We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I hadn't really meant to end up in Llandrindod but it was getting late and we passed the Metropole and decided to stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and had been pleasantly decorated except for a bit where they had taken off a radiator which was a bit disappointing because the rest of the room was nice. There was a very big carpark and a spa.

We had dinner in the Brasserie and the food was to a very good standard, I'd recommend the food to anyone. The only thing was that we were the youngest people in the hotel by about 40 years so there wasn't really much atmosphere but I think they do conventions and so that was the group that was there at the time.

Breakfast was ok, although the orange juice wasn't very nice and they had tinned fruit salad. At least the scrambled eggs were done well.

The room was £120 per night and for the price I've stayed in better but it was quite comfortable and if I was passing through I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2009

Went to mid Wales for a Motoring weekend....great roads and beautiful scenery.
The Hotel was really comfortable and the staff very friendly. We had a big room over looking the car park which we found very reassuring as we could see my convertible, but frankly it seems a pretty quiet town so no real worries. Spa was great, wife enjoyed a treatment to make up for sitting with me in the car all day!
Ate first night in the Brasserie and second night in the Restaurant. Thought the food was excellent both nights.
Breakfast was fine, all in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnboy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Had a good weekend swimming jacuzzi and sauna's,breakfast excellent room excellent only one problem no hot water with shower in room ,luckily went to pool morning and afternoon,we ate in main restaurant ,told by a group we should have used bistro which they said was fantastic.I went tired and went home feeling relaxed and felt l had spent a weekend worthwhile,no housework great

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Planned a trip for the bank holiday weekend in the hope of some relaxation. Swimming pool appealed to my wife along with the few spa treatments available.

We were upgraded for an extra £10 as we told them it was our anniversary which was good, the room was good size and clean however the TV only had 3 working channels one of which was welsh. We booked into the restaurant next to the hotel bar and were made to wait at the bar until the meal was on the table. The service and food was poor. We left without signing for it and later complained and got it for free. There was a wedding on which made the hotel over crowded, the staff were struggling to cope.

The next day i asked the receptionist where else we could go for a meal, the answer was a simple Nowhere, this is the only restaurant within miles and miles. So we drove out and found a burger king.

The lobby and seating areas were full of elderley people knitting and reading books. There was nothing to do at the evening or in the day. So was left very bored. Not for a young couple.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed at the Metropole for three nights. The first night I was woken by loud talking and music at 1 am which continued until 4 am. This was coming from the attic floor above my 3rd floor room. It transpired that it was a staff flat that was only occupied by one staff member. I complained the next morning and the receptionist did not appear that concerned - but said she would tell the manager. It was with some trepidation that I faced the 2nd night , but fair enough the noise had stopped.

The Restaurant was very disapointing. It was a good breakfast, but the dinner was very much aimed at Coach parties which the hotel caters alot for. Also the portions were not very generous and the meals arrived ready plated with only the vegetables served by silver service. There was only one selection of vegetables usually two items mixed in the same serving dish and the potatoes had already been served with the meat and were a very small portion. No after dinner mints served with the coffee.

The plus points of this hotel are the location, the car parking, and the Spa/leisure centre and swiming pool. Bedrooms were quite good, and well furnished. The bathrooms were spacious. Let down by only having two lifts - a hotel of this size that caters for a lot of coach parties could do with more.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Standard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with their summer half board offer, which was good value for money. The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating. Our room was just the right temperature, was fairly spacious very clean and comfortable. The decor, whilst a little dated was tasteful and in good condition. The tea and coffee facilities were fairly standard with an additional choice of a variety of Tea's. The milk is UHT, but we asked for fresh which was provided no problem. The biscuits were above average!
The Gym was really nice and modern with 4 running machines, 2 cross trainers, a stepper, two bikes and a rower. All the machines were electronic and fairly new in good condition. Each machine had its own individual TV, which you could either turn the sound up on or if others were in there headphones were provided (only occurred once in the three times I used it generally around 11.00 am after breakfast had settled). The pool was a lovely good sized kidney shaped pool about 1.5 meters deep at deepest point. The temperature was spot on and it was clean. The Jacuzzi was pretty powerful and really warm. The steam room was tiled (not plastic) and had a menthol scent in the steam. The sauna was pretty standard with a lovely vanilla (I think) smell and like the rest of the spa, modern and in fantastic condition, all situated in a giant conservatory. There were lovely wicker recliners which were nice to sit and read in whilst watching our two children (aged 8 and 9) in the pool (they like to stay in longer than us). The shower/changing area is also modern and clean with lockers available. The showers are brilliant! There is also one private cubicle in the ladies changing (don’t know about the men’s and husband is out at time of writing but would assume it to be the same). There is also a disable room. There were never more than 4 or 5 people in the pool area at any one time so was fairly quiet and very relaxing.
There is a modern contemporary bar/brasserie which is really nice. We didn't eat there as we were on the half board deal and dined in the restaurant, so don't know about the food in the brasserie.
The restaurant was also fairly contemporary in design with a traditional hint, very in keeping with the building. There was a lovely relaxed ambience with classical background music. The food was excellent! There was a good imaginative choice on the menu and all beautifully cooked. The staff were wonderful and very attentive. There was also a fairly comprehensive wine list. We tried several different bottles and were not disappointed at all.
All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly consider a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azariaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Just back from 4 nights on their half board offer. Lovely hotel in a beautiful part of the world. Staff very friendly and helpful. Facilities very good, and food excellent. Only suggestion I would have is to vary or add specials to evening meal menu. If you are looking for a quiet family holiday centrally located in Wales, this is the place for you. Will definitely return next year...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
836 reviews
11 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
935 reviews
0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
246 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $165 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing