We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Fantastic stay. The amazing Lil was so welcoming and friendly. Great room over looking the centre of the village and river. Clean, warm, comfortable bed and homely. Lil was also helpful beyond the call of duty the next morning as I had work to send off providing everything I needed without a hint of trouble. Brilliant. Hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for leaving this lovely review. It was lovely to meet you and a pleasure to be able to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had never visited Wales before but a colleague talked me into going away for a weekend Mountainbiking in Wales ..incidentally during the town's Real Ale Festival
I'm so glad he booked Bryncelyn Guesthouse. Lil made us feel so welcome from the moment we walked in the door
The room was big & bright & most importantly....warm (I'm an Aussie ..in Wales brrrrr)
My bed was more comfortable than mine at home & there were plenty of pillows (rare). I immediately felt at home. We had our own bathroom and the shower was hot & powerful enough to strip all the mud that the trails we rode threw at us.
I haven't had breakfasts like that in years. I swear that all the calouries burnt from the miles we rode over the weekend only just balanced out compared with the breakfasts Lil served ... I felt spoilt for a change.
The guest house is clean, tidy, warm & friendly & I was truly made to feel welcome
(if you're a cyclist, you can wash your bike down between rides too ;) )

Room Tip: Just ask Lil...the lady is Ace :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flasheart65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you both over the weekend. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. There's always a great atmosphere in the guesthouse and in the town in general during the 'Real Ale Wobble'. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We agree Lil and Malcom do the best breakfast ever. We visited here in the summer and are returning next month for a second visit. It is like going from home to home when you visit here. Lil cannot do enough for you and makes you feel truly welcome. The rooms are homely, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Ian thinks Paddy the dog is very cute too!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you both for taking the time to post this lovely review. We're looking forward to seeing you again in a couple of weeks. It's always rewarding when guests return and as you two are always happy and smiling, it's a pleasure to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

After taking the scenic route from Llandovery, around the awesome Llyn Brianne and down the almost vertical Devil's Staircase, we were glad of the warm welcome and a restful stay at Bryncelyn Guesthouse. Our large twin room contained an extremely comfortable double and single bed, sink, tea and coffee making facilities, tv with dvd player, plenty of hanging space/drawers and was absolutely spotless and clean. The whole house was warm and really homely. We had a private bathroom, across the landing, but that was absolutely no problem at all, after all this is an original Victorian house B&B and not a modern hotel. We even had a selection of bathrobes to use in case we hadn't brought our own.
Lovely breakfast, and lovely landlady, nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommend as a base for exploring the wilds and small towns of mid wales.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltshireBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay. Llanwrtyd Wells and the surrounding area is particularly beautiful at this time of year. We really do appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the moment we arrived we found the service to be excellent, from assistance with where to park and put our bikes to showing us to the room and giving information on their DVD collection and where we could eat. There was also a small honesty bar in the reception which I thought was a great touch.

The room was very clean and well made up and the shower was excellent with a good number of towels for our use as well as various toiletries.

Breakfast was delicious, probably the best I've had in a number of years. The bacon was divine and the fried bread cooked to perfection.

The only small improvement I think I could suggest is that it would be nice if there was a mounting point to lock a bike chain to, though where we left the bikes was out of sight and there was a dog nearby so probably not a big deal.

Room Tip: We were in room one which had a double and a single bed as well as a bath and a shower. No view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we appreciate your favourable comments, particularly with regards to your room and breakfast. We cook our breakfasts to order and also prepare early breakfasts if required.

We do have a small shed to store some bikes but as we accommodate more and more cyclists recently we will look at installing a mounting block to secure bikes in the yard.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked a night here for a mountain biking expedition and we felt that the service here was amazing, we had good suggestions for evening eating, the rooms were spotless and comfortable, and most of all the breakfast we had was better than what we had at any other place that we stayed in the trip. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keiron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and we'er delighted you enjoyed your experience. It's always heartwarming to get positive feedback as it rewards the effort we make to ensure guests have a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lil and Malcolm are wonderful hosts! Everything is fantastic ( the rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast is to die for including scrumy home made fruit salad). I am coeliac and Lil provides gluten free toast (she even has a seperate toaster!) We fell in love with this guest house last September and have visited a further 3 times to date! & will definaltely be back (again) soon!

Traci & Andy Salisbury

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you both for your lovely review. It's great to have guests return time and time again and it really feels as if we are welcoming friends rather than guests.

Some members of my family are coeliac so I understand the importance of keeping gluten free foods separate because of cross contamination.

We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Llanwrtyd Wells hotels
0.3 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#2 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
Bronfelin Holiday Cottage
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Really Cool Studios and Accommod...
#10 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryncelyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryncelyn Guesthouse

Address: Dolecoed Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range: $82 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryncelyn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryncelyn Guesthouse, in beautiful Llanwrtyd Wells, is a 4 star family run guest house providing ideal accommodation while attending one of the local festivals either here in Llanwrtyd Wells or in the nearby towns of Builth Wells and Llandovery. All rooms are either ensuite or have private bathrooms. Guest rooms have TV, DVD player and tea & coffee making facilities. We are in the heart of the smallest town in Britain (with a population of 600) with restaurants, pubs and shops on the doorstep. We have offroad parking for our guests. Price includes full breakfast, either Welsh or the option of a Continental. The town is surrounded by beautiful countryside with rolling hills and it's famous for wacky events such as World Championship Bog Snorkeling and Man versus Horse Marathon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bryncelyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryncelyn Guesthouse Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing