We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation, even better breakfast and friendly hosts, thankyou.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bronwye Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2010

If we ever visit Builth Wells in the future we will definitely look to stay at Bronwye again.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Siouxie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

Great ! Just what we wanted. Very biker friendly with a garage.
Fantastic breakfast,with a good selection. Room (5) very spacious (even with the bike panniers) with views over the river Wye. Lovely people who made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.The personnel touches ie: shower gel,soap were very much appriciated. Adrian was a big help with routes for ride-outs, even borrowed his maps. Thanks very much. ps ......... Will be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramrod81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had a good parking space on arrival, and had a friendly welcome! Great house and beautiful place. We went for a run along the river which was great. Pubs within close walking distance. We were at a wedding in Builth Wells and needed a hearty breakfast which was definately what we got! Plenty of really tasty breakfast and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. We had a really lovelyt stay and would recommend. Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Arrived friday afternoon the car park holds four car parking spaces.went to my room which was room four at the top,overlooking the the church and builth town centre.The room was a fair size a double bed and plenty of storage and ensuite .the room was very very clean and cosy.the shower is a little small but not a problem...
The b+b is very clean all the way through.The eight of us who were there all said the same quality, AND we will be coming back......
Room 5 has 2 single beds and a seating area overlooking the park and river and finished to the high standard the same as room 4........
Saturday morning woke to the smell of breakfast The dinning room overlooks the park and river again nicely set out..plenty of cerial and fruit and juices.The full english breakfast is the BEST i have ever had in any hotel or b+b and i dont say that lightly and all the other golfers there agreed quality.......only seen lorna and what a nice lady she was .very cheerful .problems with the bronwye b+b guest house that i had NONE !!!!!!!!! thanks lorna we wiil come back again (and with my pink shirt lol)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejackal_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We thoroughly recommend Bronwye Guest House in Builth Wells, Powys, Wales UK. This delightful Victorian Guest House with some original features. has been refurbished to modern day standards. The owners are very welcoming and you immediately sense a happy relaxed and peaceful atmosphere. The position is fantastic - walking distance from the small town of Builth Wells; overlooking the River Wye on one side and the old Church on the other. The surrounding area: beautiful Welsh mountains and rivers, ideal for walking and other outdoor pursuits and near enough to visit other varied attractions. A definite 'yes' to stay at Bronwye Guest House in Builth Wells Wales.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muggery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I agree with many of the comments from the previous reviewer dated July 2009.

Lorna & Adrian are very accommodating & friendly and they do keep a very nice, clean and comfortable house.

The location is superb. It is convenient for the town centre and the Royal Welsh Showground. It has adequate free parking but it can get a bit tight when the house is full although it didn't cause anyone any real problems it was just a bit tight getting in and out with four cars on the car park.

The breakfasts were certainly hearty enough and they had a good selection with Lorna & Adrian focusing on quality and service.

Our only gripe was the size and location of our room. It was probably the worst room they had which is a pity that we had it, as we are probably the only people there at that time that will write a trip advisor review.

We had ROOM 1 and it is one to be avoided. The bedroom area is EXTREMELY SMALL with hardly enough room to pass each other or get dressed. The en suite room was fine although there wasn't a bath only a shower.

At home we are not used to any road noise or passers by so to come to a small town and have road noise and late-night revellers walking past late at night did disturb us and as it was a warm August night we had to have the window open which exacerbated the noise from outside making this room definitely one to avoid if you can.

Had we have had a room at the rear overlooking the park and river I would have rated the BronWye 5 out of 5. Sadly we got the short straw and paid £30.00 pppn for B & B, which we thought was a fair price, but more than the price paid by the previous reviewer who got a better room in every way and more than the `price from' on the Bronwye web site, but it was the price quoted in an email confirmation from Adrian.

The BronWye is a very nice place to stay.
Excellent location, Lovely house, lovely people but.....AVOID ROOM ONE if at all possible.
Ask for a room overlooking the park at the rear (which they call the front) when you book and I believe you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzz544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalesAdrian, Owner at Bronwye Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2010

We acknowledge room 1 is currently quite small, but we do notify ALL guests at time of booking of this fact. This autumn 2010 the room will be more than doubled in size with the addition of extra bedroom space and lounge area.

The room is more than 40 yards from the road but because we are in a town, as in any town in Britain, there can be noise on a Saturday night in August. However all our rooms are double glazed and if the window was closed there would be not street noise. We also offer free of charge room fans for those rare humid nights.

With regard to paying £30 per person. This is the rate he was quoted and accepted. We do offer cheaper rates, as low as £20 pppn, in fact, but not for single night stays on a staurday in August.

This review upset us as we strive to make everyones stay as enjoyable as possiible. We consider our rates amongst the cheapest in the area whilst offering the highest of sevice and quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

stayed with a group of golf friends and what a superb place. I had a twin room with fantastic views overlooking the park and river wye. The room was large and comfortable with a separate sitting area. Very clean and tidy and the hosts were extermely friendly and helpful. They even drove us to the local golf course so we could have a drink. The Guest house is only a minute from the town centre, pubs and shops but is quietly located on the park and river.

Best thing though was the superb breakfast. Didn't need to eat until the evening, and all for £25 a night. If you are coming to Builth I would highly recommend here.

For good food I would recommend The Greyhound Hotel and the Bilash Indian restaurant, which was as good an indian as I have had in a long time. Both are only a minutes walk away

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Builth Wells hotels
0.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
836 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
3.1 mi away
Rhedyn Guesthouse
Rhedyn Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Cilmeri
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 3 in Builth Wells
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Everlook Guest House and B&B
0.1 mi away
White Horse
White Horse
#7 of 9 in Builth Wells
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronwye Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronwye Guest House

Address: Church Street, Builth Wells LD2 3BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range: $89 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bronwye Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Victorian Guest house overlooking the River Wye is located close to the town and within 15 mintues walk of the Royal Welsh showground. All rooms en-suite, with central heating and free wifi access. This property will exceed your expectations! The best value in Builth Wells and Mid Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Bronwye Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronwye Guest House Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing