We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surroundings from a warm and comfortable home away from home”

Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Monnickendam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful surroundings from a warm and comfortable home away from home”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Roger and Kate know their stuff and had great tips on days out and routes for amazing views. The cottage was beautiful and we had everything we could wish for and more. Tasteful rooms and decor. Two bathrooms! And a wonderful and warm kitchen.
We also enjoyed our visits to Ardwyn house were Kate and Roger made the children extra welcome by letting them use the trampoline and tree house. We had a truly wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zonvnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed here for a week in Apr and it was fantastic. Roger and Katie are really friendly, helpful and certainly know how to run a holiday cottage. Everything is spotlessly clean and the cottage is very well equipped to an exceptionally high standard. You can walk out of the door and you're into the hills or short drives away and there are even more walking / mountain biking options. The village is a 15 min walk or 5 min drive and has some eating & drinking places and a smattering of shops (the butcher is awesome) and a petrol station.
If you're thinking of visiting S Wales, you MUST stay here, we'll be back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJRLGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Set in some of the most scenic and stunning countryside that I have ever seen, Bronfelin Cottage is beautiful, clean and comfortable. Roger and Katie were delightful, helpful and inviting. We loved everything about the cottage, clean, warm and delightful. Loved cooking on the Rayburn for the 1st time and the views from every window were amazing. Short walk or drive to town with supermarket and great restaurant that does lovely milky coffees and Welsh cakes - Drovers Rest. Make sure you take the drive along the B4519 between Llangammarch Wells and Brecon and also the one around Ifron Valley along Devils Staircase and around Llyn Brianne - superb! Highly recommend. Cot, toys and stair guards kindly supplied by Roger and Katie for our 2 year old.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2011

What a great house! Everything needed for a stress free stay was thought of - clean, well equiped, comfortable beds, nice size shower and an additional bathroom and a cosy fire. The views from the house are really beautiful. Friendly, helpful owners. We wouldn't hesitate booking this house again next year.

Room Tip: All 3 bedrooms have the same fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CCC027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2011

For a self catering holiday we could not have had a better place to stay.The cottage is very comfortable,very well equipped and in a lovely position. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful. We cannot fault anything ! Also the whole surrounding area is beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Beaches62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Even before we stayed at Bronfelin Roger and Katie were wonderfully warm and helpful, understanding perfectly what it is like to travel with a baby and accommodating everything we needed (and some things we forgot we needed!).
The cottage is fantastic. Clean and modern decoration, very comfortable and furnished with everything you could really need. We stayed in winter, so relaxing in front of the wood burning stove with a glass of wine was the perfect way to spend an evening.
The pubs in the village do take out food, and one brews its own beer, which is also available to take out.
There is limited phone reception in the cottage, but my mobile reception was fine standing just outside the front door of the cottage.
Roger and Katie are magnificent hosts, very warm and friendly.
We will definitely be coming again and I have recommended Bronfelin to friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyWeatherburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Bronfelin accomodated our party of four from Australia very comfortably and was our base for 2 weeks touring Wales.Our hosts(owners)were wonderful and their assistance
excellent.IWe would recommend this cottage to all,from families to couples.5 minutes from the nearest village by car,15mins to Builth for the Royal Welsh Show and 20mins to Llandovery for excellent farmers markets.We loved our time in Wales,everyone we met and the interesting history and scenery.A definite return trip!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesightseea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
0.0 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronfelin Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronfelin Holiday Cottage

Property: Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Address: Bron Felyn Abergwesyn Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bronfelin Holiday Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bronfelin is located in the hamlet of Llanwrtyd on the southern boundary of the Cambrian Mountains. The Cottage offers stunning views across the Irfon Valley which can be enjoyed from all the bedrooms, living room and kitchen. The cottage, built in the early 1800s, was sympathetically renovated in 2008 and every care has been taken to ensure your stay will be comfortable and a memorable one, letting you enjoy the peace and tranquility of this area. Bronfelin is ideally situated for the exploration of Mid Wales whether it be by foot, hoof or wheel. Trails are directly accessible from the cottage for those who want to venture into the mountains by foot or bike or simply take a stroll by the river. For those preferring to explore by car you will find some of the country’s finest Castles, Houses and Gardens all within a short drive in the most spectacular scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bronfelin Holiday Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing