We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Me and my husband went on a living social deal with a 7 course tester, which was brill was at room 21 was a bit outdated for us but it was comfy, enjoyed the peace even tho earlier reviews saying about dogs but the only one I sow was the owners which didn't matter, lovely walks not far or maybe I wasn't bothered to walk the long way :/.... But would stay again. The spa there was amazing books advanced and had a full Swedish aww lush it was :)x

Room Tip: Pay a bit more the heritage rooms are basic was expecting what I sow on their web but that's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    239
    55
    22
    10
See reviews for
92
475
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed visited here using the Living Social voucher. The Manor was impressive and set on lovely grounds, but the decor of our room (No. 17) was a bit too gaudy for my taste. We also found the room initially very cold and were glad to find the small fan heater in the cupboard. My husband found sleeping slightly uncomfortable because the beds were twins pushed together. We would have also preferred hotter water in the shower. We had a 7 course tasting dinner at Restaurant 1896. Both food and service was good, though not exceptional, e.g. my husband didn’t like the sinewy bits on his beef loin and we found the brownie too dry. Breakfast next morning was also good – my husband’s full Welsh was not overly greasy and my Egg Royal was tasty (though I found it too rich). Inca, the resident puppy, was delightful but I felt sorry that she seemed always tied to the chair. It was an enjoyable experience as a birthday treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

we travel with our small dog and are always pleased when a hotel is genuinely pet friendly - and not just pet tolerant! we are also just as fussy about cleanliness as non-dog owners and don't want to be in a place that smells of dogs, or receive a worse standard of room just because we like taking our pooch with us - so it was lovely that caer beris ticked all the boxes where pets were concerned. there is only one place they aren't allowed (the restaurant) however if you have a dog which you would rather not leave, the conservatory is actually nicer as it has a fabulous view of the grounds and river. the food is imaginative and we enjoyed the 7 course taster menu. from the hotel you can go on lovely walks along the river, and we spotted herons and various wildlife... no otters from the otter hide, but maybe we didn't hang around long enough. there are areas that need a bit of revamping but you get the impression that the owners are on the case and in time it will be fully updated. our only disappointments were.. the whirlpool bath filter needed cleaning and the bathroom plumbing was shall we say "quirky!". breakfast on the 2nd day was over cooked however in general we enjoyed our stay and we're sure in time, all the little things that need attention will be sorted. our "very good" rating is based on going on an internet deal - had we paid full price i think we may have expected a little more in some areas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelopeandmutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked the New Year package (2 nights) and arrived to a very friendly and relaxed welcome. The room was ready and so we were able to check in early without problem. The room itself was nice although the decoration was very 'pink' and floral - not to my personal taste but clean and well maintained.

The food was always nicely presented and of good quality with the bar stocking a good range at a reasonable price.

The staff were always friendly and accommodating and the three men most directly 'front of house' seemed all able to cover all the tasks (who says men can't multi-task)!

This would have been a wonderful centre for walking - we did some but the rain limited this unfortunately. We plan to go back when it's dry!

A few other points that may be of interest:
- Lots of open fires, lovely for ambience (and toating crumpets) but don't wear thick jumpers!
- The heating was on most of the time and was quite noisy at night - there were other stories about strange plumbing, e.g. "turn the sink tap on then the shower works", but this was fine in our room.
- The hotel is VERY pet friendly (dogs allowed everywhere but the restaurant), not an issue for us as all the dogs were calm and friendly, but not everyone likes pets.
- The main function room has no windows so I'm not sure I'd use this for a daytime function.

All in all a really nice relaxing couple of nights and we plan to return when its been dry to enjoy the walking.

Room Tip: All the rooms were different, all fine apart from the odd plumbing - if you can't get the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just returned from a four night new year manor house party break which included staying in the Swansea suite and dancing the night away at an amazing new years eve party preceeded by an amazing dinner. The food was on constant tap and I overdosed twice on homemade scones and cream! Delicious!

The staff are still wonderful, helpful, very kind and good fun. Sean, Dafydd and Craig made us feel at home again, Dafydd even invented a cocktail and named it after me, it was delicious.

The hotel was full for most of our stay, but you would never guess it as the calm and tranquility we felt were fabulous.

Sean was extremly attentive and I think did not sleep for two days ensuring everything was perfect for everyone....as usual.

We ate in the restaurant every night and the food Spencer and his crew delivered just seems to get better and better. We eat at a lot of fine dining restaurants on our travels and find Spencers menu to be exciting and every dish perfectly executed from the smoked haddock and poached eggs for breakfast through to the roasted gnocchi with chestnuts and black truffle as a starter at dinner. Other delious food we ate there included scallops with black pudding wrapped in pancetta with a pea puree and roasted jerusalem artichoke soup. If I was to mention the delicious puddings too I would be here for hours!

We stayed at Caer Beris 5 times in 2012, I am planning our next visit in the early spring as it is home from home but with staff who feel like friends.

Highly recommended and great value for money....Still our Oasis. Thank you Caer Beris.

Room Tip: All of the bedroom are fabulous (we have tried 5/23), but the Swansea has a fourposter bed and a rol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackyc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

i PICKED THIS HOTEL FOR CONVINIENCE OF AREA RATHER THAN ANYTHING ELSE TO MEET WITH SOME FRIENDS FROM sWANSEA.How pleased were we, what a little gem, relaxed but lovely, friendly but not overbearing.This hotel has got it just right, rooms lovely, not too hot as in most hotels.Very reasonable for drinks food and bed.But the food is some of the best i have eaten for some time, being in the trade i am constantly disappointed by food this was top class.
Also as a bonus for us we were able to take our dog alfie who loved it,the grounds are fabulous just a pity it did not stop raining.Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had Sunday lunch here last weekend (November 2012). Fantastic food, well cooked, but not overdone and good choice. We thought it was excellent value for money. My mother has a small appetite, and, as a pet friendly hotel, they were more than happy to wrap up the leftovers to go home for the dog! The service was very professional and friendly. Admittedly it wasn't busy when we were there and maybe if it had been, we might not have had quite as much attention, but we found all the staff great. And the two young dogs behind the Reception desk were a real bonus! Would definitely recommend this place for Sunday lunch. I wish we lived closer, then we'd go more often!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
8.7 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
6.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
15.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Property: Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing