We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were attending the Welsh kennel Club show in Builth Wells and we were looking for 2 rooms in the local area where we were able to bring dogs into the rooms with us, I couldnt believe how many people who run B&B in this area won't allow you to do this. Anyway this hotel was recommended to us and I must say after reading some of the reviews on here I was a little worried.
On arrival we were greeted by some of the locals who were sat in the bar area they even recommended some places where we could take the dogs to exercise them in a large field.!!
Our rooms were basic but comfortable its been a long time since Ive stayed in a B&B like this and it brought it all back about staying in this kind of accommodation in Blackpool as a child.
Rooms were just big enough, there was a great shower in there, TV, Tea & Coffee facilities and a comfy double bed, what more could you ask for at £60 a night!!
The big draw for us in this place was the bar, we went down around 8pm for a drink and to order some food and we were told that there would be a long wait (90 mins) for food!! Could not understand it as it was only pub food and it was ok but we ordered and sat and waited.
The locals made it their business to get involved with you and ask why you were here?? They spoke to you and there was a great duo on in the main bar singing songs and everyone was dancing. There were others too that brought there dogs into the bar with them as well. We did have a great night and the atmosphere was fantastic.
So to those of you who might be a little concerned - book a room and give it a go, We had a great time so much so Ive booked 2 rooms for October when were next in Builth Wells.
Great Place and great value for money!!

Room Tip: Order food early we had a 1 1/2 hour wait for food on a saturday night!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupefletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    14
    13
    12
See reviews for
13
31
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We found this pub/restaurant courtesy of the doggie pubs website while looking for somewhere to eat which would allow us to take our black lab Bailey in with us. On arrival my husband popped in first just to check and yes, all was fine we could sit anywhere in the pub. On entering I wondered if the food would be acceptable but to be honest I shouldn't have worried. We found a nice table in the corner out of the way, we placed our food and drink order and when the barmaid brought our cutlery etc across she asked we would also like some water for Bailey. We ordered a mixture of sandwiches, steak and onions, a cheese, tomato and pesto panini, a tuna baguette and a cheeseburger and some side orders of chips. The food was ready pretty promptly and was piping hot and delicious. We will definitely be returning here when on holiday down here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortonstalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I've never stayed at the Llanerch, but being local, I've eaten there on and off over the years, and drank there on a 'few' occasions.

This 16th Century pub could probably do with (another) refurb, but I can only assume that planning rules would stop that, because all of the owners over the years have failed to do anything about the lack of light inside. Having said that, a lot of work has been done on the outside over the years, so there's a nice area to sit out at the front of the pub, and sheltered outside area at the back.

The ales are good. A good variety, including local beer. If you enjoy a good pint, this could be an option.

The chef has changed again recently, and the quality now seems a little short of the price. It's basic, cheap, pub grub to accompany a pint. Don't expect anything gormet. But the prices are a bit high in my opinion.

Havn't stayed at the Llanerch, but I've seen the rooms. If you've had a few too many to drink and don't want to walk anywhere, there's a bed to crash in. But I wouldn't plan on staying here otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Tried to eat here twice, as the chef informed us that the previous burnt offering was prepared by another member of staff on his day off HOWEVER his standards were not much better! All supposedly fresh but tasted like cheap prepacked food, the menu does not reflect what is given to you on your plate, items substituted or missing. The sticky toffee pudding was hard and dry and served with cream not custard, the panini came with curly fries not wedges as specified and no coleslaw as stated. Complete false advertising which would be bad enough if what did arrive wasn't either burnt or cold!!
Avoid if you value your stomach

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bumblebutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Llandrindod Wells hotels

Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

On arrival we had to wait at the bar to check in. The young lady who dealt with us was very friendly and efficient but appeared to be the only member of staff on the premises. We were shown to room number 3 on the top floor. The room was basic with few facilities - apart from tea/coffee equipment and a flat screen TV. We were never able to get hot water from the hand basin in the bathroom although the shower was just about usable. Shortly after arrival a lamp unit fell off the wall leaving exposed wiring on view.Despite reporting the fault, it was not repaired.
Probably the worst aspect of the room was the presence of equipment which appeared to be related to the heating system. This was contained in a locked cupboard in the bedroom and automatically switched itself on and off during the night creating an unacceptable level of noise which completely prevented any period of sleep.

The food was acceptable but not anything to write home about and service was at times extremely slow which appeared to be caused by insufficient staff numbers.

I would not stay at this place again - they couldn't even get our bill right on departure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chubbykneesthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerdydd
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The food was below par - steak and ale pie that had been microwaved to be lukewarm with a limp crust. May well have been completely fine when freshly cooked. Only saving grace was Evan Evans Warrior on draught.

Did not stay here overnight.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YGraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel was a good choice for us. We stayed for a weekend and found it to be exactly what we wanted. Its not a 4/5 star hotel but what it lacks in quantity of what it offers it makes up for it in the quality way if offers it. The hotel and bar staff are excellent, Very friendly, especially the kind friendly man who made us breakfasts. The food was honest and well cooked and priced well. The location is excellent. Its central LLandrindod.. yet its tucked away. It was a very cosy pub hotel. Final plus note was good cheap beer.
On a negative note the bed was a bit hard for my personal taste.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brecon_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.2 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#27 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greylands Guest House
Greylands Guest House
#10 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel

Property: Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel
Address: Llanerch Lane, Llandrindod Wells LD1 6BZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Llanerch Inn is a 16th-century coach house. Situated in the heart of Wales, just a few minutes walk to the town centre and right across the road from the bus and train station. We have 14 en-suite rooms, a large bar area and separate restaurant (coming soon). We have a big beer garden which is perfect for those summer months. Also regular entertainment on a Friday and Saturday night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llanerch Inn 16th Century Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing