We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate room, friendly service, delicious breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Immaculate room, friendly service, delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the moment we arrived we found the service to be excellent, from assistance with where to park and put our bikes to showing us to the room and giving information on their DVD collection and where we could eat. There was also a small honesty bar in the reception which I thought was a great touch.

The room was very clean and well made up and the shower was excellent with a good number of towels for our use as well as various toiletries.

Breakfast was delicious, probably the best I've had in a number of years. The bacon was divine and the fried bread cooked to perfection.

The only small improvement I think I could suggest is that it would be nice if there was a mounting point to lock a bike chain to, though where we left the bikes was out of sight and there was a dog nearby so probably not a big deal.

Room Tip: We were in room one which had a double and a single bed as well as a bath and a shower. No view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we appreciate your favourable comments, particularly with regards to your room and breakfast. We cook our breakfasts to order and also prepare early breakfasts if required.

We do have a small shed to store some bikes but as we accommodate more and more cyclists recently we will look at installing a mounting block to secure bikes in the yard.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
48
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked a night here for a mountain biking expedition and we felt that the service here was amazing, we had good suggestions for evening eating, the rooms were spotless and comfortable, and most of all the breakfast we had was better than what we had at any other place that we stayed in the trip. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us and we'er delighted you enjoyed your experience. It's always heartwarming to get positive feedback as it rewards the effort we make to ensure guests have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lil and Malcolm are wonderful hosts! Everything is fantastic ( the rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfast is to die for including scrumy home made fruit salad). I am coeliac and Lil provides gluten free toast (she even has a seperate toaster!) We fell in love with this guest house last September and have visited a further 3 times to date! & will definaltely be back (again) soon!

Traci & Andy Salisbury

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you both for your lovely review. It's great to have guests return time and time again and it really feels as if we are welcoming friends rather than guests.

Some members of my family are coeliac so I understand the importance of keeping gluten free foods separate because of cross contamination.

We hope to see you soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked a few days away in Wales, online, to stay at Bryncelyn Guesthouse. I was e-mailed back almost straight away by Lil confirming my booking and that she was looking forward to meeting us. It was a really nice touch. We arrived at the Guesthouse and was welcomed by Lil - What a kind lady. She showed us to our room and made us feel extremely welcome. I would highly recommend staying at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, it is in a beautiful location, within easy reach of local attractions, nice clean rooms and a friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityexplorer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. We have the Alternative Games in full swing at the moment which is great fun and is attracting a large amount of participants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we are a family of 4 and have just returned from staying at the guesthouse and we didnt feel like a guest but more like part of the family. welcoming, set our room up with safety gates as we have our 22month old with us. we had the attic room and it was perfect both children had enough room to move around and so perfectly laid out and clean with microwave kettle as much tea and coffee as we like and a personnel touch of a pint of milk in the fridge (just what you need when u have just had a 3 hour journey ). breakfast was amazing and lots of filled us up till we got back home. Thank you so much and we will return in november.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECKETTS2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet your family at the weekend and to welcome you to Bryncelyn. I'm glad you were comfortable in our 'Attic Flat' which is spacious and ideal for families or groups of 4 adults as long as guests are fit and able for the 3 flights of stairs! We look forward to seeing you all later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Fantastic stay in this lovely B and B with friendly, welcoming hosts. Room was huge and very comfortable. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. Perfectly placed for exploring this lovely town and surrounding area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We booked directly with the guesthouse and chose room 7 which was spacious, nicely decorated and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happylass_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our area is famous for events such as 'Man versus Horse' and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2012

One of the best B&Bs I have stayed in for a long time Very friendly and welcoming. Lovely room -comfortable, clean and cosy. Excellent breakfast. Will definitely come again. Tks Lil

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevHy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thanks for your review of our bed and breakfast. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in our single room. I look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanwrtyd Wells
4.4 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lasswade Country House Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Carreg
Ty Carreg
#3 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belle Vue Hotel
Belle Vue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Llanwrtyd Wells
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardwyn House
Ardwyn House
#1 of 16 in Llanwrtyd Wells
127 reviews
10.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llandovery
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryncelyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryncelyn Guesthouse

Property: Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Address: Dolecoed Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryncelyn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryncelyn Guesthouse, in beautiful Llanwrtyd Wells, is a 4 star family run guest house providing ideal accommodation while attending one of the local festivals either here in Llanwrtyd Wells or in the nearby towns of Builth Wells and Llandovery. All rooms are either ensuite or have private bathrooms. Guest rooms have TV, DVD player and tea & coffee making facilities. We are in the heart of the smallest town in Britain (with a population of 600) with restaurants, pubs and shops on the doorstep. We have offroad parking for our guests. Price includes full breakfast, either Welsh or the option of a Continental. The town is surrounded by beautiful countryside with rolling hills and it's famous for wacky events such as World Championship Bog Snorkeling and Man versus Horse Marathon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bryncelyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryncelyn Guesthouse Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing