We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in an ideal setting”
Review of Ty Carreg

Ty Carreg
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Carreg
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Owners were friendly and made us feel very at home. A lovely breakfast and comfortable room.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAPSLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

A very warm and welcoming stay in an out of the way home from home. The rooms were comfortable and clean witha great view of the hills. Very handy for a walk into the town (smallest in Britain) to sample real ale and good food. Especially enjoyed the freshly baked bread with the filling breakfast. Would pay a second visit when down that way again

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank rowlandsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Located in a small estate, away from the main road through town.
Arrived late (~Midnight) and the hosts were there to guide us to the property as it is tucked away behind another house and therefore difficult to locate in the dark.
Friendly hostess.
Clean and cosy room.
Bathroom is shared, although we had it to ourselves. Hot water may be an issue if more guests are staying.
Good full english breakfast in the morning, with locally sourced eggs & sausages.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danj0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

This was a gem tucked away from passing traffic a very friendly welcome and such a relaxing weekend A real pleasure to stay Room was comftable with an ensuite that was
almost better than our own bathroom and suoer cozy beds with great view out to hills
homemade bread for breakfast Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We had a fantastic weekend in Ty Carreg. The rooms were spotless and comfortable.
Breakfasts were delicious. The village is very quite and has a few places to eat. This is a fantastic base for walkers- from short walks to all day treks.
Pip and Iain- we really enjoyed our stay and your hospitality. Thank you both! We will be back :-)
Anna & James

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feria9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My friend & I stayed here. The rooms were brilliant & huge bathroom/shower room.
Glorious view from windows. Great for walkers as a base.
We took our dogs who were made most welcome in rooms.
Lovely full english breakfast with home produce. Stay was to short.
definatly be back again aswe want to see the Red Kite Centre
Thank you Pippa for making us so welcome.
Home from Home

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W_SussexSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed one night at Ty Carreg on a visit to the Welsh Winter Fair in Builth Wells. We made a last decision to find accommodation and were very pleased to find this charming B&B. The owners were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble and the room was clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountrymusicfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
55 reviews
14.8 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
335 reviews
4 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
15 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
511 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Carreg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Carreg

Address: Erw Haf, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: $99 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ty Carreg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Carreg Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing