We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary place !”

The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hall is a 52 roomed, Grade 11* Gothic Revival mansion, standing in 12 acres of gardens near Llandrindod Wells in Mid Wales. The Hall offers tours to the public. The tours combine outstanding architecture, stunning interiors, thousands of collectable items and beautiful grounds. The gardens include a walled garden, woodland walks, a lake and waterfall, lawns, terraces and courtyards. From 1st November each year, all 52 rooms are decorated to individual themes for Christmas.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Extraordinary place !”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well worth a visit ! The Hall is a (large) domestic residence and each room is filled with fascinating bits of memorabilia, and beautifully decorated. You have a guided tour by the owner or his wife. Heavens knows how many pieces they have "collected" but I can certainly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimVenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    28
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“SO WORTH A VISIT”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were left in admiration of all the wonderfully decorated rooms. Paul and Victoria are a charming and immensely talented couple; their dedication is for all to see and admire. Just a wonderfully unique experience; hope to visit again sometime. Paul's tour was full of amusing anecdotes. Thank you both and best wishes.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas treat!!!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Having heard from my sister about Abbeycwmhir hall I decided to arrange a trip with my friends to see it for ourselves. This was just what we needed to get into the Christmas spirit truly magical and utterly beautiful. I would definitely go again in the new year especially in the summer to see the grounds. We were late due to weather conditions but Paul being a true gentlemen was very patient with us and let us catch up on rooms we had missed at the end. The experience was made better having such a warm and knowledgeable gentleman such as paul do the tour. Truly inspirational well worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Florry81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Abbey-Cwm_Hir Christmas fantasy”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Quite extraordinary! Paul and Victoria cannot have left many antique shops in Wales unvisited in their quest for strange and unusual items with which to fill the 52 rooms of their Victorian-Gothic house. Every room has a mass of items, often themed, e.g. the Railway bathroom with train memorabilia. Victoria and the local ladies have spent thousands of hours decorating the house and creating drapes, soft furnishings and ornaments, exhibiting an impressive level of craftswomanship. At this time of year it is impossible to ignore Christmas, with an extraordinarily elaborate decorated tree in every room, plus all sorts of other Christmas decorations wherever you turn. After being shown every room by Paul, a fund of anecdotes, we enjoyed an excellent finger buffet which had been ordered beforehand. This is one big house which will linger in the memory for a very long time. Highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_loafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Merry Christmas”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have just returned from our visit to see all the 52 rooms of the hall decorated for christmas and whilst we were there it snowed. The scenes outside were beautiful whilst the inside was magical. All the rooms were decorated and themed with very good taste and excellent design skills. Victoria, you are a very clever lady, and I liked your gloves and scarves.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir also viewed

 

Been to The Hall at Abbey-Cwm-Hir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing