We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my business trip away”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during October 2013. The room was spacious and had everything I needed. The maids also kept the room very clean and tidy.

There are two restaurants available: the a la carte or the 'bar' menu. We ate at the bar menu which was lovely and not too expensive (average £13 for a really well cooked meal). The breakfast was also very nice (mine was included within the room price though you can pay seperately for around £12) which a large selection of both hot and cold foods, all of which are replenished regularly.

The leisure facilities (i.e the swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and gym which is equipped with several pieces of cardio equipment and a few weights) also kept me entertained of a nighttime (I wish I could have spent more time in there!!).

Overall I would rate this hotel as one of the best I have stayed in and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Conor,

I was so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your business trip to The Metropole and I hope that we shall be able to welcome you back again soon whether it be for business or pleasure.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as part of a special offer, the standard of service was excellent,
nothing too much trouble. The food is excellent and especially the choice for breakfast, swimming pool good and the room we had was enormous, with the usual facilities .
We had problems finding the car park which is massive, it is located at the back of the hotel, but we may have missed some information.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekOPlimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Derek

Thank you for your very positive feedback. Any confirmation you recieved from us should mention the car park is at the rear of the hotel but I shall certainly check up on this. I hope it did not inconvienience you too much.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on an organised event over a weekend. I was allocated a quiet room on the top floor which had a very modern and bright shower room. Evening meals were filling and the buffet breakfast very hearty, just what you need for a day exploring mid Wales. Didn't have time to use the spa so unable to comment on that aspect.
Staff were very helpful and attentive, and if visiting the area again would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear PCGS,

Very pleased to read that you would return to the hotel on future visits to the area. I hope that will be in the very near future.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We find this hotel a great base to use when visiting mid and north Wales.Areas of the hotel could do with updating but the bedrooms are pleasant and the food and service are both excellent.
The bar area is great for drinks before dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear ggjsg, I was delighted to read that you have returned again so shortly after your last visit. In an old building like The Metropole there is always something needing updating and we do try to keep on top of it. As I type the back terrace is being repainted.

I look forward to your next visit and hopefully by then you will be able to give us a 5 star rating having gone up to a 4 this time.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night and was very comfortable. The room was spacious with a separate lounge area and the bathroom was very modern and clean. There was a tv and tea & coffee making facilities. The only criticism I have is the room didn't have a mini fridge which I would expect in a 4* hotel. The spa facilities were good also with clean changing rooms. I stayed at the hotel as part of a special offer but felt the standard of service was the same as if I paid full price. The dinner and breakfast was good quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayolite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Mayolite99,
Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am pleased that you were comfortable and hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel 4 times and loved it each time. The food is top notch especially breakfast, spa clean and well equipped and the rooms are fab. The packages they offer for 1 2 night stay are excellent value.
We had our first trip here as a couple and have made it our hotel with lovely memories

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Christina, how very nice to read your lovely comments about The Metropole. I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Attended the Metropole on business for a conference.
The building is very old and well preserved but inside there's a touch of modernisation!
My room was well equipped and comfortable, although a little warm, but this was probably to do with the weather! But my room had its own temperature thermostat.
Evening meal was delicious and plentiful and staff were most helpful and attentive to needs.
I spent a few hours in the bar which again was comfortable and uber modern with drinks priced, at what I thought was quite reasonable.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious with plenty of choice and again staff on hand.
I didn't have opportunity to visit spa facilities but I know that colleagues comments were positive about the amenities available.
Enjoyable 1 night stay. Would love to visit again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Omi, I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit to The Metropole for you conference.

I hope that you will able to return for a relaxing break at some point in the future. We are running a very good offer of £99.00 DBB for 2 people through the winter that can be booked on our web site. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again.

Regards
Justin Baird-Murray
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
11 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
246 reviews
6.8 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
282 reviews
13.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
666 reviews
21.5 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: $172 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing