We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast August 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
“Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast August 2013”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a lovely B&B. Shirley and Norman were most welcoming and lent us their road atlas atlas which was a great help. The venue is lovely for walking the hills and spotting wildlife - a highlight for us were two small polecats that crossed the road into Llanwrtyd Wells close to midnight, but there are wonderful birds also. The room was most comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious and filling. We recommend the B&B to all. Phyllis and Robert

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review we really do appreciate such positive feedback, like you mentioned Llanwrtyd Wells is in a beautiful location in Mid Wales. It seems that you enjoyed everything that Plasnewydd B&B has to offer. Hopefully we will see you and Newi back again sometime in the future. Kindest Regards, Shirley and Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
82
41
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PENWORTHAM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed here many times in the past and hope to stay here many times in the future. the truth is if you want a very reasonable, comfortable peaceful place to stay where you can relax then look no further, the room that we stayed in was on suite with tea and coffee making facilities and a very comfortable bed, You have a very good choice for breakfast, typically orange juice, tea, coffee, grapefruit, peaches, prunes, yogurt, muselea, and various cereals, plus of course a full English breakfast, sausages, eggs, bacon, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes, hash browns, beans, You are definitely set up for the day after one of Shirleys breakfasts! Shirley and Norman are the perfect hosts and really look after you, their local knowledge is second to non and they will be only to pleased to help you in any way that they can. Now for some tips! The stonecroft pub, just a short stroll from Shileys, is very good value, basic home cooked food, good portions and very reasonabley priced. After a busy day and a meal out go back to Shirleys and relax in the guests lounge with a cup of coffee and chat, or just watch the t.v. But the best tip that I could give to anybody considering booking a stay at Plasnewydd is just to book it! You wont be disappointed, take it from us! Peter and Shena.

Room Tip: We always have the on suite room which is quiet and has a very comfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenworthamPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
What a great review, thank you. It sounds like everything met with your expectations and that you had another enjoyable stay here with us at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast. We really do appreciate feedback especially when you have stayed with us before. We do so look forward to you returning next May. Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Builth Wells and Caermarfon is the beautiful town of Llanrwtyd Wells, and nestled on the outskirts is the welcome that Mr and Mrs Allen will give you. You will never feel that you are occupying their space and inconvenience is not a word in their lexicon. Lovely rooms, very clean and a tasty breakfast.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
It seems that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Plasnewydd B&B and you mentioned on leaving that you hope to return again in the future. It really doesn't get better that that and we look forward to welcoming you back again, don't leave it too long and keep a lookout on our website for all our latest offers. Best wishes, Shirley and Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a lovely B&B in a beautiful location. My room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed. Shirley caters for gluten free diets and even had a chocolate muffin waiting for me on the tea tray! Her breakfasts are great, gluten free toast available and lots of lovely marmalade. Shirley and Norman obviously put a lots of hard work into their home including their prize winning flowers all around. I felt very welcome from the start and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. They have thought of every little detail which makes it such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellygreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Wow, what a fantastic review, we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hopefully you will choose our B&B to stay again sometime in the future. Look out for Special Offers which appear time to time on our web site. Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our stay was excellent and very welcoming. We strongly recommend the breakfast and we can't thank Shirley and Norman enough for the whole experience.
We have already stated that we would have no hesitation in returning as we did from last year

Room Tip: Just ask, all types available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
It's fantastic that you really enjoyed another stay here at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, It was lovely seeing you and Bronwen again and of course the rest of your family and friend. We are delighted that you mentioned another return visit, that is what we like to hear, we will of course look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your wonderful rating. Best Wishes Shirley and Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had two major objectives for our two week visit to Wales - 1) doing research on my family tree, and 2) learning more about the country and its people. Additionally, we wanted a stay in a place in the area where my ancestors resided and it had to be reasonability priced. We found just the place- Plas Newydd. The owners of the B&B, Shirley and Norman, are very welcoming and extremely friendly. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and Shirley's Welsh breakfast was to die for. In addition, there were several very good restaurants within walking distances for lunch or dinner. Beside excellent accommodations our hosts give my a bonus - they went out of their way to help me in researching my family tree - and their help was of great value to me. I feel we came as stranglers and left as friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson9933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
First of all I must say how we missed you when you returned to Florida. We really enjoyed your company for two weeks and thank you so much for your wonderful review, it seems that you thoroughly enjoyed all that Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast had to offer. We do get quite a number of guests staying with us who are looking into their family tree and as Norman and myself have been born and bred in this area we are very fortunate that we are able to help our guests quite a lot with their family past, this we are always happy to do so. Thank you for your wonderful review. Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our stay at Plasnewydd was very nice and the hospitality made us feel very welcome. The location is perfect for biking and hiking. The gluten free breakfast was very good and the eggs from the neighbor was excellent. Don´t forget to pay a visit to the Neuadd Arms Hotel for there very good homemade beer.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kalle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwrtyd, Owner at Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We really appreciate your time in writing us a great review. Yes, we are located in a wonderful area for walking, cycling and site seeing and also ideally situated within easy walking distance of all amenities and the Heart of Wales Railway Line. You mentioned the eggs, we are fortunate that we get these daily from our neighbours hens and they are lovely. We really enjoyed meeting you and do hope that you will choose Plasnewydd B&B if you visit the UK sometime in the future. Best Wishes, Shirley and Norman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast
Address: Plasnewydd Irfon Terrace, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overall Winner of Llanwrtyd Wells in Bloom. Food Hygiene Rating 5/5. Tripadvisor Number one in Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales 100% rating. Located within easy walking distance of all amenities and the Heart of Wales Railway Line in Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys, Wales, United Kingdom, Plasnewydd Guest House is a recently refurbished, family run, Visit Wales 4 Star Bed and Breakfast with Welcome Host Gold Award July 2014. A highly rated B&B (see guest reviews) Plasnewydd was built as a Guest House for our welsh family in 1911. Our family are the longest serving welsh accommodation providers in Llanwrtyd Wells, Mid Wales. Our accommodation comprises of refurbished, stylish bedrooms with airy and bright double and single bedrooms providing comfortable beds and modern en-suite and private bathroom facilities. Our business provides guests with our legendary hearty, five star, welsh breakfast chosen from the menu. We provide high quality food which is cooked with pride and use locally produced ingredients. Shirley's vegetarian homemade sausages are not to be missed which makes them a treat for your breakfast and are available daily at Plasnewydd accommodation. A cosy lounge and dining room are provided for guests only, together with friendly staff. Helping clients to relax and enjoy their home from home break is Plasnewydd B&B's priority. Parking is no problem as there is a private, off road car park. Also storage shed and outside washing facilities for bikes etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Plasnewydd Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plasnewydd Bed And Breakfast Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing