We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing stay.”
Review of Glen Usk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Usk Hotel
Reviewed October 20, 2010

i stayed in the hotel for three nights and although the the fixtures and fittings have seen better days. i found everywhere to be very clean and the staff always helpful. the menu epecially for dinner was good as was the food.i have read other reviews for this hotel and wonder if we were talking about the same place. as i couldnt fault it and it was certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank maggoo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 270 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2010

We had checked out one hotel in town and it's rooms were appalling and as it was getting late we ended up here. The room itself was large enough but so run down. The corridoor to our room was up and downhill all the way. There was also a massive number of senior citizens staying on a bus tour, could barely get a spot for breakfast. The staff weren't interested in serving us .. it was obvious they were too busy trying to feed the horde and get rid of them. Another couple missed out on breakfast all together - as soon as the seniors left everything was cleared away. Although there was a menu for a cooked breakfast the continental selection consisted of massive bowls of bran and the cereal was spread all over the serving area. Stay here as a last resort!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katorcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the exit! The whole hotel is like stepping back in time, from the dated rooms to the retro restaurant menu. The room was drafty and dark which was not helped by the dark worn furniture. The bathroom had carpet which is a definite no no for any hotel as well as the shower that is not adjustable and scolded you.
The saving grace for the hotel was the staff, from the waiters to the barmaid but it is a shame the manager doesn't take a leaf out of her staffs books as i found her to be quite unhelpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel through a value weekend break by coach through National Holidays, the break was excellent value and this hotel was the one chosen by National for the whole coach party of 42.
Looking at some of these reviews they are total bollocks, the hotel is in need of decoration but in my opinion should not look like the Ramada Plaza or the Midland in Manchester as it would not suit the surrounding area, nor should it look like one of these fairy looking places with open shelves, no proper shower base, purple lights, leather chairs that hurt your back.. because there is no back on the chair, and beer sells at £5 a pint, you know, the one where you order a round for 2 people and it's about 9 quid !
These people need to look at the price they are paying and not expect a 5 star hotel for under a £40 a shot per night.
It does need decoration but has anybody considered it is probably that well used and popular with several coach companies there may be little time to close it, it may have to be redecorated in sections, probably then the same bods would complain about the smell of paint !! or find other things to complain about. and up would go the price for all this.
The meal we had was excellent, both the evening meal and the breakfast.
I had firstly orange juice then French soup, then hotpot (this was really good) followed by cheesecake served by friendly staff, the breakfast was just as good served again by waiters, and not one of these hotels where you line up behind each other like the checkout at Asda.
This was a weekend break so it was Saturday Night and Sunday morning breakfast.
I have stayed in hotels with a far higher grade or rating than this and they have been worse by far and that's in the uk.
If you want a basic cheaper hotel, that's clean with good wholesome food and cheaper drinks this one is fine.
Park your Ford Fiesta outside not the Aston Martin DB9, there is parking, does this paint the picture ?? Dead basic, but clean with 60`s decoration in need of a gloss but no detriment to service.

Bob Mclintock (Bolton)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BoltonFlowerpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food was very good and a good variety. The location of the Hotel was also good as a base for visiting the local attractions etc. I think the hotel just needs a litle uplift in the decor in keeping with the Victorian age of this Hotel and perhaps a few more draw space for clothes etc. The beds were very comfortable though and we had a good few nights sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed in 2 rooms. First one looked out onto a derilict building and the kitchen extractor fan went off about 11.30pm and came back on about 5.15am little sleep. Second room on 3rd floor had faulty shower, thermostat control did not work and anybody could easily have been scolded. Wallpaper peeling off, sink cabinet made of contiplas and this was falling apart. Carpets throughout needed replaced it was like flattened shagpile. Bed linen was clean. Holiday people beware.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank headmaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Food - awful, pre cooked and warmed up.
Ambience - like living in an Old Peoples Home
Smell - of gone off fried food.
Carpets in room - stained, old and smelly
Acoustics - dreadful
Stairs - rickety
Car Park - non existant
Customer service - what's that?
If the rooms had been free it would be still too much to pay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sdewhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
239 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
920 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#14 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#4 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $46 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Usk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing