We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bronwye Guest House
Ranked #3 of 16 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were on a 4 day cycle trip around the Brecon Beacons and stayed here one night. We had a very warm welcome, the rooms were fantastic and the breakfast was ace!. We definetely recommend Bronwye.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LumberjackUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
50
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in room 5, which overlooked the river. - A fantastic view, lovely to watch wildlife from the window. Adrian & Lorna are the most friendly and helpful people you could ever wish to meet. A brilliant idea to have a fridge available to chill your bottles of water for your walk the next day - thanks for that! The breakfast is so satisfying we didn't eat at lunch time and enjoyed a lovely evening meal at a local pub. Thanks to Adrian for lending us a map of the area. The towels are lovely and fluffy and smell divine. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 222Jules222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We spent a week based here, whilst completing the second half of the Wye Valley Way with a couple of friends. Adrian and Lorna advertise it as "the best in Builth Wells" - we think it's one of the best B & Bs ever! When we arrived, Adrian helped us with our luggage, very welcome after a long walk. Our room was spacious, comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean, with a beautiful view of the river Wye. Our hosts recommended the best local restaurant (where they've negotiated a 10% discount), and the best local pub which also serves good food. There's a fridge exclusively for guests' use, which is really useful, plus a lounge with a selection of games. Guests are also welcome to bring in take-aways, and use the dining room. Adrian and Lorna even laid out a tray with four lovely wine glasses when we celebrated completing the WVW with a bottle of bubbly. We thoroughly recommend the Bronwye.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I arrived here for a business trip and warmly welcomed and offered help with my bags to my room. I was shattered and looking forward to a cup of tea and relax.
Just minutes from the guest house there are plenty of places for food and drink, and it was situated right next to the river Wye, and a playing field which I looked out onto whilst having a breakfast that I couldn't finish!
The room was very clean and in good decoration. The bed was comfy and the sheets smelt really clean. Just what I needed after finishing my report and sending it over the free wifi provided.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank experttravelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This accomodation has it all. Location, really friendly hosts, spotless rooms, luxury bedding,& a perfectly prepared breakfast tailored to your needs. Adrian & Lorna recommended a local restaurant / pub for our evening meal, which was excellent.
Perfectly placed for our visit to the showground, we fully intend to return for another stay.
I would thoroughly recommend the Bronwye, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is the best guest house we have ever used. Spotlessly clean, warm, good quality comfortable beds and bedding, soft clean towels, shampoo shower gel and hairdryer provided, well placed TV superb breakfast and Laura and Adrian are the perfect hosts. Very understanding when we had to leave unexpectedly due to personal circumstances and didn't charge us . This guest house is exceptional in every way and would recomend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 3 different rooms and all were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

A really nice stay with the folks at Bronwyn. I'd walked 20 miles from Hay on Wye to get there so the lovely room and nice warm shower were a much needed sight at the end of a long day. Both Adrian and Lorna were great hosts and really helpful with info on local bus services from my next stop in Rhayader and also packed me up with a great lunch for the following stomp the next day. I stayed in London a few weeks back and paid 3 times the price for about about a quarter of the charm and comfort i received here. I'd recommend it thoroughly. Thanks guys !
Tommy

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Builth Wells
0.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
6.4 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronwye Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronwye Guest House

Property: Bronwye Guest House
Address: Church Street, Builth Wells LD2 3BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bronwye Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Victorian Guest house overlooking the River Wye located close to the town and Royal Welsh showground. All rooms en-suite and free wifi access. This property will exceed your expectations! The best value in Builth Wells and Mid Wales. And now,for longer stays of 2 or more nights, we have a beautiful 200 year old holiday cottage too called Dan-y-Castell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bronwye Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronwye Guest House Builth Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing