We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely dog friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely dog friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a lovely country house hotel set in its own extensive grounds. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who gave us a guided tour. The room was nice with a 4 poster bed but a change of wallpaper would have made the room look bigger and less dated. The bar menu contained all the usual bar food options and was nicely presented in the conservatory by friendly efficient staff. The dog was made welcome in all parts of the hotel, except the restaurant,including the very comfortable lounge area. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. If visiting the Welsh showground this hotel is very handy and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many thanks for your review and are very pleased tou enjoyed yourselves with us.With all our grounds it's a great place to bring your pet if you don't want to leave them behind. I am sure you understand why we do not allow dogs into the restaurant and the main part of the conservatory. this is for the convenience of our other guests. I will pass on to the staff your comments on how friendly they were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    231
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
91
464
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Friends of ours arranged a weekend at the Caer Beris Manor for a wedding gift.

We have a well behaved Collie who usually accompanies us on holiday so the fact that this is a dog friendly establishment is the main reason that the manor was booked for us.

First impressions going down the drive are of a beautiful and well maintained manor house with lush green lawns.

The inside is a tad dated, although well maintained.

We were welcomed at the reception desk and given instructions on how to get to our suite, overall the person manning the desk was efficient and pleasant to deal with.

The suite itself was clean and well presented, although the temperature on the top floor and in the suite was stiflingly hot. A lot of elderly people were at the manor so perhaps this was for their benefit, no matter we soon had all of the radiators turned off and a couple of windows open so this really was a minor quibble.

The window views from the suite were of the gardens leading down to the river, quite beautiful really, we could not have asked for more.

For our first evening meal we had been booked in for the 7 course taster meal, each course was prepared by a chef who knew what they were doing. The beef and desserts were especially mouth wateringly good!

Our waiter was a lovely gentleman called Craig who quickly learnt our dogs name and produced a special bowl of water for her, we were fortunate to have him serve all of our meals throughout the weekend as he was fantastic.

The breakfasts were a tad disappointing compared to the evening meals, nothing was wrong with them it's just that they lacked the wow factor and presentation of the main evening menu.

Overall our stay was very pleasant, all of the members of staff made an effort to make us and Jess (the dog) feel welcome, the grounds are well maintained and a pleasure to walk through.

The food in the evening is close to a 5 Star establishment and the hotel is well looked after.

If you are an animal lover or simply do not mind seeing the odd well behaved dog at a hotel then I'd highly recommend Caer Beris.

If on the other hand you are not an animal person, as some of the negative reviewers obviously are then you may wish to book lodgings elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerberis, Owner at Caer Beris Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Although we have renewed all of the furniture in the public rooms in the last 12 months, we chose it to be in keeping with the grade 2 listed manor house that we are. Our chef does take a great pride in his food and this does show with the comments that guests make, including yourselves, about how much it is appreciated. As you say, there is an area in the bar/conservatory where your pet is welcome to join you as they are not allowed in the restaurant or the main part of the conservatory. We hopr to have the chance to welcome you back to Caer Beris soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester uk
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night booked via a groupon deal for the 7 course taster menu. The food was far better than we expected, a lovely well balanced and interesting dinner, I would certainly recommend this to others. The breakfast was also extensive and delicious, my compliments to all chefs involved. The grounds are lovely, well maintained, with pretty walks beside the river, again I would recommend. The rooms however do need a bit of an update and facelift. I saw 4 'feature' rooms, some of which had 4 poster beds others were described as feature rooms, at a £20 supplement, where the feature was the view! A river! I would go again, I did enjoy our stay, but I would go for the restaurant facility and surrounding countryside, not the bedrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited this hotel last year in May and stayed just one night but we wished we had
booked a longer stay as we really enjoyed everything about this hotel, especially the
beautiful gardens and the walk along the riverside. We had a lovely large room although the
bathroom was in need of updating but it didn't detract from the overall ambiance. The service
from the staff was great and nothing was too much trouble. We didn't have any tea or coffee making facilities in the room which would have been nice but the staff were always on hand to provide it when requested. Generally a lovely place which we would recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms have lovely views as the hotel is situated at the end of a long drive in a very peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was a surprise birthday present for myself from my wife booked through LivingSocial.
The food '7 course' taster was absolutely superb and with the added 'Happy Birthday' with candle added to the dessert 'Trio of chocolate' very nice touch by our waiter.
The staff were all very, very helpful, unassuming, polite and professional.
Location brilliant went for some lovely walks around the grounds and surrounding.
Hotel itself baked in history and rooms very comfortable with suitable furnishings and new shower room.
Overall we had a brilliant stay, would recommend and we shall be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Room on left side of hotel overlooking the grounds and river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronzefish50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a real find,amazing setting and extremely welcoming,the food was excellent,clean and comfortable, the bedrooms could do with a bit of a spruce up but you don't really find that a problem as the place on a whole is charming , look forward to returning a some point for sure.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level Contributor
335 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just had a lovely one nights stay through Travelzoo, £119 for one night bed and breakfast plus a 7 course taster menu evening meal. The hotel was lovely with large lovely grounds near the river. Our room was very comfortable, furnished nicely with a small tv, tea/coffee and toiletries in the bathroom. Appreciated the printed leaflets available detailing walks you could take around grounds and also another detailing its history - very interesting. From the red carpet as you enter the hotel to the staff, this hotel is very welcoming and friendly. We spent most of the afternoon sitting on a bench by the river, very peaceful. The 7 course taster menu meal was very enjoyable and would usually cost £49 each so we had a great bargain with the price we paid, breakfast was also great. Dog friendly hotel but our room showed no signs that dogs had slept there. Wonderful stay recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Property: Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing