We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect weekend escape to Welsh wilderness”
other travelers have booked this property
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Lounge with log burner, TV/FreeSat/DVD, and sofas Dining room, with kitchen in background and sitting room to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Lounge with log burner, TV/FreeSat/DVD, and sofas
Dining room, with kitchen in background and sitting room to the left
Sitting room and dining room
View of lounge from Kitchen
Kitchen dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen that to the right of photo overlooks dining and sitting room area - open plan
Snug (second sitting room)
Snowdrop room, very large double room with ensuite
View across valley, taken from Snowdrop room
View of farmhouse gardens across valley, showing BBQ in foreground
BBQ overlooking the valley
Gate to farmhouse showing house behind fence
Primrose room, large double room with ensuite
Primrose room ensuite
Foxglove room, king size bed with large wardrobe and chest of drawers
Daffodil room, twin room with dressing table
Upstairs hallway
Farmhouse gardens, farmhouse is to the right, picnic table and BBQ are to the left of picture
Gate to farmhouse taken from just outside the farmhouse
The driveway across fields leading to the farmhouse
View of river Chwefri taken just 2 minutes walk from the farmhouse (within the grounds of the farm)
View across valley at sunset from just outside farmhouse
Farmhouse gardens, showing picnic table to left with BBQ just behind.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bairda
London
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend escape to Welsh wilderness”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A group of friends and I rented the Carregywen Farmhouse for an absolutely wonderful 2 night weekend escape!
The Farmhouse itself is very well equipped, clean, comfortable and was perfect for our group.
The location is also superb, being a short walk (40 minutes) to the beautiful River Wye, or a short drive to the Brecon Beacons, as well as being a great base for exploring the many other public footpaths in the area!
The pre-departure information pack was comprehensive giving an excellent overview of the property and activities in the area as well as clear arrival instructions.
The correspondence with the owner was also easy and efficient with any queries we had answered promptly.
The owner also checked that we had arrived safely and sent a follow up email after departure which was a very nice touch.
For reference, we managed to get a Sainsbury's order delivered directly to the property. However, note that the property postcode is within 0.5 miles of the actual property - see the website for precise entrance location.
Overall, this cottage was an exceptional find and is very highly recommended for groups or families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, comfort, excellent value
Liked least: All was perfect!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and roominess
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
314gilly
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tranquil setting”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The perfect place for rest and relaxation. Carregywen is a well equipped farm house, with a large open plan space downstairs so all can be involved when cooking, and with an additional separate lounge if anyone wants to be away from others. Kitchen has everything you would want - well equipped. You are made to feel very welcome here with excellent communication about the property. Tucked away overlooking the valley with beautiful views. Plenty of logs available for the woodburner, good wi-fi connection as well. Although dogs are allowed here, we didn't take one but there were no concerns - the property was extremely clean. Lovely area outside with large barbecue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful, beautiful views over the valley and total piece
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmicha...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Farmhouse in Beautiful Area”
Reviewed January 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I rented Carregywen Farmhouse with a group of friends for a short stay over New Year's. It was wonderful. The house itself is fantastic -- well-kept, clean, with a large kitchen and plenty of space. There's a wood burner in the living room which meant the place was nice and warm even in late December. The surrounding area is beautiful; you can go for some decent walks directly from the house and the Brecon Beacons are only a short drive away. The owner, Gary, was very helpful and responsive, beginning with the first time I contacted him. He sent us a handbook ahead of our stay which contained clear directions to the house and all of the information we needed while we were there. I'd highly recommend Carregywen Farmhouse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnacare...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family/Birthday get-to-gether”
Reviewed November 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When I booked The Farm House I didn't realise how rural it is. The views are just stunning! The house has absolutely everything you need. The kitchen is perfect for all you foodies out there (well equipped). Perfect weekend break. I will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and kitchen
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
00lottie
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely house in an excellent location!”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very spacious, comfortable & well equipped. We had an excellent stay-the local cycle routes were lovely. Particularly enjoyed the Élan Valley trail. Great location for a quiet 'get away'.Local pubs & takeaways were also all good.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleventhH...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional cottage in idyllic rural setting”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 6 friends (3 couples and one singleton) stayed here in October. We only rented Carregywen for 2 nights as, initially, we were simply looking for accommodation to attend a wedding nearby.

Before we even arrived, we realised we'd made a huge mistake in not renting the cottage for longer. From the first point of contact, Gary was responsive, friendly and helpful. He sent over a handbook with all the information you could possibly need and also emailed phone numbers of local taxi companies. We took a wrong turn on our way to the cottage (nothing wrong with Gary's directions - we were driving at night!) and I had to call Gary at about midnight. Once again, he was really helpful and stayed on the phone until we'd found the farmhouse.

Carregywen itself is a lovely cottage, far more spacious than I expected, and which truly feels like a home from home. It's very quaint and rustic, complete with a log burner, but also has all the usual mod cons - so you can still relax without having to do any housework!

We didn't get much time to explore the local area unfortunately, but the views from the farmhouse are fantastic and we did manage to go on a short walk before we left. The location is perfect - a really good balance of open fields, woodlands and there's even a stream just down the hill!

Overall, I would definitely recommend this as a place for a family or a group of friends to stay. I really hope I get to go back before too long!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing