We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
81
73
44
29
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
73
44
29
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee machine new owners ongoing refurbishment serving breakfast lovely building roaring open fire middle of town nothing too much trouble lovely atmosphere night's sleep coach trip warm welcome excellent food mid wales yogurt andrea wedding
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 271 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

The outer fabric of his historic, privately owned hotel is stunning, but it does need some TLC. Inside its easy to see that the current refurbishment programme could not come too soon. They have an ongoing schedule of upgrading rooms and I was told that early in 2019 they have big plans for the ground floor to be opened up.
Our room in the annexe was basic but ok for our needs.
We were part of a coach trip, using the Hotel Commodore as a base and I have to say that the management and staff were fantastic. Everyone was very friendly and obliging.
But it was the food that got my vote.
Its never easy to seat and serve 40 people at the same time, but they have got it right. At the buffet breakfast, we were given the menu for the evening meal and could choose from 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 sweets.
The quality and presentation of the food were excellent.
I know there are some problems with the hotel, but in my book, the positives outweigh the negatives.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyRTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights recently but we were not in one of the refurbished rooms and had minor problems with shower which were quickly resolved. The hotel definitely needs to continue its updating schedule to bring such a lovely building back to glory. However the food was a good average and the staff very helpful. We were not troubled by noise from the pub next door fortunately and the hotel is in a good location for exploring the town and area

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marjorie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We have stayed at Hotel Commodore on a few occasions. This review is hard to write as in the past we have had EXCELLENT service. In fact the service never fails, hence our revisits. Lovely friendly staff and owners, dogs very welcome, which is always a relief when you are travelling with with your fur family!
Sadly, our most recent stay was totally ruined by a wedding. The 'party' completely took over the hotel. We understand this is an exciting and happy occasion and can make appropriate allowances for this, however, they really did ruin our stay. The guests were more than merry (allowances made, no probs) but even by 7pm they were throwing up in the car park! (Not a great thing to witness for guests of all ages...). They spent more time outside mingling and smoking so the noise levels were quite high. And the main problem was that next door (in fact part of the hotel but we assume privately owned) is the 'Log Cabin' nightclub with outside style seating. So the wedding guests moved on from the reception, next-door.... clearly stockpiling drinks to keep them going until hours after the nightclubs licence time (1am I think) so still at 3am they were outside our window shouting, jeering, swearing and being completely rowdy and unruly! The adjoining nightclub (The Log Cabin) has caused us a sleepless night on a previous occasion but we hoped that was a isolated occasion. Clearly not, it really has made us question staying again which is such a shame as we love the hotel and the staff. I am certain this problem will put other patrons off too and I think the owners need to bring these issues up with the owner of The Log Cabin.

To add insult to the very noisy injury.... at around 1am the smoke detecting alarm sounded frightening everyone in our room and probably everyone else in the hotel too. This was clearly caused by someone smoking in their bedroom. NOT THE HOTELS FAULT.... but unfortunately this impacts on the impression that guests leave with.

Please do try the hotel, it is 'historical' so people expecting white marble floors and walls should stay away! It is absolutely charming and despite needing a facelift in places, the decor is in keeping with its age and history. Maybe just check there isn't a wedding on first!!

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We had booked this hotel as a night stop over while attending the dog show at the Royal Welsh Showground well what can we say about this hotel apart from it is absolutely disgustingly filthy and needs a complete makeover the room that we booked was supposed to be a garden room only the garden was littered with broken fridges washing lines an empty swimming pool with stagnant water and general hotel clutter that had obviously failed years ago we have no hot water in our room for a shower when we first arrived but what was worse is a wedding reception was in full swing our room was next to the venue room so no possibility of any sleep however we did get moved into the modern annexe which was a little better however smelt really stale the beds were really uncomfortable and furniture dates from 1960s and not in very good condition the bathroom was fairly clean but needed completely redoing could not successfully control the temperature on the shower as it was connected to the bath taps the general appearance of the hotel outside is one of disappointment with old fire extinguishers ex display cabinets fridges broken hoovers and everything thrown into any single cupboard you could possibly find probably needs a complete remodel our room was £89 for the night didn't seem good value for money however breakfast was quite nice and very friendly staff

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank jimjamjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was booked through work and i’d looked Online before hand. The pictures online don’t show the real story. The hotel smells it’s stale with a really horrible smell. The inside is tatty and dirty and needs improving. Going to my room the fire door was being jammed open and a fire extinguisher had been moved into the middle of a corridor and not correctly displayed. Shortly after midnight the fire alarm went off and from what i’d seen previously was worried for our safety.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
Thank Mavis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews