We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't get a better breakfast anywhere!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilsby Country House
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is my second visit to Kilsby and we were welcomed back as old friends. It doesn't feel like staying in a hotel, Sue at Chris make us feel very "at home". Set in a quiet, stunning Welsh valley, it is pure escapism and provided a welcome respite from our hectic lifestyle! We were so impressed by our first stay that we booked an extra night this year and we will definitely be going back again in 2013. You will receive a warm welcome and the Kilsby breakfast will set you up for the day

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 171 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

A return visit to the beautiful setting that Kilsby House occupies and the same warm welcome awaited! Nothing is too much trouble for hosts Sue and Chris as they ensure to make sure you could have everything you could possibly need. The comfortable rooms have everything associated with a larger hotel and with the addition of the tasty Bara Brith which Sue makes and yes, I did have one to take home! I especially appreciated the provision of fluffy robes in the rooms! A fantastic breakfast awaits in the morning and you can avail yourself of the daily fresh baked bread in between courses whilst your selection is cooked to order. I thoroughly recommend Kilsby House and I've booked again for 2013 in advance in case news of this gem spreads too widely!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank ToniHargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We fell on Kilsby Country House by sheer luck not realising what an absolute gem we had discovered some years back. We've stayed at the B&B and the cottage, both are excellent and complemented by both Sue and Chris who welcome you into their home. When we say 'home' we really do mean home because every return trip feels like going home to be treated in the best possible way. Beautiful home in a beautiful area where comfort, cleanliness and attention to detail is key. Comfortable beds in lovely rooms, not just your run of the mill tea and coffee making facilities either....fresh milk straight from the fridge and bara brith...mmm delicious. Easily amongst the best anywhere and for gorgeous breakfast....veggie as well....second to none. If you like company then Sue and Chris are the perfect hosts, if you want privacy they remain perfect hosts and work extremely hard to make your stay a 5* experience. Take the chance to savour the area ...it's a haven for peace and quiet with no sound or light pollution. Take binoculars to watch birds and local wildlife and although we're not fishermen the tales that Sue tells us about Chris and his expertise in this field suggests a little piece of fishing heaven is on the map! If you need a break to recharge body and soul we would highly recommend Kilsby...if we had to choose just one word to describe it then we would choose the word 'perfect'.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAndBrianMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Excellent accomodation in a stunning setting. Very professional hostess with a lovely disposition. Do not come to these parts for a shopping experience, just relax and take in the sheer beauty of the Welsh countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTAC343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Kilsby Country House - one night was not enough! My mother (68) and I (40) visited Kilsby B&B for one night in late October 2011. As we found with all of our UK accommodations, it is best to arrive your first night in the light of day. Because of this, we had no trouble finding this lovely cottage nestled in the countryside.

On arrival, Sue greeted us as if we had been long lost friends- the kind that just picks up from where you last left off. Being from Texas, I loved her warm, down-to-earth, chatty nature. We were shown our room upstairs that was large and spacious featuring two beds. Adjacent, a private toilet room and a separate shower room with keys to both allowed for easy, discreet access to facilites. All impeccably clean and no odors. Downstairs, there is a common room for realxing and a breakfast room for dining. We ventured into town for dinner in the evening setting our tripometer on the car and recorded when to take turns headed back... it gets dark here! Our night's sleep was so restful - quiet and dark. Breakfast in the morning was served by Sue. The breakfast itself was more than plentiful and kept us filled until supper that night. After breakfast, we checked-out of Kilsby B&B and headed to Powis Castle.

I would not hesitate to return to Kilsby in the future and spend more time exploring the area on foot. This B&B is setup so you don't feel like you are intruding in someone else's home. In fact, the moment you walk in the doors, you feel a sense of home and a welcoming that makes you feel that you are not so far from your real home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Are you looking for a base to meander through the beautiful hills of the Brecon Beacons, the reservoirs of the Elan Valley and the wilderness which is the Cambrian Mountains, then look no further than Kilsby Country House. Set in its own secluded valley, surrounded by nature at its best, you could almost become a "Couch Twitcher".
A fantastic warm and friendly greeting by Sue awaited us on arrival. Rooms and facilities comfortable and beautifully furnished. Sue's famous breakfast, if you can eat it all will set you up for a day of exploration. Bara Brith (which is a Welsh fruit cake) is available to enjoy with tea or coffee in the comfort of your room, I really need this recipe. Many thanks Sue for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Kilsby is surrounded by scenic views, green hills dotted with sheep, a beautiful river running closeby, the sound of song birds everywhere, perfect for anyone who wants to get away from it all. Sue, our host was really lovely, she made us feel at home in her home, helped us plan our day, made us our breakfast in the morning - we never had to stop for lunch as her full breakfast really set us up for the day. And her Bara Brith, we enjoyed it immensely and even took home some. You should definitely try some too.

The only thing is. while checking their website we completely missed the fact that the bath/shower was Private and not Ensuite, which was totaly our mistake, but at the end of the day it really wasn't that much of a hassle, in fact I would say it made the experience feel more like home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhiviya X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
1.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
47 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilsby Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilsby Country House

Address: Kilsby Kilsby | Kilsby, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: $40 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilsby Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilsby is a very special place and Kilsby Country House provides fine bed & breakfast accommodation for up to 6 guests in 2 rooms. The 5 star Kilsby Breakfast is legendary. Kilsby offers spacious rooms with private bathroom facilities and free wi-fi. There is an open plan living room and a breakfast room with stunning views. Off-road free parking is available. Llanwrtyd Wells with it's local pubs and restaurants is just 1 mile away. Kilsby is an ideal place to stay if you're interested in walking, mountain biking, fishing and bird watching/ bird photography or if you just want to relax and do very little. We don't allow dogs in the guest rooms in the house but we do allow dogs in our self catering cottage adjacent to the main house. Breakfast is an optional extra for guests staying in the cottage. Please ask for details and special rates for B&B in the cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilsby Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilsby Country House Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing