We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was exactly what I hoped for when booking!”
other travelers have booked this property
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Lounge with log burner, TV/FreeSat/DVD, and sofas Dining room, with kitchen in background and sitting room to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The front of Carregywen farmhouse
Lounge with log burner, TV/FreeSat/DVD, and sofas
Dining room, with kitchen in background and sitting room to the left
Sitting room and dining room
View of lounge from Kitchen
Kitchen dishwasher and washing machine
Kitchen that to the right of photo overlooks dining and sitting room area - open plan
Snug (second sitting room)
Snowdrop room, very large double room with ensuite
View across valley, taken from Snowdrop room
View of farmhouse gardens across valley, showing BBQ in foreground
BBQ overlooking the valley
Gate to farmhouse showing house behind fence
Primrose room, large double room with ensuite
Primrose room ensuite
Foxglove room, king size bed with large wardrobe and chest of drawers
Daffodil room, twin room with dressing table
Upstairs hallway
Farmhouse gardens, farmhouse is to the right, picnic table and BBQ are to the left of picture
Gate to farmhouse taken from just outside the farmhouse
The driveway across fields leading to the farmhouse
View of river Chwefri taken just 2 minutes walk from the farmhouse (within the grounds of the farm)
View across valley at sunset from just outside farmhouse
Farmhouse gardens, showing picnic table to left with BBQ just behind.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sammy05
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was exactly what I hoped for when booking!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at this lovely farmhouse with 5 adult members of my family, 1 toddler and our excitable Labrador. This house suited us perfectly - 3 double bedrooms for the 3 couples and a cot for little Miss - we didn't need to use the twin room at all. The kitchen was full of every pot and pan we could possibly want to use, way too much fridge space for a weekend and the luxury of a dishwasher! The sofas were comfy, the log burner a toasty warm god-send in the mid-wales winter (and the seemingly endless logs), plenty of space and an oversized table that all of us could get around and the dog under! The downstairs cupboards have almost every board game going, the dvd's kept the other half's of 2 of us entertained and we didn't get as far as the books! The snug was snuggly and escape from the others. Everything was clean and easy to find - loved the hot water bottles on the first night, and their interesting covers! It was exactly what I'd hoped for when booking! Big thank you to Gary for being at the end of an email with every question I asked and the handbook provided was fab! I could continue...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just about everything!
Liked least: My niece crying for 3 hours one night!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossy981
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful country getaway”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here as part of a group of 8 to celebrate the New Year. Lots of helpful communication from Gary, the owner, including a information pack detailing local attractions and services. House was very well presented and decorated for Christmas - lovely! Living room was very cosy with the wood burner on, although the bedrooms were a little chilly, the hot water bottles provided went down a treat :-) All in all a top location

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewed November 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julieo15
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb farmhouse with stunning views”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stay for four nights - had terrible weather but still enjoyed the comforts of the farmhouse - comfy beds & a roaring log burner - nice big kitchen too - lovely place to stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday cottage”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week with three couples, one of whom had a 2.5 and a 4.5 -year-old. The house was ideal for our needs - there was a large kitchen / diner / living room so some people could be cooking but still involved in the general conversation or keeping an eye on the children, another separate living room for when you needed to get away, and upstairs there was a family bathroom plus two of the double rooms had ensuite shower-rooms which made getting ready in the morning relatively painless. The garden was also great for when the children needed to run around and we had a lovely bbq outside one evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely big kitchen / diner / living room
Liked least: Some of the kitchen utensils are showing their age
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
596Neil
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Great Escape!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The house is located at the end of a well metalled track.....no 4x4's needed. It faces south and overlooks a wooded valley. Sheep graze the fields and come close to the house. Although isolated, it is very easy to access Builth for supplies. The house is well provisioned with large comfortable rooms. Everything that was needed was provided. There is a plentiful supply of logs for the fire and it was enjoyable to gather extra kindling, having moved the sheep on!
Our party consisted of four, all bus pass holders, but it would be perfect for families with children as there are acres of space to explore, bike, picnic and walk all in complete safety. We spent a week here and found total peace and tranquillity away from the bustle of town life. To top it all, the weather was great and enabled us to have a BBQ in the evening. A real gem. We shall be recommending this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the views, the space and the comfort.
Liked least: No dislikes.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronaldo23
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Homely”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My partner , myself & 4 friends come to the Fayre Oaks sale every year at the showground, having spent many years staying in our horseboxes we decided a change was needed, this was our 3rd year enjoying the warmth & luxury of staying in a cottage & last year we found Carregywen advertised in the pub the Prince Llewellyn
Well what can I say, once we got the log burner fired up that was it, we had a warm glow all weekend knowing at the end of the day we were going home to a beautiful house that was roomy, comfortable & toasty warm. The beds were very comfortable.
It was home from home.
The views are stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth the house gave
Liked least: No teapot!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback, we've now added a teapot, cafetiere, toast rack, childrens' plates/cups/cutlery and quite a few other pieces of equipment to the kitchen - it's now extremely well equipped!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$38
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing