We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for what we needed”
other travelers have booked this property
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Lounge with log burner, TV/FreeSat/DVD, and sofas Dining room, with kitchen in background and sitting room to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Lounge with log burner, TV/FreeSat/DVD, and sofas
Dining room, with kitchen in background and sitting room to the left
Sitting room and dining room
View of lounge from Kitchen
Kitchen dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen that to the right of photo overlooks dining and sitting room area - open plan
Snug (second sitting room)
Snowdrop room, very large double room with ensuite
View across valley, taken from Snowdrop room
View of farmhouse gardens across valley, showing BBQ in foreground
BBQ overlooking the valley
Gate to farmhouse showing house behind fence
Primrose room, large double room with ensuite
Primrose room ensuite
Foxglove room, king size bed with large wardrobe and chest of drawers
Daffodil room, twin room with dressing table
Upstairs hallway
Farmhouse gardens, farmhouse is to the right, picnic table and BBQ are to the left of picture
Gate to farmhouse taken from just outside the farmhouse
The driveway across fields leading to the farmhouse
View of river Chwefri taken just 2 minutes walk from the farmhouse (within the grounds of the farm)
View across valley at sunset from just outside farmhouse
Farmhouse gardens, showing picnic table to left with BBQ just behind.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jcw182
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wonderful spot, Cut off but in touch surrounded by beautiful countryside and sheep! Easy to get to Builth for basics and great par 4 golf course. Lovely walks from house which was very well equipped - even we couldn't use all those towels! And the bottle of wine that greeted us was much appreciated. Went with friends who also loved our stay though one comment was that my husband's snoring was audible. Walls fairly thin but really not a problem for us. We were visited by lots of flies but it's in the countryside and they clearly liked our cooking! Thanks to the fly busting machine supplied plus fly papers we soon solved the problem. In fact, we all so loved our time there that we have already booked it again for 2017. And we're all quite fussy people. There are not many places in such wonderful surroundings, that have everything you need to keep everyone happy including 3 bathrooms!
A great stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Flies
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Carregywen Farmhouse and for your kind words. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and your 2017 booking is already in the calendar - See you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M
sapcote
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and charming accommodation, amazing location, highly recommended.”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Carregywen is a fantastic place for large groups or families where you can completely unwind. There were 8 of us and 4 dogs and there was plenty of room in spacious charming rooms and garden.
The views are stunning, the remoteness so peaceful. There are many red kites soaring past and there are beautiful river Wye walks within 20 minutes of the door via footpaths with its own numerous animal life on offer.
Facilities are all very clean and new, and recently decorated.
Our kids are already planning the next trip.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property layout (open plan)
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Thank you Sean for the positive feedback - always good! Good to hear the little people had a great time too especially on a first visit, they have no filter and are always the first to spot potential improvements, so even if they mentioned them and you want to advise directly please do. The more info we get, the better we can be. Thanks again for staying, thanks also for reviewing, it really does help future guests and we hope we'll see again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2016
Thank you for your review - It's always good to know guests enjoy the house and the views over the Epynt mountain range.
Glad you found the photo's helpful.
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jemalexa
Albrighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“An Amazing Christmas Break”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Me and my family stayed here for Christmas, 5 adults, 3 children and a dog. House was lovely and large. Great wood burner which soon warmed the whole house. Kitchen well equipped for our Christmas dinner. Everything you could possibly need. All bedrooms spacious and clean. In a great area near enough to shops but rural enough that the kids could make noise without having to worry about the neighbours. Overall Made our Christmas very special and will definitely be returning. Thanks so much

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tracy G
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant - WOW!”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What an amazing place to stay. We travelled to compete at The Welsh Kennel Club Championship show with 5 Pointers, joined by a further 2 Pointers for 2 nights. The Farmhouse is in the most amazing setting, so quiet & peaceful. It's hard to find anywhere to stay with so many dogs, Stephanie agreed and I'm eternally grateful to her, we will return in the future. Builth Wells is only a short drive away, The local pub The Red Lion is a great place to eat, as recommended in our welcome pack. The Farmhouse upon arrival was clean, tidy & had a very homely fell about it. Stephanie has been great from the minute I reserved until now. Everything you need is there.. just take food and your stay sorted.
The only down side for me was the garden fence, not big dog proof, especially with so many sheep near by, but we managed, and it didn't spoil our stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing I didn't like
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairda
London
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend escape to Welsh wilderness”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A group of friends and I rented the Carregywen Farmhouse for an absolutely wonderful 2 night weekend escape!
The Farmhouse itself is very well equipped, clean, comfortable and was perfect for our group.
The location is also superb, being a short walk (40 minutes) to the beautiful River Wye, or a short drive to the Brecon Beacons, as well as being a great base for exploring the many other public footpaths in the area!
The pre-departure information pack was comprehensive giving an excellent overview of the property and activities in the area as well as clear arrival instructions.
The correspondence with the owner was also easy and efficient with any queries we had answered promptly.
The owner also checked that we had arrived safely and sent a follow up email after departure which was a very nice touch.
For reference, we managed to get a Sainsbury's order delivered directly to the property. However, note that the property postcode is within 0.5 miles of the actual property - see the website for precise entrance location.
Overall, this cottage was an exceptional find and is very highly recommended for groups or families.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, comfort, excellent value
Liked least: All was perfect!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing