We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”
Review of Hotel Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Commodore
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in Central Wales away from it all! We were there on a busy weekend so staff were rather hectic. But the bar tender was a legend!! The rooms are comfy and homely even if the TV was from the 1960's. The bar and lounge areas were a great place to sit and have a drink and a chat! Would recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank illuJon1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 242 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

It was really good had a nice time all staff were friendly and helpful will definitely go again. The room was really nice and tidy just as I imagined. Would I recommended it to someone else???? Definitely if you want a peaceful atmosphere definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked at the Hotel Commodore the day before New Years Eve. The hotel is currently being refurbished area by area whilst still offering superb service. Our room was tastefully decorated and the bed very comfortable. New Years Eve dinner was very well cooked and presented. Chef Murdocks skills are obviously a cut above the norm and with enough innovation to add to the dining experience. We ended up staying another night, again excellent food and lovely log fires to compensate for the somewhat inclement weather. That's when we got involved in The Pop Up Wedding when we offered our limousine Jaguar Sovereign to be dressed up for the wedding of Linda & David.
Following the wedding and the champagne reception after we decided to stay another night and as we had already packed we were allocated another very beautifully appointed room. We met some great people and will be spending our next New Year at the Hotel Commodore with Andrea and Murdock plus their lovely and obliging staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the2smithskidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The most fantastic warm people we have ever met , They made our last minute registary office wedding ( even decorated the office for us as plain before ) making us the most special of days.
Nothing was too much trouble found me a hair dresser and had a spraytan in there spa
we came away not only with the most amazing memories but with a real friend in Andrea...her husband Merdocks cullinary skills are above and beond the food was amazing .
...WOULD WE RECCOMEND THIS AMAZING MAGICAL FAMILY FEEL PLACE ....
YES WITH HEART AND SOUL .
Thank you again fr our Magical experiance xx Linda & Dave Beardsworth .

Room Tip: Honeymoon suit amazing all rooms clean and comfy brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just returned from a 2 day break to visit family and stayed here, well, what can I say, from the first greeting everything was excellent, our room was spacious, warm, comfort and extremely well decorated and furnished, we had dinner in the hotel that night 6 of us in total and cannot fault either food or service, breakfast.....perfect....keep up the good work, I shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beauxarts3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

A return to The Commodore for the combined Rhayader and Llandrindod Wells Bridge Clubs for their Christmas celebrations. Excellent festive food enjoyed by all and served by friendly and attentive staff. The owners Andrea and Rohan Murdock went out of their way to make sure that we had a good time, and somehow managed to arrange a seasonal snowfall whilst we were there.
We then all participated in three hours of party Bridge with prizes in the DeWinton Suite. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takethefinesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Shared a lovely weekend with family at the hotel commodre again, The staff are friendly and the rooms are spacious clean and well equipped . We all enjoyed a lovely evening with an enjoyable meal followed by a disco which was fun..I look forward to staying at the hotel again and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting llandrindod wells..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
275 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
925 reviews
6.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
829 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore

Address: Spa Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $83 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Llandrindod Wells
Hotel Commodore Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing