We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay, hospitable and most comfortable bed ever...”
Review of Carlton Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Riverside
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Splendid stay, hospitable and most comfortable bed ever...”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Carlton Riverside on the way to Festival Number 6 in Portmeirion North Wales. Due to a delay leaving Bristol we were unable to dine in the restaurant but rest assured we intend to on our return as the menu looked outstanding and incredible value fo rmoney.

I rang to inform the owners that we would not arrive until around 10.30pm and they were absolutely fine about this and told me not to worry. As it was we arrived at 11.05pm after official check in time and were greeted by Peter Gilchrist. He could have not been more charming or helpful and was unperturbed by our late arrival.

The room whilst described as small was absolutely fine, overlooking the river, quiet, warm and cosy. The bed was possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The en-suite bathroom was a good size, with power shower which worked and bath and very nice toiletries.

After an excellent night's sleep we breakfasted in the restaurant dining room which was simply furnished and comfortable overlooking the river. Breakfast was excellent, hearty, filling and cooked well. Perfect scrambled eggs, very good coffee too and Mary-Ann Gilchrist's home-made marmalade was outstanding. Breakfast was unhurried and our waitress was efficient and very pleasant.

We were checked out by Mary-Ann Gilchrist, already in her chef's whites, and passed a pleasant few minutes chatting with her. Like Peter she was charming, helpful and friendly and convinced us that a return jaunt would be a splendid idea.

I sincerely hope we can return to Carlton Riverside to stay again, and this time dine there and sample some of the superb wines too. And then walk dinner off up one of the many hills in this area of outstanding natural beauty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    34
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
8
123
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We found this great place on laterooms and it was a great find. The rooms ate lovely and clean. The area is also very quiet at night. Wifi in the rooms. The bed is really comfy. Dinner was decilious. the food is 5 stars meal. We would have stayed an extra night if it wasn't our last day of holidays. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcusT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coulsdon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were given a voucher by our son for a weekend away and chose Carlton Riverside as we had read the reviews for the restaurant which sounded excellent. We were not disappointed, the breakfast was superb and our evening meal was beautifully cooked and served. The owners, Alan and Mary Ann compliment each other so well. Mary Ann obviously doesn't suffer fools gladly and is extremely extrovert whereas Alan is quiet and the perfect gentleman and host.
We stayed in the Chapel room, a little sad and shabby in places but clean with adequate towels and toiletries. Tea, coffee ( instant and proper coffee and cafetiere) and biscuits replenished daily. The milk(long life) was unfortunately on the turn but it had been on the window sill in the sun.
The loo had a macerator and was very noisy and the bath took ages to drain. Shower was hot and powerful, best holiday shower ever! The bed was huge and so comfy although my husband had a poor nights sleep due to the noise outside from late night drunk revellers......
All in all we enjoyed our weekend in the smallest and quirkiest town in Britain!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANTAGE, OXON
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was invited to visit with a friend who had been many times in the past, but not for some years, due to family circumstances. We were greeted by Mary Ann, who is most definitely a one-off, doesn't suffer fools gladly and is one of the most interesting people I have met in a long time! I had the Chapel Room to myself, and was very comfortable there. We had opted for a two night gourmet break and initially I was a little disappointed that Mary Ann wasn't cooking on either night, but her young chef Luke produced two superb dinners, to her creative recipes, and clearly has a bright future ahead of him. Every course was inspired and the beef was the best I have ever tasted As for the chocolate fondant, it was heaven on a plate. Alan's quiet hosting and his expert selection of wines to accompany each course was the perfect foil. Having read the occasional negative review on this site I wonder just what some people expect. If you want super-posh, go to the Dorchester, but you won't get better food. For myself, outstanding and largely locally sourced food served in comfortable and homely surroundings is what I seek, and what I got. Oh, and the breakfast is great too. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHYTEROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wow - wot a little goldmine this is... food is excellent .. yes it is a little expensive but the quality is second to none.. Looking for a special occasion - this is the place to celebrate it -- you wont get a better steak anywhere... The food is absolutely scrumptious !!!highly recommended...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartH330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

What more can I say. We went to the Carlton Riverside with family to celebrate a 'special' Birthday, we were not disappointed. We had booked the four rooms, all were of a similar standard although they varied in size, our room was quite small but the bed itself was supremely comfortable, definitely one of the best hotel beds we've slept in!

On arrival we received a warm welcome from Mary Ann who told us all we needed to know about the forthcoming evening (we had booked a gourmet break).

Pre dinner drinks and post dinner coffees were served in a lovely lounge area with big cosy settees. For the main event we were shown to our table in the restaurant were we were served a superb four course dinner with wine to complement each course, Alan was very attentive and made sure our glasses were never empty! The food itself was exceptional, our starter was the pea mousse with air dried ham that featured on the Great British Menu, wonderful! The rack of lamb that followed was cooked to perfection, this was followed by apple and goats cheese and finally a lovely Sacher Torte brought to the table complete with candles before being served with apricot ice cream and finally coffees.

All I all we couldn't have asked for more, thank you Mary Ann and Alan for an amazing evening we have no hesitation in recommending the Carlton Riverside to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in the Oriental room on a gourmet break. Mary Ann Gilchrist is a lively interesting lady, whilst her husband Alan brings an air of geniality and expertise to the establishment. The dining room is modern and neat and the young staff are attentive. The food was good, well presented and accompanied by interesting wines.

Llanwrtwd Wells offers little for the tourist, however the surrounding countryside is absolutely beautiful.

We would dine again at the Carlton Riverside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eab257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.0 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#7 of 43 in Brecon
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Riverside

Property: Carlton Riverside
Address: Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4ST, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed restaurant with rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Carlton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Riverside Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells
Carlton Riverside Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing