We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exceptionally delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lasswade Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
parbold, lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Exceptionally delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Emma and Roger were very welcoming,warm and kind to us during our most enjoyable 2 day stay at Lasswade.All meals, without exception, were outstandingly good.The evening meals were taken in a cozy candlelit room.There were good choices for all the courses and the locally sourced ingredients were beautifully prepared and cooked by Roger to bring out all their delicate flavours. Portions were perfect so that at the end of the meal we felt very satisfied rather than stuffed.A choice of reasonably priced wines and bottled water completed a most delightful dining experience.
Our room (Valley) had a beautiful view of the rolling hills and valleys which were speckled with sheep and lambs.The king size bed was very comfortable and the large en suite bathroom was well stocked with organic toiletries.
Breakfast, taken in a conservatory with panoramic views was excellent. There were nice touches such as a wide choice of quality teas,a fruit cocktail of blueberries, raspberries and strawberries and dried fruit marinaded overnight in Earl grey tea.
We greatly enjoyed the homely cossetting we received,the fabulous food, the tranquil surroundings and the very varied local walks.
We will certainly be back and highly recommend it to discerning couples.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ushabenjaminsamartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaff_22, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Bizarre place and rather odd experience...Please note that this review is for the restaurant only.

Felt like a bit like Faulty Towers to be honest. Have not stayed there and would have not wanted to. It is totally dated - old carpets, flowery curtains, dust on the ceiling... It just felt unclean.

The chef and the owner is still riding on his past glory of being the head chef of some London establishment (won't be using any names here as I do not feel that it is worth it).

Food was very average. I can prepare better meals at home. It was also rather expensive for what it was.

The hostess was way over the top. Extremely uncomfortable in her own skin and just doesn't know when to leave guests to their own devices...

It was very bright in the dining room (could not possibly call it a restaurant). The lights were turned on even higher during the meal. Odd if you ask me!

The owner just could not stop talking about his past and all the invitations to do TV shows that he is apparently having to turn down...As if!!

This place is simply not worth it. Please do yourself a favour and spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank XseniaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaff_22, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
The reason we have taken a while to reply to this, is that we have taken the trouble to contact, all other guests that evening. The remark posted is an opinion, from a visit lasting 60mins plus. What is very hard for us to understand is that no other persons in the Restaurant shared this view or indeed, anyone staying with us. Only just prior to this visit, we had, had our inspection from the A.A. Food/Hotel Inspector. Keeping two A.A. rosettes is not easy. He had no reservations at all and he had the same menu?
We recall these guests did not want to communicate with us or any other guests during their visit which did appear strange at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We recently spent a cold January weekend at Lasswade, which was a perfect spot for a break - quiet, comfortable, cozy. Roger and Emma were lovely hosts, welcoming and friendly, with plenty of tips to share about this new-to-us area of Mid Wales. Roger mapped out a great drive with stops for walking, pub recommendations and points of local history. We took advantage of the lovely bay window in our room, perfect for sitting with tea and cake or a glass of champagne (or all of the above, which we did!) and watching the light fade over the fields and hills.

As others have said, the food was wonderful, and what a treat to have three lovely and different courses served with such care and attention to detail. Breakfast was served in a glassed-in room with views over the River Irfon - great cooked breakfast, but other options, too, including yummy porridge and honey. We left on Monday morning fuelled up for our drive over the Abergwesyn road back to the coast and we hope to visit again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnolia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This Guest House is definitely a cut above the normal and ordinary. Our arrival on a very wet Friday night was met with friendly efficient warmth. The two bedrooms, one double and one twin were comfortable, immaculately clean, great towels and had organic toiletries along with a collection of hot drinks.

The breakfast was probably one of the best we have ever had, freshly made organic porridge, fruit, yoghurt cereals, cooked breakfast using the finest ingredients and plenty of toast with home made jams. After that we were certainly glad that we were out walking all day!

Nothing was too much trouble, in fact our hosts were always one step ahead. Our wet clothes were taken and dried, our forgetfulness to bring both the maps we needed was no problem as there was one to borrow.

We loved the consideration to the environment, something that they should be justly proud of, especially as there was no compromise on comfort, warmth or anything really! Just proves that it can be done.

We loved it so much that we have already booked for next year to tackle the same Real Ale Rambles.

Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

if you want peace and quiet combined with dramatic scenery PLUS a food lovers paradise,look no further than Lasswade... we had a lovely room with fantastic country views.Our aim was to do a spot of cycling and site seeing and I must say it is a fantastic place for this.Roger and Emma soon helped us out with some routes and extensive knowledge of the local area(plenty of maps available).In the evening we had a superb 3 course dinner with locally sourced produce beautifully cooked and presented and a different menu each night (good range of wines too).
A nice touch is that the hotel is keen on green issues.
Lovely toiletries and environmentally friendly ! well done, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank odettep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congresbury Bristol
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Tucked away just outside the Brecon Beacons, the Cambrian Mountains are just as challenging, and the nearby Elan Valley offers easy walking without so many hills! The Lasswade Hotel is comfortable although a bit tired in places, but the proprietors Roger and Emma, are welcoming and entertaining (Roger) and full of local facts and figures. The Lasswade is a 4* restaurant, with rooms, and has 2 rosettes for food. Roger certainly "talks the talk" when it comes to cooking. There was a good choice of meals, with a different menu each night. The meals were delicious!
It is worth visiting this hotel even if you don't want to do any walking, as the scenery is spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredCongresbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is most definitely a ‘Restaurant with Rooms’. The restaurant is clearly their main focus and I was disappointed to still hear loud voices coming from the restaurant below at 11pm on a Monday night, especially as I had to be up for work rather early.

I was allocated the twin room - The ‘Green’ room - which supposedly has a loo with a view according to the website. Well, unless you’d count tiles and a fake plant as a view, I’d be inclined to change that statement!

The TV is tiny but the room is generally comfortable and has the amenities you would need – tea making facilities, hairdryer, soaps, alarm radio, plenty of plug sockets! Unfortunately the shower was just a dribble which I always find disappointing - nothing beats a nice powerful shower.

There is free wifi in the building which is very useful as I used it to scope out the local area. Travelling alone makes it difficult to find somewhere to eat, and as I didn’t fancy the fine dining downstairs, I thought I’d look elsewhere. Unfortunately, it’s all fine dining restaurants around here, with a few pubs strewn around. I walked up to one and discovering a couple arguing outside the door and a sensing rather ‘local’ feel about the place, kept walking. Another seemed friendly enough but busy so I went to the final one and, as there was nowhere else to go, ordered some food… It seems that all that’s on offer in this town is fine dining or cheesy chips!

I was only staying in this area as I was working nearby and would not return through choice. There is not a lot here to do and I found the owners of Lasswade to be a little too attentive. I was reminded at least three times to book myself in for next year…which I just found a little too desperate! I’m sure they were just trying to be friendly.

I had a simple breakfast but it was very tasty. They were very generous with the juice too as I wasn’t a tea drinker.

Overall I was a little disappointed by the place and think the price for the rooms, despite being Show week, was very expensive. I had stayed one night at the Lake Country House prior to this so the direct comparison was jarring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adams_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaff_22, Owner at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
This review has been addressed with the Company (who made the booking) not the individual. They are very embarrassed and dissapointed that their employee should write all this especially as they have been very happy with everything and been using Lasswade for a number of years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
14.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
15.4 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lasswade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lasswade Country House Hotel

Property: Lasswade Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lasswade Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a peaceful break in the heart of Wales. Enjoy our hospitality, good food and amazing views. Four star graded period country house. Restaurant & Licensed. WiFi. Off road parking, semi rural location but 2mins walk to town centre. Local places to visit are market towns, historic castles, country houses & Gardens. Stay 3 nights or more and receive a complimentary bottle of wine (this offer applies to 2 people sharing a room and dinner must be taken at least 2 evenings). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lasswade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasswade Country Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing