We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely cottage in a lovely situation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Reviewed March 31, 2011

For a self catering holiday we could not have had a better place to stay.The cottage is very comfortable,very well equipped and in a lovely position. The owners were extremely welcoming and helpful. We cannot fault anything ! Also the whole surrounding area is beautiful!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Beaches62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2010

Even before we stayed at Bronfelin Roger and Katie were wonderfully warm and helpful, understanding perfectly what it is like to travel with a baby and accommodating everything we needed (and some things we forgot we needed!).
The cottage is fantastic. Clean and modern decoration, very comfortable and furnished with everything you could really need. We stayed in winter, so relaxing in front of the wood burning stove with a glass of wine was the perfect way to spend an evening.
The pubs in the village do take out food, and one brews its own beer, which is also available to take out.
There is limited phone reception in the cottage, but my mobile reception was fine standing just outside the front door of the cottage.
Roger and Katie are magnificent hosts, very warm and friendly.
We will definitely be coming again and I have recommended Bronfelin to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyWeatherburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Bronfelin accomodated our party of four from Australia very comfortably and was our base for 2 weeks touring Wales.Our hosts(owners)were wonderful and their assistance
excellent.IWe would recommend this cottage to all,from families to couples.5 minutes from the nearest village by car,15mins to Builth for the Royal Welsh Show and 20mins to Llandovery for excellent farmers markets.We loved our time in Wales,everyone we met and the interesting history and scenery.A definite return trip!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiesightseea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Excellent Customer Service from the owners Katie and Roger.
Very clean and well presented rooms.
Remote location and quiet area.
Lovley Wood Burning Stove.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian_blackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This was our second trip to Bronfelin having spent last New Year there also. The cottage is situated just outside LLanwrtyd Wells, in the heart of the hills with amazing views and the sound of the river flowing nearby. The owners have refurbished the property to a very high standard, white decor and bedlinen and Laura Ashley furniture throughout. We loved cooking on the Aga and curling up by the woodburner and enjoying that cosy feeling. The master bedroom and ensuite was my little sanctuary away from my noisy teenagers.
The owners offer a very warm welcome and invite you to their guest house in the village for a cup of tea and cake whenever suits you. Nothing is too much trouble for them or the neighbours.
If you are looking for a hideaway, great walking and mountain biking, horse riding or scenery then you cannot go wrong with the cottage. We could not find fault with any part of our annual pilgrimage to the cottage and have already booked for next year. Well worth every penny and each minute of the journey there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This is our third stay in Bronfelin, and it is as wonderful as ever. The cottage itself is spotlessly clean and well-fitted out, with the cosiest beds ever and a Rayburn to linger by in the kitchen. It's in one of the most beautiful spots in Wales, the Irfon Valley, a couple of miles from Llanwrtyd, where there are a couple of welcoming, traditional pubs (Stonecroft and Neuadd Arms) and a good restaurant (Carlton Riverside). Be sure to visit the 'Pink Shop' for local crafts, and the 'honesty' bookshop. Fantastic walks all around (and cycling/riding too, if you like that sort of thing). Roger and Katie, the owners, also run Ardwyn Guesthouse, where you'll pick up the keys -and a warm welcome, accompanied by delicious tea and cake! Our puppy, Idris, loved the cottage too.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarniaCherie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
1.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
#2 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cerdyn Villa B&B
Cerdyn Villa B&B
#9 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
62 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bronfelin Holiday Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronfelin Holiday Cottage

Address: Bron Felyn Abergwesyn Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4TL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: $61 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bronfelin Holiday Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bronfelin is located in the hamlet of Llanwrtyd on the southern boundary of the Cambrian Mountains. The Cottage offers stunning views across the Irfon Valley which can be enjoyed from all the bedrooms, living room and kitchen. The cottage, built in the early 1800s, was sympathetically renovated in 2008 and every care has been taken to ensure your stay will be comfortable and a memorable one, letting you enjoy the peace and tranquility of this area. Bronfelin is ideally situated for the exploration of Mid Wales whether it be by foot, hoof or wheel. Trails are directly accessible from the cottage for those who want to venture into the mountains by foot or bike or simply take a stroll by the river. For those preferring to explore by car you will find some of the country’s finest Castles, Houses and Gardens all within a short drive in the most spectacular scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bronfelin Holiday Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing