We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit to savour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlton Riverside
Certificate of Excellence
WANTAGE, OXON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A visit to savour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was invited to visit with a friend who had been many times in the past, but not for some years, due to family circumstances. We were greeted by Mary Ann, who is most definitely a one-off, doesn't suffer fools gladly and is one of the most interesting people I have met in a long time! I had the Chapel Room to myself, and was very comfortable there. We had opted for a two night gourmet break and initially I was a little disappointed that Mary Ann wasn't cooking on either night, but her young chef Luke produced two superb dinners, to her creative recipes, and clearly has a bright future ahead of him. Every course was inspired and the beef was the best I have ever tasted As for the chocolate fondant, it was heaven on a plate. Alan's quiet hosting and his expert selection of wines to accompany each course was the perfect foil. Having read the occasional negative review on this site I wonder just what some people expect. If you want super-posh, go to the Dorchester, but you won't get better food. For myself, outstanding and largely locally sourced food served in comfortable and homely surroundings is what I seek, and what I got. Oh, and the breakfast is great too. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WHYTEROSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    33
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
117
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wow - wot a little goldmine this is... food is excellent .. yes it is a little expensive but the quality is second to none.. Looking for a special occasion - this is the place to celebrate it -- you wont get a better steak anywhere... The food is absolutely scrumptious !!!highly recommended...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartH330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

What more can I say. We went to the Carlton Riverside with family to celebrate a 'special' Birthday, we were not disappointed. We had booked the four rooms, all were of a similar standard although they varied in size, our room was quite small but the bed itself was supremely comfortable, definitely one of the best hotel beds we've slept in!

On arrival we received a warm welcome from Mary Ann who told us all we needed to know about the forthcoming evening (we had booked a gourmet break).

Pre dinner drinks and post dinner coffees were served in a lovely lounge area with big cosy settees. For the main event we were shown to our table in the restaurant were we were served a superb four course dinner with wine to complement each course, Alan was very attentive and made sure our glasses were never empty! The food itself was exceptional, our starter was the pea mousse with air dried ham that featured on the Great British Menu, wonderful! The rack of lamb that followed was cooked to perfection, this was followed by apple and goats cheese and finally a lovely Sacher Torte brought to the table complete with candles before being served with apricot ice cream and finally coffees.

All I all we couldn't have asked for more, thank you Mary Ann and Alan for an amazing evening we have no hesitation in recommending the Carlton Riverside to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in the Oriental room on a gourmet break. Mary Ann Gilchrist is a lively interesting lady, whilst her husband Alan brings an air of geniality and expertise to the establishment. The dining room is modern and neat and the young staff are attentive. The food was good, well presented and accompanied by interesting wines.

Llanwrtwd Wells offers little for the tourist, however the surrounding countryside is absolutely beautiful.

We would dine again at the Carlton Riverside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eab257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the oriental room which was large, clean and comfortable but a bit shabby. The breakfast was average and the evening meal pleasant but not really as good as we had hoped. We had booked based on the great reviews of the food but sadly for us the star chef was not cooking for us. We enjoyed our stay but will not make a special trip to return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleecyleecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This review should really be split in two: the hotel and the restaurant. The hotel first; a distinctive blue building right on the River Irfon at the bridge near the crossroads of this 'town' (although calling Llanwrtyd Wells a 'town' is stretching it a bit), Carlton Riverside has a homely, if slightly faded and sleepy feel to it in general, in the daytime. The Gilchrists are genial and very helpful hosts who have been in the business for decades, Mr. G being a welcoming and attentive proprietor who came and fixed the faulty lock on our room door very quickly. We stayed in one of the Chapel Rooms overlooking the imposing 19th century Methodist Chapel over the road, which was small (some might say cramped) and not dusted properly, but comfortable enough. The small ensuite bathroom was adequate for our needs. Breakfast was nicely cooked and efficiently served each morning. However, when the lights fade in this near deserted area of Wales, the Carlton Riverside becomes something very different. The restaurant is transformed into a classy, gourmet haven which has (rightly) won fame throughout Wales and beyond. Mrs. Gilchrist is a well known and highly respected professional chef and the combination of culinary excellence and locally sourced ingredients made our stay more than worthwhile. If we had a grumble, it was that the portions were on the stingy side (and at £23 for a rack of lamb, you want as much as possible) but the quality of the food and the very good service could not be denied. We would certainly visit Carlton Riverside as a restaurant again, but as it takes approximately three minutes to explore everything Llanwrtyd Wells has to offer (not a lot to be honest), we would probably stay somewhere a little livelier next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owenpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in The Oriental Room , which was spacious and well equipped. Dinner was superb, equal to any restaurant in which I have dined including those of celebrity chefs.Our hosts were considerate and helpful and the wines complimented the menu.I will certainly return and will be recommending the Carlton Riverside to friends.

Room Tip: We loved The Oriental Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 944cariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.0 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#7 of 44 in Brecon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Riverside

Property: Carlton Riverside
Address: Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4ST, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed restaurant with rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Carlton Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Riverside Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells
Carlton Riverside Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing