpful and considerate. The food was of a very high order and the setting was superb.

Room Tip: There is only one disabled room so phone to book it and to discuss specific disabled needs to see if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you say, one of our three ground floor rooms has been fitted for wheelchair use. Normally we remove the single bed from the room when we have a visitor with special requirements staying but am not sure why this was not done in your case. Following your suggestion, we have now fitted a new soap holder in the shower. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals so much it is something we concentrate on.

Best regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Sadly the bad weather and a busy schedule prevented me from enjoying the beautiful grounds around this hotel. Certainly lots of history here.
the stay was very pleasant, lovely room, and the staff were very helpful and friendly
Just one issue. I'm a vegetarian and there was only one veggie option for the evening meal. risotto.....and only one veggie choice for lunch the next day...guess what?? yes ..risotto!!!
I love risotto: but a more varied choice would have been great and I would have rated this with 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. With the meal choices, I believe the conference you were attending had booked for a budget soup ans sandwich lunch but because of numbers we upgraded the lunch to feature a menu. It was unfortunate that the same vegetarian choice, one of four main courses, was the same. We do have other vegetarian choices on our other menus and would have been happy to have offered one of these had we been made aware of the situation.

Best regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
935 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,382 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,005 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
63 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range: $192 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing