We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveler rating
828
495
130
45
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
495
130
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course taster menu glass of champagne tower room superior room large hotel travelzoo deal mid wales leisure facilities gourmet dinner special offer lovely hotel restaurant staff large car park buffet style steam room and sauna high standard modern bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2018

All you need after a long trip to middle of Wales, in our case was to stop by coffee or tea. Get welcome by the hotel manager Sam who recommend a delicious afternoon tea for two.The staff very friendly, Gabriela if i remember the name was spot-one with smiles and professionalism makes feel like home. I recon after this treat we are ready to move one,for sure we gone come back to stay after we found they have a lovely spa.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018

Took the 3rd MIM International MX5 meeting to the Metropole. As always the staff were all excellent the facilities at the hotel are 100%. Food Excellent. We had a Tower room that was well equipped and plenty of room, plus a huge bed. Can not praise the hotel, owners and staff enough.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malfishing47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on Thursday and were made very welcome at reception. Club members enjoyed a buffet dinner in the evening. A superb breakfast was had by us each morning. On the Friday we had a meal in the evening with a wide variety of choices. On the Saturday we had a Gala Dinner with a set meal for around 150. Everything was good about the meal with some Welsh treats added.
Our room was a good size with a bay window at the rear on the second floor of the hotel. A very nice modern bathroom with both shower and bath.
The leisure facilities were excellent.
The double bed had a mattress topper on it which probably hid to some extent that the mattress needed to be replaced which was the only downside about the whole weekend.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018

By no means the first time I have stayed at this hotel, I stayed three nights as part of an international car club meet. With a large car park previously mentioned and a staff who looked after us really well we had no complaints. Our room was large with all the usual refinements one would expect in a hotel of this standard. The bathroom was immaculate and well stocked with various toiletries. Breakfast was a delight while we enjoyed the evening meals that were provided for us. The only negative
comment I heard was the bar prices! All in all an excellent family run hotel which deserves the praise itvrightly gets.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sunray04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

I didn’t think hotels like this existed any more: it is enormous with a huge car park. I was with a group of classic car enthusiasts who made good use of the car park over three days. I learnt that is is a favourite hotel among motorists exploring the mountains nearby.

Three things stand out: the staff who were charming and completely unphased by the 150 or so people arriving at the same time: the food from breakfast (how DO they make such tasty scrambled egg?) to the gala dinner: and the comfortable rooms with bathroom lights activated by movement.

Not to be missed, the indoor pool with a gizmo for drying swimming costumes.

The bill was reasonable too. We were an international group and the visitors from Europe loved the combination of up-to-date facilities in an historic setting.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank cricket283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews