We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We found a great deal on the Living Social website, which looked too good to be true. Driving up to the manor house, the building looks fantastic, and the grounds simply beautiful, we would love to go back in the summer when all the trees, plants etc are in blossom.

We were shown around by the owner, a nice gentleman who was obviously very proud of his hotel and achievements. It’s a lovely Tudor building and it looks like the owners have put a lot of thought to sympathetically restoring this lovely manor house.

Checking in we found the staff to be very helpful indeed asking if they could take our luggage up to our room. The hotel was very nicely presented inside with period features and breathtaking views of the gardens and River Wye from the conservatory.

We decided to eat there on the second night and were not disappointed, the food was very well presented a packed with flavor; the waiting staff were very friendly and helpful. There was lots of interesting literature of the history of Caer Beris and old and floor plans pictures of the hotel in its previous life placed around the hotel.

Our room was comfortable and very warm overlooking the attractive court yard, the bathroom surprisingly modern. We found the facilities outstanding and they offer food throughout the day including afternoon tea.

A very enjoyable staff and very competitive pricing would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 824 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked as a voucher deal, including 1 night B&B with 7 course taster meal. Impressive period manor house overlooking acres of scenic greenery containing part of the Irfon river. This is a dog friendly hotel, but it is very clean and there is a formal dining area where pets are not allowed. The grounds are ideal for walking and there are numerous species of birds and an otter hide. Our room was on the ground floor with a large comfortable bed, tea/coffee and flat screen tv. Well equiped bathroom and shower with toiletries. The bar prices (Tetley bitter and Carlsberg on draught) are very good for a hotel (£3.50 a pint). Now, the highlight was the food.
A great value taster menu, where the chef has brought together an imaginative, well presented feast for the tastebuds. All in all, i recommend this hotel and restaurant, and well done to the welcoming, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcfc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The meals were of a higher standard than expected and hooray the desserts were not the usual boring selection.One evening dinner was served in the recently replaced garden room - what a fabulous view.Dog friendly another plus.The hotel is within beautiful grounds - 500 yards from the road so no traffic thundering past to disturb your sleep or relaxation.Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dthomson41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel as a family of four as part of a Wowcher deal for a two night stay. Originally booked as a couple but decided to take children along and when we spoke to the hotel they were extremely helpful. Allocated room number 1 and the room was extremely cosy with a modern bathroom and ample storage. Down points were that although there were two TVs, only one of them worked and the carpet was stained and ill fitted. We were surprised that throughout our stay the carpet was not hoovered although the room was cleaned.

After checking in we walked down to the river and the hotel grounds were beautiful. We took every chance we could to walk around the grounds and spend time by the enchanting river. We would love to return in the summer as we could only imagine how relaxing it would be.

As with other reviews we found ample choice for breakfast and ate in the hotel both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food and wine. We ate from the bar menu and found an extensive choice of food and priced well. Both nights we ate in the conservatory and although we are dog lovers we found the noise and continual presence of dogs (not all well behaved) extremely intrusive. On the second evening dogs were on long leashes, moving between tables and one had jumped up and was being fed off the table behind us. Whilst we love dogs we also feel that when you are paying for a meal in a restaurant there should be rules observed and adhered to. At no point did any of the serving staff remind guests that it was a restaurant open to all guests, with and without dogs.

The hotel did provide a relaxing weekend away with beautiful scenery and wonderful food.

Room Tip: Room 1 was very quiet and slept 4 comfortably with two sleeping areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincslassLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel, a single night only but was very pleased with the facilities. Always difficult to relate to what people write, but well worth the cost. Dog friendly but still areas that were dog free and wonderfully comfortable and warm. Our warm cosy room had piping hot water, the taster menu was more than enough, I am a large greedy man, and had ample food. I would have no trouble recommending this comfortable country hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dogs very welcome in this friendly hotel. Beautiful setting next to the river and lovely walks in the grounds, ideal for dogs and relaxing weekends. staff friendly and helpful. Food excellent, we had the 7 course tasting menu included in special break, wonderful !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LUCINDA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A warm welcome in every sense! This hotel is in a wonderful situation right on the river, and in better weather the gardens would have been been a great attraction. The food was wonderful, even the breakfast, which in many places seems to be left to beginners to cook. Here there was a choice of delicious hot dishes, with home made preserves and even apricots cooked with star anise and cinnamon!
Lots of people seemed to be enjoying the 7 course tasting menu.

Room Tip: Only saw ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
920 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
62 reviews
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
970 reviews
6.8 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range: $113 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing