We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!! Highly recommend a visit!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cherry Tree Lodge

photo by Danny Bulmer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
Settee that can be a single bed (there are two)
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
photo by Danny Bulmer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Abi V
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!! Highly recommend a visit! ”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in cherry tree lodge.
The lodge itself is great- the size from the outside is so deceiving, inside is so spacious. It has a lovely homely feel that makes you relax as soon as you’re there.

Debbie greeted us as we arrived with a lovely warm welcome and a welcome hamper (including a warm homemade loaf of bread which was just amazing!) this added to the homely feel.

Debbie also told us where we could drive to locally to walk our dog with no animals around so he could be off the lead with no worries which was only 5 mins down the road and the pooch loved it (as did we as the views were incredible).

We visited Builth for lunch as it was local and most places dog friendly. But we stayed in most of the time and made the most of not having anything to do for once!

Hot tub was an added bonus and being undercover meant we could use it even when the weather was bad.

Would highly recommend and hope to re visit in the future, I’ll definitely be recommending to friends.

Only issue we had was on the main website the lodges are advertised with SKY but it is freeview that they have and with the DVD player not working, although Debbie brought another over to us the next day as soon as I contacted her to try, unfortunately this didn’t work either but was not a problem as these things happen and I am sure that if I had contacted Debbie again the second night she would have tried her best to find us one. The hot tub and views were better than a movie anyway!

Thank you so much for a wonderful relaxing break, it was well needed and we didn’t want to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Hi Both, thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We really appreciate it. Yes sorry about the DVD player - there is a new one in there now and all working fine.

Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbi r
1 review
“Fantastic relaxing getaway”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Beautiful bright , clean lodge with everything we needed. Set in gorgeous scenery. The hot tub is a welcome luxury. We will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
I'm glad your few days away for your anniversary went well and you had a lovely time.

Thanks for the review.

See you again hopefully
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs_Jones...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An absolute gem, to be re-visited!”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Before our stay, Debbie was in touch to ensure we had good directions and understood timings etc.

On arrival we received a lovely friendly welcome by Debbie and family, including some great suggestions for where to walk our two springer spaniels and ideas of places to visit.

In the lodge itself was delightful, clean and perfectly appointed for a weeks stay, including a fab hamper of bread, butter, welsh cakes and various other yummy things. I found the store cupboards etc well stocked in respect to tea, coffee, sugar, milk, oil, cling film etc which makes a fab change from some places I have stayed in.

We enjoyed mainly great weather, but will admit come 9pm it was great that the tv did receive a number of channels so finding something to amuse us for an hour or two was straight simply.

The hot tub was lovely and clean and Debbie check on it each day, so we didn't have to do a thing, with the outside lights off, and the lovely battery operated twinkly lights on (provided by Debbie) it was a lovely romantic setting, looking out over the pond and watching the stars.

For a sunny day, not only were there the chairs and tables on the veranda but also some lovely comfy sun loungers.

Debbie dropped round with a couple of bottles of wine early in the holiday to apologise for any noise from the finishing off of the new Apple Orchard Lodge (which looks fab!), to be honest we didn't notice any intrusive noise, so this was a lovely but unnecessary thought, but is just the sort of person Debbie is.

I slept so well on the mattress there, I have emailed Debbie to find out where it's from and she has been great in responding.

I definitely recommend a visit here (although I'm wary of doing so, as I want to be able to get a booking again in the future!)

We ate out at The Lamb in Built Wells one night and had a great meal, we went on a Tue and it was very busy, so I would recommend booking if you choose to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Wow, what a great review, thank you so much.

We would really love to welcome you back and perhaps next time you could try the new lodge!

Take care, and bye for now x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful getaway”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Well, what can I say? This place is just perfect. I came here recently with my partner and we had an amazing time at this cute beautiful lodge. We arrived at the lodge where there was a hamper provided for us (yummy bread, salted butter, grapes, muesli, welsh cakes) which was a nice surprise! We was greeted by Debbie the great host who told us the in's and out's of the lodge.
The area is beautiful in the middle of the country side and a short 5-7 minute drive to the centre of Builth Wells. The lodge is a decent size for two people, its cosy and homely with a wonderful powerful hot tub.
It was a great break away, we stayed for 3 nights. There's quite a lot of stuff to do but you do need to drive at least 30 minutes. We went to Elan Valley (beautiful reservoirs and dams) and the Small farm breeds and owl sanctuary in Hereford which is also a must.
We would definitely come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Wow what a great review, thank you so much.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelZter
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection one year on and pet friendly too!”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We loved our stay at Cherry Tree Lodge last year for Welsh Kennel Club show and booked there and then for this year. I cannot recommend it strongly enough and now there is another orchard lodge blossoming close by making it the perfect base for friends or extended family. Attention to detail is superb and the friendly welcome and support is at exactly the right level - supportive without being intrusive. You will not regret a visit whatever the Welsh weather throws at you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
It was lovely to see you both back at Cherry Tree Lodge, and thank you for your lovely review.

Hopefully you will be able to make it again next year? Perhaps with friends that go to the show, staying in the new lodge, or maybe you have the new one :-) !

Anyway you know where we are if you want to book again.

Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julie2112...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cherry tree lodge”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Absolutely fantastic accommodation best welcome I've ever had clean & a fantastic welcome pack on are arrival didn't need 4 anything all @ hand location was superb , & 2 top it off the hot tub was something special thanks will Deffo b going bk again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay! Many thanks for leaving the lodge so clean and tidy, it was a great help.

Can't wait to see you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adambullo...
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge in a fantastic venue!”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

What a stay. From the moment we arrived, it was fantastic.

Excellent standard facilities finished to a top standard. Everything you could need for a stay, fitted cleverly into the lodge.

Welcome pack with home baked bread was a lovely surprise. Deborah the host was very friendly and helpful with any advice needed. She even helped to lend us a rucksack as we forgot to pack ours.

Our dog loved the pond and also meeting Molly the labrador.

On one day we drove up to the Elan Valley and did a 7 mile walk around the reservoirs and dams. The next day we went to do the four falls trail in brecon which was great.

We ate one night at the Seven Stars just outside Builth Wells which was much recommended, great food and portion sizes.

If you go left out of the drive you will get up to lovely viewing point within the military training area.

As a bonus, loved seeing the red kites flying over the lodge.(Found out there is a local farm nearby which feeds red kites, next time, I would love to visit there)

Would 100% stay here again, a piece of heaven in mid-Wales.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it. Glad you had such a great time.

Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing