We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully cozy cottage in the welsh countryside”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stable

Tea for two
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tea for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Tea for two
Well equipped kitchen
This is 'Bella',she's very friendly and loves playing with other dogs.
Set in lovely gardens
One of our resident guests
Stream in the garden
Summertime
Welcome
4 Star Graded by Visit Wales
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Builth Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katy T
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully cozy cottage in the welsh countryside”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Jan 2017 for my fiancee's 30th bo=irthday - what a lovely holiday it was. The old stable is charming and the owners made us feel more than welcome during our stay. The cottage is clean, well kept and cozy and the breakfast pack and welcome basket was more than generous. Views from surrounding walks are fantastic too. Will be back soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Thank you for lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hazel C
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home!”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A perfect place to stay! Helen and Gary have thought everything from the sympathetic decoration, luxury furnishing to kitchen utensils for this let which is situated in their garden . They have arranged it so that you and your dog, if you take it , can have complete privacy, or, are more than willing to give you free range of their garden so that you and the dog can explore further and be entertained by Bella their dog and the chickens. They are also happy to provide directions for both walking and driving. The breakfast pack is also to be recommended! All in all a superb choice of holiday home especially as there isn't a mobile signal!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenick32
Maulden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an absolute gem !”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived to a very friendly host who had left a lovely surprise complimentary basket of treats including biscuits for our dog. There was also a wonderful breakfast pack we had ordered with the best bacon ever.

The Old Stable was unique and a treat to sit and admire, not only for its history, but the way it was restored. All well kitted out we could not ask for more.
There was a garden area outside which was ideal for our dog who made friends with the owners dog the beautiful Bela and the chickens that I could watch all day long.

There was a great local pub at the bottom of the drive that does amazing food but beware, make sure you are very hungry as the portions are HUGE. The locals were all friendly too.

The village was quiet with some beautiful riverside houses. We walked to the nearby bridge and watched the birds including a kingfisher and several bats.

The location was central for days out and we enjoyed the Brecon Railway, Red Kite feeding and the most stunning waterfalls and countryside.

Gary and Helen were the perfect hosts and we would highly recommend The Old Stable for anyone who wants a peaceful, safe base to view the many beautiful locations the area has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Thank you Jenny for your lovely comments. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the future. Best regards Gary & Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing