We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
81
73
44
29
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
73
44
29
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee machine new owners ongoing refurbishment serving breakfast lovely building roaring open fire middle of town nothing too much trouble lovely atmosphere night's sleep coach trip warm welcome excellent food mid wales yogurt andrea wedding
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 271 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Just come back from a nights stay at the Commodore, and I am a very satisfied customer. Warm, kind, friendly staff who are REALLY friendly and cheerful. Had a nice chat with some of them, and they couldn't have been nicer. My room (and bed) was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was lovely. Nice people, and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

The staff were brilliant especially Daryl on reception who could not have been more helpful our room was beautiful room 34. loved the log fire in reception.and we would definitely stay again. Evening meal was also very good.

Room Tip: 34- 28 and 18 are all beautiful rooms
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank swanjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016

The room was cramped and not well appointed. The evening meal was average at best and the breakfast was kept hot with rubbery eggs and just not overly appealing. The staff try.
Not much to recommend as there are other hotels around the green.

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Allan_Turner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

This stay was summed up by my check out where you expect the standard lines "did you have an enjoyable stay" and "was everything ok with the room". They hardly said two words to me as they knew I'd probably have something to say. Tidy up reception area!

The place needs massive investment. Inside and out needs completely refurbishing. Even tidying up and de-cluttering would be a start!

Rooms in all fairness have been refurbished but are half hearted, over the top, and are not in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Slept well but I had my eyes shut!

Stayed: July 2016, traveled on business
8  Thank Etch5180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2016

The staff were amazing from the moment we walked in - friendly, helpful, explained everything with a smile. Nice size room, expected as we opted for the suite (room 22). The bathroom was clean, no dirt, but the white goods were very dated, a crack in the cistern, stains in the bath, didn't feel very welcoming, lovely view from the shower though. No Lock or extractor fan either. The hotel is quite dated and in need of some tlc to the corridors and carpets/windows. For the price I have stayed in much more recently done up places, but the staff really do redeem it! Breakfast was perfectly adequate, lovely toast. As many other reviews say, the lift really is tiny and really does smell a bit strange! However, lovely atmosphere throughout, felt welcome and cosy.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view, the suite we had (22) is above the bar which may bother some people.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews