We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Commodore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Commodore
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great hospitality. The most, very friendly staff who could not do enough for you! The food was great and the pub next door was great for a meal and drink. Really enjoyed our stay. Thank you! Claire Turley

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireTurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    63
    32
    24
    37
See reviews for
28
51
3
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Deborah and her staff could not have looked after us any better. Chester the hotel pooch was a real character and loved everyone.
Our room was excellent and the pub next door was great for a meal or a drink.

We enjoyed our time at the Commodore and would recommend it.

Karen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just want to share my experience at the Hotel Commodore in Llandrindod Wells. Firstly the staff always went out of their way to make sure our group was looked after and comfortable. The meals were excellent, the rooms were nice and clean. Very enjoyable. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been to this area often for the Welsh dog show in Builth, as we live 4hrs away we have tried to find somewhere that allows dogs and is of a good standard, at last we have found one. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. It is clear that refurbishment is ongoing, but not noisy or intrusive. Our shower had hot water and the bathroom was also a good size and clean. We did not want to leave dogs in our room, although we did bring their cage, and we were advised that we could have the restaurant food served to us in the bar area where we could take our dogs, which was great, as was the food and the service. For people that may be put off as dogs are allowed in the hotel there is a strict code of conduct that dog owners have to sign up to, and, if you are a responsible owner you would keep to these rules anyway.
One of our bedside lights was not working, we mentioned this and it was fixed straight away. All the staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. As well as the bar there is a lounge area of a good size and comfortable seating, a small children's area and a large number of books if you have forgotten yours. Breakfast was lovely and well cooked, and again service was good. This is not the Dorchester or Savoy but if you want friendly efficient and clean you should come here. We will be back whenever we are at the show.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningchorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel should be renamed Faulty Towers. I checked into hotel at 11.30 pm and the porter gave me my room key so off I went. When I opened the bedroom door I was surprised to but it mildly that there was someone in the bed asleep. I made a quick exit hoping that I did not disturb them and thankful that I was not attacked for entering someones room in the middle of the night. When i told the porter I just got a "sorry" and was given a different room.

The room I ended up with was in desperate need of upgrading: wall paper falling off ceiling, TV had picture but no sound, a massive spider in the bath (this was the least of my issues), no HEATING or HOT WATER at any time.

One staff member was really rude and not helpful at all. The rest of the staff I found friendly but not interested in resolving any of the issues.

Breakfast was nice but while in dining room water started dripping from the ceiling onto floor- judging by the staffs response this is a common occurance.

With all the issues the hotel would only give a 10% discount and that was after I demanded a discount. For £40 per night I expect to be able to take a shower in the morning with hot water and for there to be some heating.

I never go on sites to write reviews but I just had to inform other potential customers of the shortfalls of this hotel and more so because the hotel don't seem to be interested in looking after their customers just taking their money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandrindod Wells hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A budget hotel that is a lot cheaper than the competition locally. Room was nice and clean and beds comfy and fresh.
It's had a makeover and for the price was ok.
Only real criticism was the lack of hot water in the morning that meant a shower was not an option.
The staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank penrhynbayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed as part of a larger group and found the hotel to be well organised considering the group size (circa 75). The twin room was small but functional and the beds were comfortable.

The food was good, the staff were very helpful and always eager to please. Parking was easy and plenty of it.

Highly recommended, a good hotel at excellent prices and very well located.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
6.7 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 3 in Rhayader
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cedars Guest House
Cedars Guest House
#2 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#21 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Commodore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commodore

Property: Hotel Commodore
Address: Spa Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ER, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Commodore 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Commodore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Llandrindod Wells
Hotel Commodore Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing