We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
82
73
44
29
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
73
44
29
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee machine new owners ongoing refurbishment serving breakfast lovely building roaring open fire middle of town nothing too much trouble lovely atmosphere night's sleep coach trip warm welcome excellent food mid wales yogurt andrea wedding
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 272 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This would have been a grand hotel in its day. Now it just seems somewhat out-dated and tired looking. Room was a fair size, had a nice view but a rather musty smell. Water in the bath ran very slowly and wasn’t very hot. The hotel lacked life – 2 diners when we went for dinner and rather quiet at breakfast. Room had small TV, tea/coffee, phone but no hairdryer. On the plus side: staff were friendly and helpful. As there was no refrigerator in the rooms, they stored some food for us that we had carried. The lift is tiny (but at least there is a lift!). Good value for a one night stay, and much cheaper than other hotels nearby. There is ample private parking available under security lighting. Got the impression that changes are slowly underway, hopefully it will be restored to its full glory.

Room Tip: There is a nightclub/pub next to the hotel, so there can be a bit of noise late at night if your room is above it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silenceisgolden_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have just had my wedding party in the hotel commodore and all I can say its wow food was amazing venue was decorated to an extremely hi standard and looked stunning staff are so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough for us . Our overnight accommodation was lovely with an amazing bed overal our experience was put of this world and would definitely recommoend the hotel to everyone thanks u guys xxxx

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leannbrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have just celebrated my Wedding at the Hotel Commodore on the 26th of October 2013. I was rendered speechless by the whole weekend! The Hotel gave me my fairy tale wedding and I was the Princess. I couldn't have had a more fabulous time and the staff could not have done anymore for me! My Guests all extremely enjoyed themselves and I did not want the weekend to end!!!! The decoration was beautiful and amazing and my cake........ well it was out of this world! Candy bar was a huge success with the kids and the adults too and everything I had and enjoyed was provided by the hotel! The went to extreme lengths to make me very happy! I would 100% recommend them as a Wedding venue as every girl deserves a fairy tale wedding and this is definitely what you receive with the Hotel Commodore! Thank you sooo much guys and I think its time to get on an arrange my anniversary party! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had just attended a wedding blessing at the weekend where the Wedding was held at this hotel. We had also booked a room overnight night here. The venue was decorated lovely for the bride,groom and guests. Good food. Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. The refurb for this hotel will look amazing w3hen its complete judging by what they have done already. Would recommend this hotel to visit and stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great hospitality. The most, very friendly staff who could not do enough for you! The food was great and the pub next door was great for a meal and drink. Really enjoyed our stay. Thank you! Claire Turley

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ClaireTurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews