We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic weekend - home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Carreg

Ty Carreg
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Carreg
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend - home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in Llanwrtyd Wells last year but Ty Carreg was far less formal. Pip and Iain were incredible hosts who made us feel more like friends than guests. A very good quiet location, 5 minute walk from town but up a short hill, which didn't bother us but may be more difficult for some. We were instantly made to feel at home and they have a beautiful garden that we spent some time in. Excellent facilities, clean room, fantastic comfortable beds with an amazing view over the mountain. We wanted for nothing and will certainly return as there are some wonderful places to explore. We wanted to stay longer than our two nights, which went far too quick.

Room Tip: We had the twin (French blue) room, which had the en suite, really bright and airy, amazing views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Ty Carreg is a lovely home and Pip and Iain could not have made us more welcome. It was a privilege to stay with them. They have provided everything one could need and even added extras such as fresh ground coffee and a cafetiere in our room. We also appreciated having a jug of fresh milk on our tray. Our en suite, twin bedded, room had comfy beds and lovely pillows. The breakfasts were excellent with local items and home-made bread and jams.
There were good 'eateries' in the area and our hosts provided helpful information to guide us. Llanwrtyd Wells is a good centre for so many interests.
For so many reasons we shall return.

Room Tip: We would advise having the en suite, twin-bedded room - comfy with lovely hill views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. The accommodation was excellent, very comfortable bed. Pippa and Iain are superb hosts. We felt like old friends , rather than guests. We will return just to visit them! The breakfast was fit for a king,the smell of freshly made bread, divine. Ty Carreg is in a good location if you wish to explore Mid Wales, the roads are good and the scenery is spectacular.
An excellent B&B, will be recommending to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrish1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My son and I stayed for Mothers Day at Ty Carreg and were given a warm welcome on a cold day. We had a nice twin bedroom with very comfortable beds, and every attention to detail. The room overlooked the hills in an area of outstanding scenery. We were keen to go on walks around the area and the hosts were so helpful in directions and suggestions. Breakfast was wonderful with a good selection of healthy choices, as well as a good English breakfast choice.
Overall the BnB was very comfortable and relaxed, and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on avon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Ty Carreg as we wanted to visit Wales and we loved it so much there that now we will return to Wales just to visit Pip and Iain.We have stayed in countless b and b accommodation in Uk and this was just brill. As well as lovely accommodation and fab breakfasts we felt completely relaxed and would have stayed longer if we could.Brill on all counts.

Room Tip: Was so much at home there we would have slept on the sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

A really lovely place to stay. It is comfortable, and with everything you need. The hospitality offered by the Morisons is superb, and we will definitely return! We had a marvellous holiday here. Ty Carreg is conveniently located close to the town centre, but just a few minutes away to make it a peaceful place to stay. There are lovely views, a great garden to sit in, and also a lovely conservatory to retreat to if you want to read in peace. The rooms are all well equipped and I can`t fault the superb breakfast which you get as well!

Room Tip: There are good views from all of the rooms of the surrounding mountains, and they are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Very warm welcome, lovely comfortable well equiped bedrooms, and a breakfast to meet every taste. Pippa and Ian leave nothing to chance. An ideal spot to explore a beutiful part of Wales.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickJTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
15.3 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
14.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Carreg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Carreg

Property: Ty Carreg
Address: Erw Haf, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 259
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ty Carreg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Carreg Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing