We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly, fun and helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neuadd Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neuadd Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, fun and helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have just spent four nights here and had a wonderful time. Staff are all very friendly and helpful and the food is simply fantastic! Décor can be a little tired but you do not notice it as you are made so welcome and treated so well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    3
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
22
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BUDE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Second visit to this hotel with our walking group from Devon.Excellent value for money, especially if you are a group and book mid week. You can get guided walks included in the price.
The food is great and the tea and cakes at the end of walks (tiffin) a real bonus. Some of the rooms need updating, but dont let this put you off. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here with our walking group and had a great time. The food is fantastic, beautifully cooked and presented and the portions are generous. Enjoyed sampling the real ales brewed on the premises. The friendly welcome more than compensates for the faded decor and the eccentric plumbing. Visited a few years ago and would be very happy to stay there again. Great value for money and full of eccentric charm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The selection of real ales is really great, the food is solid & filling, but they really should look at updating the bedrooms.

Rooms at the front are affected by noisy revelers at 2am as they're booted out of a local club/late-pub, so bring your earplugs.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for a quieter night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are very few airs and graces about the Neuadd Arms. We arrived after a long drive from Dorset, starved and tired, needing some hospitality and quickly. We dived straight into the Neuadd Arms and then straight into the pie and mash, complimented by some very tasty local ale (the landlord is an authority on this if you are a real ale fan). Good, honest, wholesome food in a welcoming setting, from nice people. Can't complain!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owenpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice pub and the food is fine, but the accommodation is like something from the dark ages. I think the mattresses are at least 20 years old and the beds seem to have been sourced from an old school, as they are about the right size for a 10 year old. Bathroom had no shower and it didn't look like there had been any investment in the place for years. It was like a bad episode of the hotel inspector. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank vaughan_k99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Joined a group to have a slightly different New Year, arrived at the hotel and was greated by the friendly staff, the hotel has seen better days but it works it well. The floor boards are at different angles but that is part of the charm.

I was sharing a room with another lady in the party and it was a cosy room but neither of us had any issues.

We were warned that as we were a large group of walkers/bikers all returning at the same time on a particually wet and muddy weekend we may need to stagger our shower times as there might not be enough water for all of us at the same time. I did not hear anyone complain about having cold water, so either we staggered very well there wasn't a major issue.

New Years Eve was great, live music and the Wassailing around the village was great fun and the band and the drums really made for a memerable NYE.

The staff were all friendly a great place to stay for walkers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAHardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.2 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
15.5 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#3 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neuadd Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neuadd Arms Hotel

Property: Neuadd Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Neuadd Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Grade II listed building offering comfortable, family run accommodation, good home cooked food, log fires, real ale bars and a games room. Facilities include tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms, two Bars, Residents’ TV lounge, Restaurant and a Launderette available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Neuadd Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neuadd Arms Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing