We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Quality - a rare thing”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Service and Quality - a rare thing”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

For once I have come back from staying at a hotel in the UK feeling that my requirements were of paramount importance to all the hotel staff. The food in both the restaurant and Spencers brasserie was excellent and it was clear that only quality ingredients locally souced were used. The spa and swimming pool facilities were exceptional, the staff friendly and approachable, in fact all staff went out of their way and were a credit to the establishment. We stayed in one of the tower rooms which unfortunately was in the process of having new heating fitted and new TV. We were supplied with a fan heater but it would have been nice to have been warned. There should have been 2 x TV's in the room but only one very small one was working, apparently all to do with the digital switch over. The hotel reception did however allow hubby to use an adjoining room to watch a specific programme on a full sized TV. Had these couple of issues not arisen it would have been 5/5 all across the board.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrummieLadyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    433
    111
    35
    19
See reviews for
131
687
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We wanted a short break holiday, couldn't face the hassle of going abroad so chose the Metropole because of its location (if the weather was ok), and its pool/steamroom/sauna (if it wasn't). From the moment we arrived, we realised we'd made a great choice. Very friendly receptionist proved to be prototypical of the rest of the staff in this lovely, family-run hotel.
Everything from the swimming pool/spa area to the biscuits in the room showed signs of having been done up to a standard, rather than down to a price.
Minor criticisms were the awkwardly positioned flat-screen TV in the room, corridor doors banging (fixed with some tape and paper....) and old carpet in lobby etc (being replaced as we left).
Overall, one of the nicest places we've ever stayed in, here or abroad. Biggest regret was not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerbilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Past reviews have commented on the exterior colour of the hotel and even our 5yr old daughter, on our approach asked why! A couple of nights into our 4 night stay, we concluded it's a fitting colour, and what else, practically, could it be? On entering, the Metropole exuded a warm and comfortable style and our check in at reception was welcoming and personal. We booked a 4 night stay in a family room, had previously asked not to be placed above the bar area (incase of noise) and we were given a family room with bunkbeds in the middle of the hotel overlooking the car park. Having found a 'special offer' of £75 per room per night including breakfast, we were very pleased with the room. The bathroom was shiny and clean, the beds comfy and spotlessly clean, and the tea/biscuit tray relentlessly filled up with impressive daily housekeeping. The hotel is being extensively updated; the bar and restaurant are newly refurbished and are warm, cosy, comfortable and inviting. The reception area/lounge had new carpet fitted whilst we were there (but sensibly at night so no disruption to guests). The areas not yet done still have a charm about them and the age, and history of the hotel isn't lost. The pool/spa was wonderful, as were the sauna and steam, and all spotlessly clean. The pool water was cool on the first day we were there, and after commenting to the spa staff, the next day they were proud to inform us we would find it warmer - and we did. Breakfast couldn't be faulted. Our only disappointment was the evening meal menu in the Brasserie. The food quality was excellent, however, the portions were small the choice was limited and, in our opinion a good few pounds over-priced. A childrens meal of chicken goujons and chips, for example was £7 with only half a dozen chips on the plate (we counted) and the adult portion was much the same. We ate out for the next 3 nights of our stay - we didn't want to but with limited menu options for adult and child, and cost being a factor for a family, we opted to do so. Previous reviews have commented on the lack of eatieries in the immediate vacinity - we found Jules Restaurant & Wine Bar (less than 100metres left from the hotel).....Monday nights is eat all you can for £5.95....lots of choice, very child friendly, spotlessly clean, very classy. So good we ate there a second night again in the evening and had great meals for around £7 from the lunch menu (before 7pm). Also found a chinese restaurant (and takeaway) which doesn't look much from outside but the food was very good. There's also The Commodore Hotel for more reasonable meals and other hotel/takeaway options in the near vacinity. If The Metropole had offered a couple of more reasonably family priced/orientated meals, we would have most certainly eaten in. Overall a really enjoyable stay, and we would indeed return for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alcazemka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I hadn't really meant to end up in Llandrindod but it was getting late and we passed the Metropole and decided to stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and had been pleasantly decorated except for a bit where they had taken off a radiator which was a bit disappointing because the rest of the room was nice. There was a very big carpark and a spa.

We had dinner in the Brasserie and the food was to a very good standard, I'd recommend the food to anyone. The only thing was that we were the youngest people in the hotel by about 40 years so there wasn't really much atmosphere but I think they do conventions and so that was the group that was there at the time.

Breakfast was ok, although the orange juice wasn't very nice and they had tinned fruit salad. At least the scrambled eggs were done well.

The room was £120 per night and for the price I've stayed in better but it was quite comfortable and if I was passing through I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardfiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Went to mid Wales for a Motoring weekend....great roads and beautiful scenery.
The Hotel was really comfortable and the staff very friendly. We had a big room over looking the car park which we found very reassuring as we could see my convertible, but frankly it seems a pretty quiet town so no real worries. Spa was great, wife enjoyed a treatment to make up for sitting with me in the car all day!
Ate first night in the Brasserie and second night in the Restaurant. Thought the food was excellent both nights.
Breakfast was fine, all in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnboy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Had a good weekend swimming jacuzzi and sauna's,breakfast excellent room excellent only one problem no hot water with shower in room ,luckily went to pool morning and afternoon,we ate in main restaurant ,told by a group we should have used bistro which they said was fantastic.I went tired and went home feeling relaxed and felt l had spent a weekend worthwhile,no housework great

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Planned a trip for the bank holiday weekend in the hope of some relaxation. Swimming pool appealed to my wife along with the few spa treatments available.

We were upgraded for an extra £10 as we told them it was our anniversary which was good, the room was good size and clean however the TV only had 3 working channels one of which was welsh. We booked into the restaurant next to the hotel bar and were made to wait at the bar until the meal was on the table. The service and food was poor. We left without signing for it and later complained and got it for free. There was a wedding on which made the hotel over crowded, the staff were struggling to cope.

The next day i asked the receptionist where else we could go for a meal, the answer was a simple Nowhere, this is the only restaurant within miles and miles. So we drove out and found a burger king.

The lobby and seating areas were full of elderley people knitting and reading books. There was nothing to do at the evening or in the day. So was left very bored. Not for a young couple.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
254 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
787 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Montpellier Hotel
The Montpellier Hotel
#27 of 32 in Llandrindod Wells
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing