We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value at the Glen Usk”
Review of Glen Usk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Usk Hotel
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed at the Glen Usk for one night whilst in the area on business and was pleasantly surprised. Yes the decor is a little dated and some of the furnishings are well worn, but its extremely clean and the twin room I stayed in was spacious. The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of town. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was more than adequate. Beds were comfortable although I found the pillows very hard. The car park was tiny but almost empty during my stay as the hotel appeared to be mainly occupied by pensioners on a coach trip. Its not 5 star luxury but for £30 per night what do you expect?

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happylass_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Glen Usk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed for 1 night (fortunately) on a National Holidays weekend away(Shrewsbury-Hereford). Llandrindod Wells is a backwater and the hotel had seen better days. Decor was from mid-1970's with a substantial amount of wallpaper coming away from the walls and stains on the ceiling. Our room was situated at the back of the hotel near to pigeon alley who had their own hotel above our window. The windows had not been cleaned in over 12 months or maybe since the 1970's! However, the room was clean and the bedding was crisp and white. The bathroom had a carpeted floor but to be fair this did not smell although the shower unit did have some mould around the doors and it needed a new basin. We did not have the heating on in the bedroom as it was warm without.

The staff were fine and attentive in the dining room. For what we paid the food choice was reasonable, the food itself left a lot to be desired. It was edible, just. There is nowhere else to eat within the area. We would certainly not stay at this hotel for more than 1 night. We cannot comment on the entertainment but we did sit in the large bar/lounge area, which was laid out in rows of settees and armchairs. The seating area looked as though they had bought a job lot from one of the charity shops and no more than 4-5 seats of the same design.

You have to remember that this was a weekend coach trip and you get what you pay for. Note for those who wish to book a National Holidays trip to Hereford in order to see the Mappa Mundi, its closed on a Sunday. Check with Cathedral in advance. National Holidays should consider changing Hereford to the Saturday and Shrewsbury to the Sunday and possibly moving the hotel venue to somewhere near Worcester.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank timperley-trotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Sorry this hotel was passed its sell by date!!! badly in need of a refurbishment .I know its a budget hotel but a tin of paint and a few rolls of wallpaper would make a big big difference .I can say the bathroom was clean and bed linen white and smelled of bleach but the overall picture was not for me .So many coach tours use this hotel i think its 79 rooms are fully booked most of the time i cannot remember the name of the company that own the hotel but they also arrange these coach tours ,maybe next year they will invest a little money back into the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank battlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2007

Stayed: April 2007
3  Thank Takieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Wolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: de kamers zijn oud en versleten een typisch engels hotel met veel oudjes als gast
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
238 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
#14 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#26 of 31 in Llandrindod Wells
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $47 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen Usk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing