We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of Ty Carreg

Ty Carreg
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Carreg
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

If you want to remember what stands behind the words SINCERE HOSPITALITY, come to Ty Carreg. As soon as we walked in, we felt at home - the house is an exquisite treat by itself - so many fantastic and beautiful things to look at! Pip and Iain, the owners of the B&B, have the most amazing stories to tell, and their sincere smiles will make you feel as welcomed as you've ever been.
The breakfasts are delicious, offering a wide variety of choises for anyone, the rooms are incredibly cozy, and, if you're travelling in the winter time, it's very warm! :)
Plenty of fantastic books to read - they are all over the place!
Even though we stayed only for 2 nights and were out most of the time, i feel as is Pippa Morrison is my aunt - who i want to visit again. Very much.


This is truly Home away from Home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineSoloviev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Notts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

On arrival Mrs Morison made us feel very welcome, The room was nicely furnished with everything you could possibly need. Even down to the biscuits in the room and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was immaculate and very clean. A good supply of books was on hand should you not be able to sleep but the beds were so comfy we had no problem. A lovely breakfast the next morning set us on our way. Will return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottsConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Owners were friendly and made us feel very at home. A lovely breakfast and comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

A very warm and welcoming stay in an out of the way home from home. The rooms were comfortable and clean witha great view of the hills. Very handy for a walk into the town (smallest in Britain) to sample real ale and good food. Especially enjoyed the freshly baked bread with the filling breakfast. Would pay a second visit when down that way again

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rowlandsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Located in a small estate, away from the main road through town.
Arrived late (~Midnight) and the hosts were there to guide us to the property as it is tucked away behind another house and therefore difficult to locate in the dark.
Friendly hostess.
Clean and cosy room.
Bathroom is shared, although we had it to ourselves. Hot water may be an issue if more guests are staying.
Good full english breakfast in the morning, with locally sourced eggs & sausages.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danj0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2010

This was a gem tucked away from passing traffic a very friendly welcome and such a relaxing weekend A real pleasure to stay Room was comftable with an ensuite that was
almost better than our own bathroom and suoer cozy beds with great view out to hills
homemade bread for breakfast Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We had a fantastic weekend in Ty Carreg. The rooms were spotless and comfortable.
Breakfasts were delicious. The village is very quite and has a few places to eat. This is a fantastic base for walkers- from short walks to all day treks.
Pip and Iain- we really enjoyed our stay and your hospitality. Thank you both! We will be back :-)
Anna & James

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feria9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
15.3 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
15.0 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Carreg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Carreg

Property: Ty Carreg
Address: Erw Haf, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ty Carreg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Carreg Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing