We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Fron

The Fron
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Fron
Patio area View from the Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Fron
Patio area
View from the Garden
dining area
One of the ensuites
Super King set out as singles
Sauna
Hot Tub
Hot Tub
Looking down on Lily Pond Lodge
View from the side of the house
View from above the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James S
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“views”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

the fron is a stunning property on the hillside with fabulous views, the farm house is warm and comfortable, finished to the highest standard. can`t wait to go back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2017
Glad you had a lovely holiday. We would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelly587
North West England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding propety with amazing views”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A fabulous holiday in the fron the house and owners were fabulous nothing was too much trouble. The views around the property were out of this world and the care & attention we received from the owners was second to none. The hot tub and pool room were fantastic and were great after long walks in the Brecon beacons back to the hot tub a glass of wine and game of pool with the family. Great for a large family to get together. we will definitely be back to stay in the fron or Lily pond lodge or cherry tree lodge. Thank you so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Hi all. Many thanks for your lovely review. We really appreciate it. Hope to see you again in the near future. Bye for now
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lph5
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place.”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Ideal place for our families and grandchildren. 6 adults and 3 children plenty of living areas and great kitchen. All loved Hot tub and Sauna. Lovely outside areas and views to die for. Loved the peace and quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Many thanks for your review. Hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken H
1 review
“Mountain Biking in Style”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our second visit to The Fron.
We are 5 x 50 something mountain bikers (male & female) and we feel we deserve a bit of luxury after a hard day out on the bikes.
The Fron delivered again. Fantastic quiet location with stunning views all around. All the bedrooms are comfortable and spacious and the downstairs rooms are a perfect place to relax together.
Pool table for a bit of a challenge, hot tub and a sauna to relax in. What more could you want?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
Thanks for coming to stay with us again, and thanks for your review. Hope to see you for the third time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee N
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning or Superb, hmmm?? which word to choose?”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

How about both! and Mega Dog friendly to boot.

Ok, so this place really is lovely. We stayed for a week in July as an extended family celebrating a 70th Birthday so had the house and the Lilly pond Cottage for a week covering parents, grandparents and young adults (a.k.a. Grandchildren) - 12 of us in all.

The cottage is a short walk down/up the road and the house sits at the end of a road on a hill surrounded by the most stunning views you will see in Wales. The horizon is augmented by the beautiful Red Kites which circle along with the Buzzards putting on a majestic show. Most of the time the only sound you will hear is the sheep.

The amenities and bedrooms are second to none for a house of this type in the country. Debbie the owner poped up occasionally to make sure the hot tub settings were all fine and to ask if we needed anything. She booked us into the local pub the Prince Llewellyn for Sunday lunch which is also excellent and comes highly recommended (see my rewiew).

The house is a great place to chill and relax with lots of space to either find a quiet spot (in the Sauna or Spa, on one the the terraces or just to sit quietly in the main lounge). Kids mostly played pool with the music on, or played on the lawn at the back but because the house is solid you couldn't hear a thing so you can have different areas to do different things and then all come together in the evenings to sit inside or outside and eat a meal. The house easily copes with 10 people, plus our two other guests from the cottage.

We also had dogs with us and they loved it and all settled into the place along with the rest of us.

Not too sure what else to say really, we all just had a wonderful time, the Fron gets a big thumbs up for everyone, thank you Debbie and husband for making this lovely place available.

Hopefully we will see you again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed having you as guests, you were all so friendly and approachable and it was great chatting to you on the occasions I saw you at the house. I believe some of you are Ukulele players(?), and it was lovely to hear the music coming from the house.

We would love to welcome you back to The Fron in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cerip123
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just recently back form an absolutely amazing time with a fantastic company. This place is stunning and I would highly recommend. We were a party of 25-37 year olds and we had an absolute blast! wonderful views all around with beautiful wildlife. Whilst sitting in the hot tub a red kite was hovering over in the evening sky. What more could you want. Rooms are all beautiful, spacious and spotlessly clean with clean towels and linen. Everything from the sauna to the log fire, hot tub, pool room, roll top baths and beautiful surroundings made our break fantastic. The kitchen was fully equipped to cater for all 10 of us. We even had home delivery from Tesco and Asda! The owners couldn't do enough for you and upon arrival we received a welcome basket and two party sized BBQ grills which was a lovely gesture. I have already booked again to go back in September.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review.

We look forward to seeing you again in September.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PThomas19...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect for a winter weekend break”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Having not long returned home from the Fron, I wish we were still there! This was a perfect base for a group of friends, plus a dog, to meet up! As others have said, Debbie was extremely helpful, giving recommendations on places to visit, eat, etc. One of her recommendations was the Elan Valley, around a 30 minute drive away, which is a stunning series of dams and lakes. We visited the main visitor area, went on an hour long walk, and then drove to Rhayader for a post-walk drink and lunch at the dog-friendly and very cosy Triangle Inn. Back to the Fron, it is a brilliant place to stay: plenty of room, a very welcome log fire, and a brilliantly-positioned hot-tub...which got plenty of use. I say brilliantly positioned because of the views - what a spot! That said, there are fantastic views from all windows of the house. I hope we organise something similar next year and come back to the Fron. It was the perfect break we all needed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing