We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and breakfast”
Review of Ardwyn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardwyn House
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great bed and breakfast”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The smallest town in the UK has one of the best B & B's in the UK. Ardwyn house. The beautiful interior, with its own pool/ snooker table and lounge, has lovely bedrooms with great on-suites, enormous breakfasts or small ones whichever you prefer. It has it's own drinks cabinet that you can choose from, prices are very fair and Roger and Katie were wonderful hosts. We were offered a lovely home made cake and tea just after we arrived. I would advise everyone that is touring the Elan Valley or the Brecon Beacons to give this one a try, we loved it. Just great value for money

Room Tip: The room with the shower has a double shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffGoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
68
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights to explore Wales. Very well located to take in mid wales. Katie met us on arrival with the offer of tea and cake. Room was spacious and bright with everything we needed. Roger makes a great breakfast and the pancakes with maple syrup are recommended. Roger was also very helpful for ideas of places to go and see and how to get there. So peaceful during the night, the first noise was birdsong in the morning. Ideal if you need time out to boost your batteries. The area around here is very picturesque with some stunning views.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles, Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed in Llanwrtyd Wells on business and a client recommended that I stay at the Ardwyn House.

The hotel (and the welcome) was fantastic!

The rooms are very old fashioned (I mean that as a positive), very well kept and the bathroom in my room was of a very high standard.

The owners even have a small snooker table for guests use (free) and an honesty bar serving beers/spirits and local micro brews (which were lovely).

The breakfast menu was extensive and the 'full Ardwyn' was worth the trip alone!

I feel that I have found a fantastic bolt hole and, when next working locally, I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeHughes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Fantastic location to arrive at, after a drive through mid wales with breathtaking views.
Welcome from Roger with offer of Lemon drizzle cake and tea or coffee sold Jeanette who wanted to stay forever.
Katie and Roger where both welcoming and helpful.
We both enjoyed the comfort of the facilities and had a most relaxing experience, bedroom and shower where wonderful and had the best sleep in a long time, no traffic to disturb.
Great kick of to explore / walk or drive around this fantastic location.
Breakfast choice was fabulous we both enjoyed the full Ardwyn will take a few days too work it off. Definitely would come back to stay.
Missing it already and the walnut cake!!
Wonderful hosts, would definitely recommend.
Thanks

Dave & Nettie

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogersmax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed overnight welcome was friendly roger and katie could not do enough.Clean through out and felt like home will return.Recommend marmalade and honey.Bathroom was large ans shower had room for two shower head size of a dinner plate.Plenty of windows giving fabulous panoramic views.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We arrived in filthy weather but Kate came out to help unload the car and then welcomed us with tea and a cake Roger had made, that was their welcome. The building is spacious and delightfully furnished in as someone has said "la belle époque" Comfortable bed in large bedroom, tasty breakfast. All praise and hopefully we shall stay again, but can easily recommend it to anyone looking to stay in this delightful part of Wales. We left Ardwyn House and then drove through some of the wildest and most beautiful landscapes in Britain all within a few miles of their doorstep.

Room Tip: didn't use fitness centre nor the pool, hence no marks given. We were shown all the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robdnorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights with Roger and Katie. Lovely room with comfortable beds and lovely bed linen. We were made to feel very welcome and greeted with lemon drizzle cake and a cuppa which was fabulous. The wood burning stove was lovely to sit in front of with a glass of wine. The breakfast was fantastic and Rogers vegetarian sausages were out of this world. We are glad to have found a home from home in which we can stay when we visit family. Looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
6 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pwllgwilym B&B and Barn Holiday Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardwyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardwyn House

Property: Ardwyn House
Address: Ardwyn Station Road | Llanwrtd, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardwyn House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardwyn House is a fully restored Art Nouveau style Guest House on the edge of Britain's smallest town. Gorgeous period features following Mackintosh, Morris, etc. All rooms have large bathrooms with either roll-top bath or huge shower, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, TV and DVD. The bed linen and towels are of the finest quality Egyptian cotton. And the breakfast? Delicious! Fresh fruit salad, Pancakes, Kippers and locally sourced traditional Welsh breakfast. Every afternoon we make homemade cakes or biscuits all included in the price. So when you return from your day trip you can relax in the garden or in front of the wood burning stove and recharge your batteries. Come and discover Llanwrtyd and the surrounding area. We have walking and cycling routes for you to use. Secure bike storage and bike wash down available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ardwyn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardwyn House Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing