We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
83
73
44
29
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
73
44
29
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the newly refurbished rooms lovely building roaring open fire middle of town communal areas owners and staff real fire nothing too much trouble front of house our room was spacious cooked breakfast night's sleep lovely breakfast warm welcome feel very welcome mid wales andrea
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 274 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It was really good had a nice time all staff were friendly and helpful will definitely go again. The room was really nice and tidy just as I imagined. Would I recommended it to someone else???? Definitely if you want a peaceful atmosphere definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked at the Hotel Commodore the day before New Years Eve. The hotel is currently being refurbished area by area whilst still offering superb service. Our room was tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable. New Years Eve dinner was very well cooked and presented. Chef Murdocks skills are obviously a cut above the norm and with enough innovation to add to the dining experience. We ended up staying another night, again excellent food and lovely log fires to compensate for the somewhat inclement weather. That's when we got involved in The Pop Up Wedding when we offered our limousine Jaguar Sovereign to be dressed up for the wedding of Linda & David.
Following the wedding and the champagne reception after we decided to stay another night and as we had already packed we were allocated another very beautifully appointed room. We met some great people and will be spending our next New Year at the Hotel Commodore with Andrea and Murdock plus their lovely and obliging staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2smithskidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The most fantastic warm people we have ever met , They made our last minute registary office wedding ( even decorated the office for us as plain before ) making us the most special of days.
Nothing was too much trouble found me a hair dresser and had a spraytan in there spa
we came away not only with the most amazing memories but with a real friend in Andrea...her husband Merdocks cullinary skills are above and beond the food was amazing .
...WOULD WE RECCOMEND THIS AMAZING MAGICAL FAMILY FEEL PLACE ....
YES WITH HEART AND SOUL .
Thank you again fr our Magical experiance xx Linda & Dave Beardsworth .

Room Tip: Honeymoon suit amazing all rooms clean and comfy brill
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just returned from a 2 day break to visit family and stayed here, well, what can I say, from the first greeting everything was excellent, our room was spacious, warm, comfort and extremely well decorated and furnished, we had dinner in the hotel that night 6 of us in total and cannot fault either food or service, breakfast.....perfect....keep up the good work, I shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beauxarts3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A return to The Commodore for the combined Rhayader and Llandrindod Wells Bridge Clubs for their Christmas celebrations. Excellent festive food enjoyed by all and served by friendly and attentive staff. The owners Andrea and Rohan Murdock went out of their way to make sure that we had a good time, and somehow managed to arrange a seasonal snowfall whilst we were there.
We then all participated in three hours of party Bridge with prizes in the DeWinton Suite. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takethefinesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews