We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Usk Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Metropole Hotel(Llandrindod Wells)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Commodore(Llandrindod Wells)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Guesthouse(Builth Wells)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Guest House(Builth Wells)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liverpool House(Rhayader)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Inn(Rhayader)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Country House & Spa(Llangammarch Wells)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Llangoed Hall(Llyswen)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveler rating
51
111
64
32
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
111
64
32
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand ukcoach partyevening entertainmentcoach holidayturkey and tinselmystery tourenjoyable holidayold victorianhot waterbit datedfunction roomkippersfirst floorsingle roomsense of humourroom was clean and comfortableweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 290 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I paid so little for my 3-night room-only stay that I feel rather churlish submitting a negative report. But I'm afraid this hotel has slipped down past the 'faded grandeur' category to a level that I personally don't find acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IanCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I really was very sorry to read your comments, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of what more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Firstly we were charged £100 per room due to late rooms. This wasn't resolvable. The room was beyond dated, head board stained from 1000's of sweaty back from years of use, the bathroom was clean, but very poor indeed, the windows had to be propped with what ever was to hand, such as bathroom bin, tv (that didn't work anyway) remote as all the sash cords were broken. This was a mini heatwave, thus really needed fresh air. The bathroom towel rail was on and very hot, but you can't switch off!! This is a very very tired hotel, feels like you'd imagine a DSS hotel.
Now breakfast, given the look and feel of the hotel you can imagine the quality of food, so scrambled egg on toast & coffee felt safe, no, I was wrong. The scrambled egg was cut from a tray, tasted horrible and the coffee was undrinkable.
Never ever again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thelastleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I really was very sorry to read your comments, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of what more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Whilst we know we have improvements to make around the hotel, we really do pride ourselves on our quality of food and hospitality so I was very sorry to learn that the food quality did not meet your expectations on this occasion. This was particularly surprising as we have continued to receive good comments about the food provided. Again I am sorry that you did not feel this was the case.

Please be assured that all of your comments have been taken on board and we are sorry that you do not feel able to return to us again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at the Glen Usk. It may be a budget hotel but it does not lack that special bit of attention that makes your stay enjoyable. The hotel may be a little worn but clean rooms, good food, great staff and a nice little terrace to enjoy your drinks on mke up for worn carpets and furniture. Overall we had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team at the hotel who will be pleased to read them.

We agreed that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling programme, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We do hope that you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Recent trip with National Holidays for four nights. Food on this half board deal was well above average for coach trips. Very freindly staff who go out of the way to please. Even stocked Welsh Micro Brewery Bottled Beers for us during our stay, they said just tell us what you like and stocked it. Nice beds, room was a fair size. Helen the manager is a gem.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geoffrey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team at the hotel who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stopped here on a National Holiday weekend no complaints at all,luckily we dropped on a front room with view which was nice .The room was spacious and clean,one of the most comfiest beds i have ever slept in,plenty of tea and coffee which we took advantage of.Good choice for you evening meal and very nice so was breakfast ,staff seemed to now what they were doing.One little thing was that there were three bus parties in at the same time I know we all had different dining times,we were the first but as you know when it is feeding time we dont listen to much especially when we are told to sit at certain tables.It may be an idea to put different coloured serviettes on the relevent tables for each bus party us oblivious guests maybe able to understand instructions as well as colours.This will hopefully help your greeter in the dining room do his job like he wanted to do and not chase us about.On that note i will definately use this hotel again as a base as it is good value for money and is in the perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wezer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive and constructive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team at the hotel who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews