We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,531)
Filter reviews
1,533 results
Traveler rating
835
497
131
46
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
835
497
131
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews course taster menu glass of champagne tower room superior room large hotel travelzoo deal mid wales leisure facilities gourmet dinner special offer lovely hotel restaurant staff buffet style large car park steam room and sauna high standard modern bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 1,533 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at the Metropole. We thought your staff were, without exception, excellent. I was particularly impressed by the ways in which your restaurant and brasserie staff accommodated us with the complications of two little ones. We loved our breakfasts. Of the tasting menus, I thought the filet steak course was fabulous. None of the other courses were as strikingly good, but were all enjoyable.

The room was brilliant, with the kids in a separate adjoining bunk room, and a great setup for us and the kids. The spa facilities and pool were top notch and the nearby park and lake a nice walk.

We particularly enjoyed seeing the owner around and having him come and speak with us - very unusual for a hotel of this size to have the owner living onsite.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic stay. Nice room ,great breakfast, delicious food from the restaurant ( the 6 course taster menu was divine and I recommend the matches wine add on) full use of the lovely spa too You can’t ask for much more for a weekend away
All the staff from start to finish were so polite and nothing was too much trouble
Even down to a cheery 7am good morning from the cleaners while we were enroute for a pre breakfast jacuzzi & swim
There are hotels with a more contemporary finish for sure, but these rooms are perfectly fine. Pleasant decor and well equipped with a nice bathroom with a good shower and plenty of hot water to boot
For a big hotel, it’s levels of cleanliness, customer care and hospitality are second to none. Highly recommended
We’ve stayed in lots of hotels and payed much more money but never witnessed such genuine politeness across the board and attention to detail
Fantastic
Metropole Hotel. See you very soon

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

Fourth time here at the Metro. Excellent food, bedrooms an decor spotless. Came Celebrating on daughters hen party. The restaurant staff were fantastic allowing us party poppers, nothing was too much trouble, ample cups of teas n coffees. Staff worked really hard the whole weekend.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 167heleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

Used the gym and pool, quite nice! Food was delicious! Needs a little updating, but a all round value for money stay. Staff are very helpful and happy, has a homely feel to it!
Rooms are spacious and the bed was comfortable, will be likely to return.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank gladrags0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Hotel atmosphere was excellent good staff helpful.Room was clean and tidy.Boss is always good to us.our next visit will be with you.Great place to stay night.We liked it. Next time we stay here for a week.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Richardpowell770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews